We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que calor!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We travelled to Secrets Huatulco March 22- April 5.
For the first time in our lives, we had bought a package with transfers and were worried about a busload of guests arriving at once instead of the two of us in a taxi. The staff handled it with great ease so that our check-in took less than 15 minutes. Within a half hour, we were by the pool in our swim suits.
The room we got was on the 3rd floor of building 6 and was perfect except for the 2 double beds instead of a king. We could've asked for a change but loved the location so we stayed with it. It was a good size and was clean which is all we ask for, not spending any time there except for sleeping and showering.
The pools are huge for a 399 rooms hotel and with the spring heat, we understood why fast enough. With the temperatures is the 30s (90s F) at 7 a.m. we got to spend a lot of time in the water. It is too bad that it isn't more clear to some guests that there is an activities pool and a tranquility pool, some people complaining about the music during aérobics or volleyball games.
In all AM resorts we visited, this was made clear and you wouldn't get a senior sitting in front of a speaker complaining about the music (the Entertainment team had to penalize 30 ball players and watchers who wanted music to accomodate one person that sat at the wrong pool). The hotel should better identify the pools as tranquil and active thus avoiding pleasing no one by trying to please everyone.
The beach is beautiful but the sand is coarser than some other beaches but that has nothing to do with the resort, it is nature...Also, few people seem to know that in Mexico, the beaches all are federal properties, and that resorts cannot build or install anything past their property line. We read complaints about the little hill in front of the hotel but it isn't on hotel property and it is easy to walk around it to a less steep path.
Being there 2 weeks, we tried all restaurants more than once and although the Tamarindo was our favorite, they were all very good. The steaks at Castaways were huge, enough to feed a family of 4. The pasta and risottos at Cin-Cin were very tasty, the sea food at Oceana was delicious. We went to Market café every day for breakfast and lunch and the variety of choices was enough not to get bored eating the same thing all the time. With a few exceptions (that were sometimes due to personal taste) we ate very well for those two weeks.
The nightly entertainment was not great the first week because the theater was under renovations and they only had a small stage installed at the plaza. On our second week, the theater reopened and we got the full productions. The dance troop is very professional and the shows they created are highly entertaining. The only problem we had with Entertainment is that there isn't any after 10:30. There is Desires, a bar without a dance floor, so we could sit there and have a drink but it would have been nice to dance at least once on our vacation.
The staff at this hotel is the nicest and most attentive you can hope for, always asking if there is anything more they can do. Whenever we had a request, it was met immediately, with a smile.
All in all, we had a great vacation, and the only reason this resort didn't score a five was the lack of Wi-Fi, only available at the Sky bar and extremely slow....which is a no-no in 2014. This should be a top priority for the hotel. Also, not keeping Tequila anejo in a mexican resort, is strange, all others Secrets visited had it, even outside Mexico.
Special thanks to:
Dulce at Sky bar, cute and sweet as can be
Sofia at Market Café, listening to all the guests' stories, boring or not....
Salvador at the pool, we missed you on your days off
The entertainement team, Miguel, Fabiola, Maia, Amanda, Alex & Victor, who made us feel like family alhough they had to deal with the stress of a new boss...they all work so hard for us all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SylvanoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 4,197 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We just returned from Secrets hours ago! We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary it was amazing! The entire staff from upon our arrival was amazing, you barely put your fork on you empty plate and they whisk it away for you!
Water is plentiful, the pool, beach, bathrooms are all super clean. They scrub the pool lounges nightly, and power wash the cement around the pools.
We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi - amazing!
We opted to buy dinner on the beach with our coupons. It's an additional cost but well worth it. We chose to dine at sunset, it's hard work to carry all that out there - we had an exceptional waiter.
Every night there is a buffet of different menu's, different entertainment in the Sky Bar some nights- or just sit people watch.

The ONLY thing I would like to see changed is smoking policy. I don't like the smoking around the pool, or on balconies when they are so close to one another. We had a neighbor for a few nights that smoked which made it so we couldn't have our door open to listen to the ocean.

We are booking again next year for my parents 50th anniversary! It's amazing, and so relaxing!!!

Room Tip: all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travilgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest:

First of all let me thank you for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I'll keep this short since all the great things are said in other reviews.

Pros----
The week we were there....March 22-29....it was mostly Canadians with a sprinkle of Yanks. All was good. You'll meet people from all over this great continent.
It's a 35 minute drive from the airport. Grab a couple of cold ones for the trip. The ride is pleasant...you won't see any slums like other destinations.

Check in is fast, layout of resort is simple to find anything.
AC Preferred had a room for us. Free internet, some top shelf booze. Concierge to answer questions. Where else you going to get Baileys for your coffee at 630 am??

The rooms are spacious, clean. We always tip our housekeeper every morning ($5) so we get what we want. We had a swim up but didn't use it. The water was too hot....no shade.

We had great experiences at all restaurants. No waiting. Dress appropriately. They enforce the dress code to dine inside. No problem with that.
The food is fantastic, portions not too big. We did lunch at Castaways all week. Large selection. Otherwise the fast food pit near the pools will get you wings, burgers, hot dogs, nachos etc.

The pools are very large and not crowded even though no one uses the ocean.

The spa is great. You get hydrotherapy before your treatment.....be prepared to be pampered 2.5 hours for a 50 minute treatment...who can complain about that??

Now for the constructive criticism.....
Although there are umbrella bases, some of them are missing umbrellas. Secrets needs to buy some more umbrellas. Its a newer resort, so the palm trees are only 15-20 feet high so they don't cast enough shade.....especially over parts of the pool. It was (99-102 F) or (34-36 C) so the water was not refreshing at all. Perhaps Secrets could install a chiller on the pools.

It's unfortunate that some people feel more privileged than others, securing chairs at the crack of dawn. We also witnessed a group that secured chairs then went on an excursion all day. Like really????. The guests removed their towels. The staff will only oblige if guests complain.
Perhaps Secrets could offer some pool floaties as there are none at this resort.

The ocean was empty most of the week. There appeared to be some debris floating so guests were reluctant to swim in that. This is the first time I did not swim in the ocean. Not sure what Secrets could do to alleviate this problem??? On 2 separate occasions, toilets backed up at each end the pools so perhaps the ocean water condition is caused by a faulty septic bed.???

The beach sand is hot and a little more coarse than other destinations but it won't harm you if you wear sandals.

We dined inside and found it too warm. Perhaps Secrets could manage the AC better.
The design of the resort courtyard has failed. Why put most of the restaurants in that courtyard where if you dine outside, you get no view and no breeze. Secrets failed here in my opinion.

The staff has limited grasp of English but will only get better as they become more exposed to North Americans.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would go back. When we do go back, we expect Secrets to have taken care of the umbrella situation and the lack of AC in the restaurants.

Room Tip: building 4, 5 and 6 if you plan on staying near the pools all week. otherwise building 1, 2 and 3 if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments through our Trip Advisor Account. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our mission is to offer the best quality services to our guests, and your message is a source of motivation to continue working in this way.

We hope to see you soon at our Hotel,

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I just got back from a very relaxing vacation at Secrets Huatulco.

What can we say, extremely impressed with the Secrets Resort. The food was fantastics, the accommodations were the best (had the preferred with swim-out), the pools were good although they really need to spend a bit more time cleaning the main pool (black in the grout). The swim-out was spotless as was the other larger pool.

The service was top notch. We have stayed in many RIU Palace resorts and have to say if ALL Secrets were like this, we will no longer be looming for a RIU property.

The food, well, gone is the day of standing in line for a long time first thing in the morning to make a la carte reservations - all the restaurants are a la cart and you can either dine inside or outside (depending on the attire you wish to wear).

Huatulco - the best weather we have ever had and we have been all over the Caribbean as well as north on the pacific side....the beach, well, the sand is course so please make sure you bring water shoes with you. Also the sand gets extremely hot by noon and we did hear of some folks almost burning the bottoms of their feet. The water, well, the whole time we were there the flags were yellow - lots of undertow but we are not necessarily beach folks so this was not a concern for us at all.

The only other negative that we could pick out was no wi-fi available at pool side. We like to stream music and we were unable to - the resorts choice of music was not necessarily the best choices. We were told that they are working on it (but you know how Mexico time works :) ).

Overall - this was a top notch resort and we will be back again! :)

Room Tip: If you are planning on choosing a swim-out room and like to be around the action - strongly suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this wonderful review! I'm sure this will be very helpful to our guests. I encourage you to keep my contact information and please let me know when you are ready to come home again.

Sincerely,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
a_gerencia.sechu@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I just got back from Secrets Huatulco (April 1-8, 2014) and are already planning our trip back for next year. It is by far the best resort we have ever been to. We met some fantastic people on the plane on the way down so our group of two expanded to a group of 10! We have never felt hot sun like this, despite the numerous times we have been to the Dominican and the Mayan Riviera. It was very, very hot, but a welcome escape from a horribly long Ontario winter! The resort was a perfect relaxing getaway. It wasn’t a party place so I was able to get some reading done before my exams, but at the same time everyone there was having a great time, especially in the afternoon after some lunch and a siesta! It was very much a couples atmosphere, we loved that it was adults only. We didn’t do any excursions and we didn’t see any of the shows.
The beach: Honestly we didn’t spend a lot of time there but it was beautiful. You couldn’t walk for miles but it was a nice little cove. The sand is not soft and white but we didn’t find it too bad on our feet.
The pool: We spent pretty much our whole time hanging around the swim-up bar. Because the weather was so hot, the pool was also very warm. We inherited some floaties from people who were just leaving and we loved just lounging in the pool. It was quiet enough that we were all able to relax and read. It would have been nice if they played more music, especially in the afternoons!
The restaurants: The food was AMAZING. My favourite was the sushi at the Japanese restaurant. We went to all of the a la cartes and went to the Market Café for a buffet breakfast every morning. We didn’t use any of the restaurants for lunch because the Barefoot Grill at the pool had all we needed. They had a ton of barbequed meats, seafood, and your standard hotdogs and hamburgers, nachos, fries, etc. They had a burger festival going on and had two new burgers every day which was neat. One of the members in our group had a gluten allergy and the place was more than accommodating!
The hotel in general: What an amazing spot!! Twenty minutes from the beach, 10 minutes from town for shopping. The hotel was always clean, the layout is perfect. Very modern. It really is not very big which we loved. There are six buildings, three on each side of the main lobby/restaurants. The resort is built into the side of a cliff. Buildings one and two are closest to the top and closest to the lobby. Three and four are in the middle, and five and six are closest to the pools/beach. Each building has three floors. Every single room is facing the ocean, though I have heard that one of the buildings has a partially obstructed view due to the roof of the building below it. There is free wifi in a few spots, specifically the Sky Bar where we met up for a drink before dinner.
Rooms: We were on the third floor of building four. The view was spectacular. The cleaning staff always did a phenomenal job. We spent next to no time in the room. The shower/tub was great, everything was in perfect working order. We did not upgrade to the VIP and felt no need to do so, although perhaps next time we might splurge for a swim-out room on the ground floor. These rooms have their own little pool the spans the length of the building.
Fitness centre: There were three treadmills, some bikes, ellipticals, etc. There was a universal gym and some dumb bells as well as yoga mats and exercise balls. We used it almost every day but did our own crossfit workouts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here from 3/28-4/4 and love it. We stayed in building 5(5319 room) amazing view( saw humpback whales breaching from our room) room service was excellent. The whole area of Huatulco & the hotel are VERY Clean & VERY safe. Food was great at the restaurants. Plenty of pools. Sand was coarse/ deep & very hot- beach is gorgeous, the surf is strong( didn't get in the ocean). Saul at the pool bar was great & Magdalena was by FAR the best pool service person there!!!! We loved this place & we'll be back. We went into La Crucecita and had a blast shopping partying. We booked 2 fishing trips- white frisbee man on the beach & one when we were in town. Day 1 w/ frisbee man we had 5 guys go out & we caught 10 Bonita(no good eating fish- they were there, just no luck. While fishing we got surrounded by thousands of dolphins(as far as the eye could see) then one the way back to get our wives to go on a boat cruise to a small fishing village for lunch we encountered a baby humpback whale 300 yards off our beach. Spinner dolphins promptly greeted us after getting our wives w/ front & back flips. Second day of fishing we caught 5 white Bonita & 4 Bonita- we saw 2 large stingrays- green turtles and a mom/dad & baby humpback whales breaching 200 yards from our boat. What a trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CubbyCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to host your holidays. I am glad to know how much you enjoyed spending time at our hotel and spa highlighted by our staff’s attentiveness. Our mission is to create memories by exceeding our guests expectations and I'm very pleased to read that we accomplished this goal during your stay. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future and provide you another incredible experience.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent two weeks at this resort in middle to end of March. We travel 2 / 3 times a year in 5* hotels which I find this Hotel to be a 5* ( with some problems to iron out )

We had an amazing view of the bay from our room.

If you like hot weather Huatulco is the place where you want to be ….Never rained during our 2 weeks stay ... 37 C in the shade - 47 C in the sun

Huatulco is still a small town with not a lot of tourists yet.
So bring lost of sunscreen SPF 30

Staff is very friendly and service is extraordinary

Everywhere you look there I a great view especially from the Sky bar

Restaurants are all very good with excellent service in each of them. They do enforce the dress codes which I find is a good thing

The entertainment staff are all so nice and lively
Mickey and Fabiola go out of there way to entertain us

Our big disappointment was the beach. We knew that the sand was coarse and very hot but the beach itself was barely swimmable
The beach is long with some small steep hills to go down so imagine when you are coming back up, being so hot you need to go back down again We found the water to rough to get in … During our 2 weeks I believe that I saw 6 or 7 courageous people trying to swim but would soon realize that it’s very difficult
You see everybody sitting under the palapas but nobody is swimming

We did a tour of the different bays by boat that we bought from Candido on the beach. It was absolutely perfect
It was like a personalize tour for the 4 of us. Look for him on the beach, you will not regret the tour.

We were very disappointed with some of the bars watering down the liquors and sometimes trying to pass another type of drinks for something else ……For example at more than one occasion. We ordered grand marnier and they were serving us drambui and they were pretending it was grand marnier. It was very hard to get the Sparkling wine specially at the pool bar and the buffet.… We did report the problem to the manager “Walter “ who was very kind and fixed the problem. So everything was fine for a few days but to our big disappointment it started back again shortly after….
I don’t think that this is the image you want to portray of a beautiful resort like the Secrets. There is definitely a game going on with the drinks among the staff.

Beware also of the following: The maids after cleaning the room were leaving the patio door unlocked. We complained about it to the management. After the complaint, they locked the door for about 3 days and the left the door unlocked again. We found that very suspicious. Very easy to access the balcony of your neighbours.

The gym is great with good equipment and a fantastic view.

We found the shopping at La Crucicinta was very uninteresting and dirty. And taking a taxi was terrible cause the cars are so old and broken down … although the cost was good $ 6.00 but not worth it

We flew in with Air Canada rouge out of Toronto …. What a bummer !! No space, ( I could not even cross my legs and I am not a big person ) no TV’s, no music … You had to bring your own Ipad to connect to their server and then try to find something good …If you are bilingual that’s great but if you only speak French like my brother in law well your out of luck cause nothing is in French … Although the titles of the movies were written in French but once on it only in English No duty free on board either !!
Never experience this before with any other vendors

They apparently created Air Canada Rouge from Air Canada for us to save money !!!!!
Terrible to think that we are that stupid … Prices never went down … Air Canada prices are almost always more then any other vendors

AIR CANADA ROUGE SUCKS !!!!!!!

Internet access was an issue. There is no access in the room or poolside which was frustrating. There is great access at the Skybar but that is far away from most rooms. Very disappointing …

This was our first Secret Hotel experience in Huatulco but because of the beach not being swimmable and the problems at the bars with the liquors we are not sure if we would recommend ??

Room Tip: Very nice view from the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joseguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
4,000 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
4.2 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 47 in Huatulco
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: £186 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing