We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Villa Blanca experience is diminishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I once thought this hotel was an under utilised hidden gem and penned several reviews to sing its praises. Not so since Sunwing started sending guests there. Their one week all-inclusive patrons are often mistakenly looking for a party place and would probably be happier in a larger resort in Tangolunda Bay. The VB is a small quiet Mexican hotel, frequented mostly by a repeat older patronage. In the past, it was quieter and almost abandoned during the day when guests went off site. The newer clientele don't do that as much so the poolside is now busier and noisier. So is the buffet area. And it's getting smokier, too. I wish the hotel would ban all smoking in the restaurant because it drifts from the small smoking section across the full room, And limit smoking to your patio, or a section on the far side of the pool.
My partner and I were at the VB for our 7th month-long stay and we noticed the VB experience has dwindled.as follows. The breakfast buffet is not as good as it used to be; probably to save money given how cheap its 1 week Sunwing packages cost. Another change is that the hotel now plays soft American pop music in the dining room instead of Mexican music, jazz or universal new age stuff. Sunwing might have mistakenly said this is what we gringos like. We were also disappointed that we didn't meet any Mexican tourists tat VB this year because Sunwing is filling VB with gringos, displacing the Mexican families that used to stop over on tour bus packages. IMHO, these kind of changes, along with events like pool aerobics, have diminished the 'Mexico experience' at VB. As did some of the new guests who were toting coolers to the pool area, hiding them under tables, so they could sneak drinks into their 'big bubba' mugs and avoid spending a buck for a beer: how low brow, boorish and inconsiderate of the hotel. These guests pay rock bottom price for their stay, yet complain they didn't get a pool side room or a room fridge. And when they bring their coolers to a table or palapa at a local beach, they're annoyed when the beach restaurant owners charge for use of the table. Really? The Mexicans have 4 months at best to make a few tourist dollars off of you, which they need to survive for the next 8 months, in return for the pleasure you get to stay in a hot, safe, idyllic beach zone, in their wonderful country. As an aside, I get a fridge but I wish the hotel would charge a daily rental rate for them, to make up for the times when I drink my own beer or have a snack bought at Super Che. This way, all rooms could be fridge equipped and the hotel would still benefit financially,
Overall, if VB continues this general downward trend, my wife and a few friends from VB are looking at other Huatulco Mexican hotels. I hope it doesn't come to that as the VB is charming, staff are wonderful and they, along with the former VB experience, would be missed.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet choose the third floor multi-level rooms or a scond floor with balcony,
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SvenfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Villablanca hotel for 2 weeks. It was a beautiful and amazing experience. The high quality staff was incredible and bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as was possible. The staff had a beautiful, kind, and happy demeanour that made us feel very much like they cared about their jobs and the visitors to the hotel. The daily breakfast buffet was not only enjoyable because of the amazing food selection, but it was amplified by the smiling faces of the staff each morning who greeted us. The room service and poolside service was half the price of your average luxury hotel but the food and drink quality was 5 star. We very much enjoyed the seafood pasta, handmade salsas, and Aztec soup. The cleaning staff did a consistent and thorough job each morning and the front desk staff was always attentive and helpful when called upon. The management was present most days and would check in to make sure that guests were having the best experience possible. During almost every day, you would find a variety of local artists, instructors, and musicians visiting the hotel to showcase their talents.
We feel that it is important to make a few notes about the surrounding Huatulco community. Huatulco is an amazing town that values the environment and ecology of the area as well as managing pollution and recycling. The seemingly hundreds of city staff were consistently tending to the common green areas - the parks were immaculate with a luscious feel, the beaches were incredibly clean, the boulevards and sidewalks were constantly being tended to by hand, street upgrades were regularly happening - In Short, the entire community seemed to value the beauty and cleanliness of the area. As a note, be prepared for pedalling by locals In the markets, who you will find selling handmade craft, foods, and trinkets - on a positive note though we never felt harassed or threatened. Beaches are, for the most part, marked daily with flags indicating the level of danger and often beaches had full-time lifeguards. In some more remote areas, be cautious of vast areas of coral, undertows, and somewhat unpredictable wave patterns that may result in unsafe situations. It may be advantageous to hire a local guide to ensure your safety and increase your knowledge and enjoyment - there is no shortage of locals to hire for this purpose! Overall, we not only highly recommend Huatulco as a destination, but specifically the Villablanca hotel. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool area were very nice. Be sure to ask for a fridge upon arrival.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nothing fancy but totally wonderful. The highlights-great staff who appear happy and respected, fabulous daily breakfast buffet, close to supermarket (ask for a fridge), quiet and clean. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and special. We had lovely candlelight dinner by the pool, ordered eggs our way at breakfast, good coffee and yummy margaritas for a very reasonable price.
Our experience was enhanced by the other guests who mostly came on a charter from Canada. Friendships evolved making the stay even more fun. There were also some Mexican families and a handful of well-behaved children.
Location is just far enough from town to be quiet but close enough to walk or take a short cab ride.
I would go back here in a minute.
This is the perfect hotel for those of us that eschew all-inclusives and like a more eclectic experience. Very safe environment.
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a little patio by the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from touring around Oaxaca and stayed here from March 11 to 18. Flew Sunwing, and for all the flack they take should be commended for a great travel experience. Can't say much more than has already been said about the Villablanca. Staff is extremely accommodating, rooms are basic but very well maintained, and the restaurant offers great breakfasts as well as a good variety for lunch and dinners. Pool is small but well maintained.

Like others have advised, make sure to duck out the left side of the hotel to visit Elsa's hamburger stand. Very nice lady who makes a mean burger and fries.

If you're travelling during charter season, expect that this hotel will be populated by mostly Western Canadians who are very friendly and sociable. I met many people who I had dinners with and took many excursions together. On the weekends, many Mexican natiionals come into town and many stay here. They love the pool area and the kids have a blast. They are very friendly and gracious.

If you're looking to get away from the large and antiseptic all-inclusives, you would do very well to visit the Villablanca.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itravelutour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just back from 2 glorious weeks in Huatulco and we loved every minute of it! Can't say enough about this little hotel with huge appeal! From the minute you walk in and embrace the Mexican villa style lobby to the stairs that lead to our spacious junior suite! Front desk staff were so sweet! Hello Francisca..........Great accommodations and well maintained rooms! As mentioned in many reviews the rooms on ground level seem to be more popular but honestly any room at this hotel is going to be marvellous! Our breakfast was perfect every morning which was included with our package deal! A great assortment of various items to savour and start the day! Ask for the their special smoothies! The waiting staff at this hotel are exceptionally gracious and would do anything for us! Hugs from Canada to Brenda, Oralia, Miguel, and Gorge...... Wish we were there now!
The grocery store around the corner that has been repeatedly mentioned really was great to have so close by because we did frequent trips there for our daily adventures! We did have a fridge in our room as well!
The hotel is centrally located so that you can go into the neighbouring towns and explore, visit many of the amazing beaches or just soak in the scenery around the hotel! Cab rides are reasonable or even walking as we did to the other beaches such as our adventure to Tangolunda Bay! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for non AI accommodations in this area! There are 9 Bays and 36 beaches so we attempted to see something different everyday and at the end of our 2 week stay we managed to see Paradise Beyond!

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is going to be great!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank girlfromIpanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 16 days and could not have been happier. Our room was spacious, king size bed very comfortable and was separated by knee wall length of bed providing table 4 chairs which allowed a wonderful space for the 2 of us to do some work. The staff was particularly cordial & pleasant at all times. The restaurant was terrific and the CHEF knew his way around the kitchen, food was stylishly presented with wonderful combinations and very very tasty.
The courtyard pool was large & well kept. The only negative was it was not on the Ocean but that soon became a non issue. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when in Huatulco. Michael J Mahoney & Alma Rosa Enriquez Zepeda

Room Tip: Don't worry about room facing street!! Large & comfortable with minimum unobtrusive noise!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A first-time, wonderful two week vacation at the Villa Blanca. All hotel staff provide excellent service. The rooms are modest, very spacious and clean. We asked for a fridge for our room and were accommodated the second day of our stay. On-site restaurant food is good. Margueritas are the best! The hotel provided yoga and water aerobic classes weekly. There were many evenings of excellent musical entertainment. The beach club is a five minute walk. The food and staff there are good. The beach is beautiful and quiet. However, there is an undertow there to be aware of. The beach club has a pool. The first week, the beach club pool was clean although some tiles are missing. The second week, it turned green. On our last day they were doing a major clean-up. Many restaurants to choose from in nearby town of La Crucecita (20 minute walk). Excellent shops (jewellery, weaving, etc.) to browse. Super Che grocery store is a five minute walk from hotel. There are many excursions available for the area. We went on a boat tour (snorkelling, beach) and outback safari tour--both were worthwhile. I would recommend this as a vacation for middle-aged couples, many of whom come back year after year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notso799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess Mayev Hotel
Princess Mayev Hotel
#11 of 47 in Huatulco
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Binniguenda All Inclusive
Binniguenda All Inclusive
#4 of 47 in Huatulco
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villablanca Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez | Esquina con Zapoteco Bahías de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: £38 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villablanca Huatulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villablanca Huatulco has an atmosphere of rest with careful details of Mexican architecture and style that stand out in the Bay of Chahue. During your visit you will be provided with warm comfort to experience perfect relaxation during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villablanca Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Blanca Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Hotel Blanca Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing