We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
SK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from touring around Oaxaca and stayed here from March 11 to 18. Flew Sunwing, and for all the flack they take should be commended for a great travel experience. Can't say much more than has already been said about the Villablanca. Staff is extremely accommodating, rooms are basic but very well maintained, and the restaurant offers great breakfasts as well as a good variety for lunch and dinners. Pool is small but well maintained.

Like others have advised, make sure to duck out the left side of the hotel to visit Elsa's hamburger stand. Very nice lady who makes a mean burger and fries.

If you're travelling during charter season, expect that this hotel will be populated by mostly Western Canadians who are very friendly and sociable. I met many people who I had dinners with and took many excursions together. On the weekends, many Mexican natiionals come into town and many stay here. They love the pool area and the kids have a blast. They are very friendly and gracious.

If you're looking to get away from the large and antiseptic all-inclusives, you would do very well to visit the Villablanca.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itravelutour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    153
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
123
268
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just back from 2 glorious weeks in Huatulco and we loved every minute of it! Can't say enough about this little hotel with huge appeal! From the minute you walk in and embrace the Mexican villa style lobby to the stairs that lead to our spacious junior suite! Front desk staff were so sweet! Hello Francisca..........Great accommodations and well maintained rooms! As mentioned in many reviews the rooms on ground level seem to be more popular but honestly any room at this hotel is going to be marvellous! Our breakfast was perfect every morning which was included with our package deal! A great assortment of various items to savour and start the day! Ask for the their special smoothies! The waiting staff at this hotel are exceptionally gracious and would do anything for us! Hugs from Canada to Brenda, Oralia, Miguel, and Gorge...... Wish we were there now!
The grocery store around the corner that has been repeatedly mentioned really was great to have so close by because we did frequent trips there for our daily adventures! We did have a fridge in our room as well!
The hotel is centrally located so that you can go into the neighbouring towns and explore, visit many of the amazing beaches or just soak in the scenery around the hotel! Cab rides are reasonable or even walking as we did to the other beaches such as our adventure to Tangolunda Bay! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for non AI accommodations in this area! There are 9 Bays and 36 beaches so we attempted to see something different everyday and at the end of our 2 week stay we managed to see Paradise Beyond!

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is going to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girlfromIpanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 16 days and could not have been happier. Our room was spacious, king size bed very comfortable and was separated by knee wall length of bed providing table 4 chairs which allowed a wonderful space for the 2 of us to do some work. The staff was particularly cordial & pleasant at all times. The restaurant was terrific and the CHEF knew his way around the kitchen, food was stylishly presented with wonderful combinations and very very tasty.
The courtyard pool was large & well kept. The only negative was it was not on the Ocean but that soon became a non issue. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when in Huatulco. Michael J Mahoney & Alma Rosa Enriquez Zepeda

Room Tip: Don't worry about room facing street!! Large & comfortable with minimum unobtrusive noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A first-time, wonderful two week vacation at the Villa Blanca. All hotel staff provide excellent service. The rooms are modest, very spacious and clean. We asked for a fridge for our room and were accommodated the second day of our stay. On-site restaurant food is good. Margueritas are the best! The hotel provided yoga and water aerobic classes weekly. There were many evenings of excellent musical entertainment. The beach club is a five minute walk. The food and staff there are good. The beach is beautiful and quiet. However, there is an undertow there to be aware of. The beach club has a pool. The first week, the beach club pool was clean although some tiles are missing. The second week, it turned green. On our last day they were doing a major clean-up. Many restaurants to choose from in nearby town of La Crucecita (20 minute walk). Excellent shops (jewellery, weaving, etc.) to browse. Super Che grocery store is a five minute walk from hotel. There are many excursions available for the area. We went on a boat tour (snorkelling, beach) and outback safari tour--both were worthwhile. I would recommend this as a vacation for middle-aged couples, many of whom come back year after year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notso799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

lt was our first time in Huatulco, Feb 18th - Feb 25th 2014 and we found the weather to be hot without a drop of rain...........quite favourable for hours in the ocean with stints at suntanning. Villablanca was filled with great people who made sure our rooms were spotless and had info to fill our days with lots of adventure.........walking and cabbing to the many golden beaches shopping and dining in La Crucecita and Santa Cruz and exploring the natural beauty by boat. Thanks to Janha, our smiling lady who took great care of our room, the Villablanca tour rep , Hugo , the hepful manager, and a HUGE thank-you to Giovanni who was a fantastic server ,fountain of information, and had a great command of English. He should definitely be promoted......definitely! We will be back for sure. Peach and Francesca

Room Tip: We were above the kitchen........lucky we like garlic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LISA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our first time travelling to Huatulco. The Villa Blanco doesn't appear to be anything special when you first arrive, but we really came to appreciate it as the week progressed. The rooms are spacious and the air conditioner worked perfectly. We didn't find the bed to be hard, in fact we slept extremely well here. We ate here every day at least once and ordered drinks for around the pool in the early evening everyday. Yes- going to the Supermarket for items is easily possible, but the price of a few drinks didn't seem worth the bother. The breakfast buffet was standard, but you can also order off the menu free of charge (omelettes, bacon, etc.). The location is superb if you want to see a few different beaches- some are walking distance, others are a cheap cab ride. We liked the Chahue beach- very close to the hotel. The beach is gorgeous and fairly empty, although the water is more for adult swimmers.
The ambience at this hotel is priceless. We really noticed the respect level between visitors here. For examples: people were drinking responsibly, parents were managing their children well, nobody was playing extra loud music, people were extremely friendly, and although the hotel was busy the pool area was never overcrowded and table/sun chairs were always available. We totally preferred this accommodation style to the all-inclusive resort.

Room Tip: Do not take a third floor room if stairs are an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

As a vistor to villa blanca (2 adults + 2 children under 10). This is a nice hotel, all the pros and cons listed from previous visitors are pretty accurate, in my opinion.

cons for my family (but were not deal breakers for our enjoyment of this trip):

- breakfast not included for the children
- runny eggs
- noisy air conditioning
- very hard beds
- limited English speaking staff
- for our needs as a young family a kitchennette or at least a fridge would have been ideal for our 1 week stay

Pros:

- This hotel is very clean and has a cozy feel to it
- The kids and I loved the pool
- The staff was always very friendly and aimed to please
- Their Margaritas were the best! (and I ordered one everywhere I visited in the area :)
- Great access to the super market (2 minute walk around the corner) with many food choices (think mini walmart)
- El Pastor (taco stand in the evenings only) on the same street as Super Che (maybe 5 minute walk past it) offer very good tacos... The 4 of us ate and drank for a little under 20CA$.
- Good hamburgers at the cantina right beside the hotel (evenings only)
- the beaches... take your pick! Personnally I liked the Chahue beach because it was large and mostly unpopulated with people, but the waves were too strong to allow the boys to go in... they loved running away from the lapping tide though and I enjoyed watching them. We walked to Santa cruz beach which is much smaller but good for swimming, and Entrega beach was good for swimming/snorkelling (5$CA taxi ride). We rented snorkel gear for 5$CA/person for the day.
-2 towns in short walking distance to choose from to explore.

Room Tip: The loft style rooms are more spacious for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#10 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villablanca Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Property: Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez | Esquina con Zapoteco Bahías de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villablanca Huatulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villablanca Huatulco has an atmosphere of rest with careful details of Mexican architecture and style that stand out in the Bay of Chahue. During your visit you will be provided with warm comfort to experience perfect relaxation during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villablanca Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Blanca Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Hotel Blanca Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing