We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved everything about this resort. It was very clean. It was very quiet during the time we went; however, it was nice to have some peace. We stayed for 7 nights on the second week of May. The service was amazing from everyone. The food was incredible. It was cool having so much a la carte choice without having to make any reservations. We ventured into town (La Crucecita) with a group of couples from the hotel and felt quite safe.The water is usually too rough to swim, but that did not bother us with the pools to cool us down. We went on a boat ride with Hilberto from the beach who is well known to the resort staff. Him and his friend took us snorkeling at a nearby beach with restaurants and calmer waters. We would definitely recommend this. The entertainment team was awesome! The waiter, Miguel, we had at Castaways and Oceana remembered I had a milk allergy and brought me a special dessert on our last night. The cook at the snack bar was so personable! All of the bartenders, house keepers, concierge and front desk staff were fantastic. Walter was extremely welcoming. We would definitely return. We stayed in a preferred jacuzzi suite, but next time I would choose one of the suites with the swim-out pools.

Room Tip: We had a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony and did not use it. Either go with a regular room or get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nrs1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Secrets Huatulco.

We thank you very much for your comments and we wish you a nice day and end of week.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 4,248 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We experienced several serious issues during our stay from April 29th to May 6th at the Secrets Resort in Huatulco, Mexico. The resort Chief Concierge, Security Manager, and Resident Manager were all notified of these issues. As much as these issues negatively affected our stay and perception of theSecrets, we were equally distressed and appalled with how the above mentioned employees manage a resort and treat their guests.

On April 30th, we spent the majority of the day at the pool with our good friends of 20 years that joined us on this trip. We all left the pool at approximately 5pm, returned to our rooms directly beside each other, and went into the hot tubs on our patios. Before entering the hot tub, my wife removed one of her rings and placed it on the desk, close to the patio in our room. She removed this ring in particular because it has a thick band and her hand began to swell from the heat. my wife returned to our room at approximately 8:30pm, saw me sleeping and had a shower. After showering, she proceeded to get ready for dinner and went to the desk to put on her ring but it was missing. She started searching the room immediately, called our friends and we all spent approximately one hour searching the room to no avail. We then went to the lobby to speak to a manager but were told we can only speak to the head chef who was the acting manager on duty. We ultimately decided to just leave a message for the chief concierge to contact us in the morning regarding a missing item from our room.

The next morning we were not contacted the chief concirrge or any other staff member at the resort so we returned to the lobby to find to find the chief concierge. He acknowledged that he was aware we were in the lobby the previous night but had made no effort to contact us. We then proceeded to report the missing ring and he advised us that he would need to contact security to search our room. Approximately one hour later, a coulple of security guards with a metal detector arrived at our room and conducted a brief search which consisted of lifting up the desk. At no time was the metal detector actually used or the rest of the room searched. We then filled out a security report and began answering a series of questions which felt more like an interrogation then an investigation. The little assurance we did feel came from a promise that a report of who entered our room could be generated by the electronic key card lock. We were also told that our friend’s room and the other adjoining room would be searched.

On May 2nd (the following afternoon), the head of security manager and another security guard returned to our room to report their findings from the electronic key card lock. I was only able to view the report for a brief moment but noticed there was four highlighted items from the time frame of approximately 6pm to 8:30pm. The report appeared to be in Spanish but I could make out that there was an external entry at 8:25pm. I questioned them about this entry and he told me that it was “just” housekeeping. He said that they had questioned the housekeeper and she acknowledged entering the room but turned away when she saw me sleeping. During our conversation, the head of security continuously made insinuating comments like “the ring was more likely lost in the pool than stolen” to turn aside our questions. We were then asked to sign off on an investigation report. I refused to sign the document because it appeared to be a release of liability form rather than investigation report. We did ask to have a copy of the report but were told he would have to check with management.

During the following four days of our stay, we returned to the resort lobby to meet with the chief concierge. At no time did he, or any other resort staff member (knowing we were not enjoying our time on the resort) contact us regarding our stay, the missing ring, or the investigation report. We continually requested a copy of the investigation report with the key card lock history but were met with apprehension and delay each time. On our final day, we met with chief concierge in the morning and requested to speak with the resort manager. We were told teturn at noon and the resort manager would meet with us. When we returned to the lobby, we waited another forty-five minutes before we were informed that the resort manager had left the resort and would not be able to meet with us. It was at this time I questioned him if the resort had experienced any issues of theft to this extent in the past. He responded that there was one incident a couple of years ago where the person was caught and went to jail. We also questioned the couple who stayed in the other adjoining room if they had experienced any issues during their stay. It was then we discovered that they had an I-Phone 5s stolen for which they did complete an investigation report with the management. The couple also informed us their room was never searched as a result of our investigation and several other guests, whom they had spoken with, also had experienced stolen items from their rooms, mostly petty. Approximately 30 minutes before our scheduled pick up, the resident manager agreed to meet with us. The security manager joined the meeting shortly after. Accompanied by our friends that we were traveling with, we informed him of the issues we had experienced during our stay on the resort and the lack of acknowledgment by the management staff. Our questions regarding the inadequate search of the rooms, the housekeeper entering our room at 8:25pm, a copy of the investigation report, the thefts in other rooms, and the actions of the acting hotel manager and the security manager were all met with a condescending smirk and an unsympathetic response. Halfway through the meeting, the resident manager requested that our friends leave. It was at this point that he and the security manager began to tell us that, from their experience, it is most likely family and friends that steal. Disgusted that they could insinuate our good friends of 20 years would steal, we decided to exit the meeting and leave the resort.

Although the theft of the ring is the most serious of issues which affected our stay at the resort, they were several other issues witnessed. All of the below issues were brought to the attention of all acting managers.
• In the late evening of May 2nd, a group of approximately six young males were witnessed smoking marijuana on their patio.
• In the evening of May 3rd, we witnessed a male resort employee meeting a male guest beside the Skye Bar elevator. Although we cannot confirm what was exchanged, it was evident that the meeting was meant to be away from sight and likely illicit.
• On several occasions, resort employees were witnessed peering guests on their patios from various levels of balconies in the main elevator tower.
• On a single occasion, a male resort employee responsible for stocking the mini bar fridges was confronted scanning inside our friend’s open safe. Startled by their presence in the room, this employee quickly apologized and left the room.
• On three separate occasions, the safe in our room broke. Each time we were told to wait in the room and someone would be there shortly. On one occasion we waited three hours and the safe was still not fixed. We were told they would return the following day but no one returned until we contacted the front desk.

Individually, each one of the additional five issues above would not have negatively affected our stay or perception of Secrets. However, combined with the theft of the ring and the dealings with the aforementioned resort employees, we are left displeased and unfulfilled after spending approximately $5000 for what we thought was going to be a Secrets “Unlimited Luxury,” “Unlimited Fun,” and “Endless Privileges” vacation. In addition to the cost of our vacation, by now you may be wondering the value of the missing ring? This was a pave set, five carat diamond ring with an appraisal value of $20,000. By no means are we wealthy people and the material loss of our vacation and ring is of a magnitude we have never experienced. We understand crime, thefts, and bad experiences can happen at any resort, anywhere in the world. At the very least, we only hope these issues are passed along the proper channel and resolved for future guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a fabulous resort with all the things I don't like about "all inclusives" missing. From the arrival when you are NOT banded like a bird, to the "no" towel cards and no need to reserve for the a la carte restaurants it was a total treat. Then came the extras of the exceptional room servicing daily the more tasteful entertainment (fab guitar player and singer in the lounge) AND the most amazing spa I have been to. The service of the staff was so great it is hard to single anyone out - the standard line was "it's my pleasure" with sincerity!!

Already looking for a chance to return...

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous!! And ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent seven days at the Huatulco Secrets for our honeymoon. Our room was the preferred king suite in building four. The rooms were comfortable and spotless. Maid service was fantastic.

The pool was great. I did notice some slight mildew spot (very small), as described in other reviews, but nothing to be gross out by, a couple of barely visible spots that I most likely would not have noticed but for the other reviews. We must have been there on a slow week because we did not have to play the towel game at all even though we typically went to the pool around ten. The entertainment crew was awesome and did a great job of getting everyone involved with volleyball, etc. Service at the pool bar was fast with good quality beer and liquor. The pool waitstaff was excellent. We spent the majority of our time at the busier pool which was still quiet. If you wanted near silence two additional pools were available and very peaceful.

Room service was quick and very tasty with a limited menu.

The concierge and front desk were very helpful. They made calls for us on more than one occasion to confirm reservations and airport transfers. They went above and beyond in that respect spending about fifteen minutes to correct an issue with our transfer company (seperate company).

My one complaint, and the only reason I rate the hotel four stars, was the service at the restaurants. It seemed like they took a team approach to waiting the tables and at times you could not tell whom your waiter was. This team waiter approach lent itself to confusion and a lack of follow through. The food in the restaurants was good and high quality, but not what i would expect or have had before in a high end resort. To be clear, we did not have a bad meal, but ended up eating room service a few times because the food was just as good and the ambiance of the restaurants was nothing great.

Secrets appeared to be the best AI in Huatulco so I will most likely return unless something better is built in the area. Overall, you will not be disapointed in the hotel or the service, just don't expect it to be a great culinary experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Secrets came over to our Dreams resort and took us on a tour of Secrets. It is nice and secluded adults only resort. Huge beach to walk on as well as several pools to go for a dip in. Some of the bottom floor rooms have a swim out pool for those who want privacy. All of the restaurants are al la cart so men need to wear nice pants and shirts. Women have to dress up too, but we have a little more wiggle room when it comes to dressing up lol.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets for two weeks at the end of April. The resort was very nice, we were pleased with our room, the view, the ocean and the service. We were in building 4 floor 3. Our view was excellent although was a bit loud in the morning due to the music at the pool. A song played every morning at 9am (loudly) so if you want to sleep in request a room on the other side of the resort. The food was good, the spa was amazing - we booked two massages and enjoyed each one. Overall we loved the resort and the weather was hot and everything we wanted in a vacation. We liked the daily report of what was going on in the resort such as; restaurants that were open for dinner and spa deals. - Spa deals, they give you coupons upon check in - you are better off requesting a discount at the spa as the coupons are less than some/most of the daily discounts. We did not use our coupons at all and received better daily discounts such as 25, 30 and 35 percent off. As the second week came around we started to see the flaws. It seemed the staff had seen us there for a week already and decide to wait on the newer guests coming in instead of us. The Asian restaurant has tables on the floor, with a hole for your feet, I did not notice there was a hole and fell into it, twisting my ankle. Be aware of that!! We were disappointed with the Amstar group that books the tours in the lobby. We asked to book into the coffee plantation tour and he said since we are going so far up to the mountains he recommends we couple it and see the waterfalls up there as well. Thinking we booked a coffee tour + waterfall tour we were extremely disappointed when we never got a coffee tour at all. Disappointed that we asked for one thing and he sent us on something completely different. Had we have known this we probably would not have gone on the tour at all - very annoyed with Amstar - would recommend booking your own tours. The first week was busy and the resort had lots going on and many restaurants open, the second week was very slow, not many people at the resort. The second week was slim pickings for restaurants as they only had a couple open. We did not upgrade to the preferred club and are glad we did not as we had contemplated doing so. The preferred club were all on the bottom floors which meant there was no view of the ocean from there room. Their balconies were very close to the pool and not private at all. I believe we saw maybe 5 people in the "preferred club lounge" and no one using their Jacuzzi outside. Would recommend not upgrading at this resort. Last negative that I would want to raise awareness of is the room keys - it is not a short walk to the lobby and we had talked to the front desk about late checkout the day we were leaving. They said yes no problem for an extra hour and if we wanted more than that we would have to pay for it. We took the extra hour, we had to be out of the room by 1pm. We packed up and went for a quick lunch before grabbing our bags and checking out. As we got back to the room our key had been deactivated, we walked all the way up the lobby - a little annoyed - and they said "yes all the keys are deactivated at noon unless you request a new key the night before" we were annoyed because we had been up there the night before and when we requested late checkout no one had mentioned this. The front desk staff knew we were annoyed and seemed to care less, the longer the trip went on the less the staff seemed to accommodate. Overall Huatulco was amazing, very warm and less touristy than other destinations in Mexico, really enjoyed the trip and the resort, although would recommend one week or ten days next time as there was not a lot to do and the service seemed to be less impressive as the staff saw us there for longer than most of the guest. Will try another Secrets Resort as the rooms and resort were gorgeous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Most of the reviews here are spot on and can be trusted. We stayed April 12th to 19th. It was very hot! The pools are nice but the activity pool with the swim up bar does have a lot of black growth on the tiles, didn't stop us from enjoying. The service was the best, all the employees were friendly and hard working. We had a swim out room in building 1 and loved it, we could go to the beach or pools if we wanted but still had the option of our semi private pool. The privilege club was nice but not great. All the bars were stocked with top shelf booze, just ask. The food was very good but not great, the biggest turn off was the air conditioning in the restaurants, I don't mind the dress code but if I have to wear long pants and a dress shirt the air should be cooler then 80 degrees. Because of this we ate outside or ordered room service more then we wanted to. The shade at the pool issue was not an issue for us, we always found a spot where we wanted to be. We saw many people who needed an umbrella and they just asked and one was brought out right away. All in all, the resort is very nice, the people are great and the food is good. Entertainment is blah and there is nothing to do after 11:00. We booked the 3 levels tour and loved it, you get to see real Mexico and learn a lot and bought some great coffee. We also went into both Santa Cruze and La Crucieta and bought some very nice table clothes. Ask the taxi driver to take you to the textile factory, not the stores. We also chartered a boat with Gilberto on the beach and we saw sea turtles dolphins, sting rays and even though everyone said it was too late in the year we saw Hump Back Whales! The highlight of the trip! We love Huatulco, this was our second trip and we may return one day, would we stay at Secrets again? Not sure, hopefully they make a few changes.

Room Tip: Building one on the first floor has swim out suites with easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
5.1 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
4,109 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 47 in Huatulco
212 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Seccion Hotelera Bahia de Conejos | Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: £200 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa sits on the Pacific coast in Huatulco - a sustainable tourism destination recognized for its commitment to the local environment. Beautifully secluded on the Conejos Bay, guests at Secrets Huatulco are treated to divine views of golden sand beaches, stunning rock formations and sapphire waters. Exclusive Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities start with limitless gourmet fare and top-shelf spirits, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge services. While 399 gorgeous suites offer daily refreshed mini-bar, spectacular views, plus a furnished balcony, terrace Jacuzzi, or swim-out pool access. Take part in daily activities and nightly entertainment, or a pampering treatment at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia. Guests can even spend a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience at the nearby Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, to enjoy more fine dining and entertainment. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa - Enchanting. Secluded. Divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing