We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a beautiful place”
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We spent 8 nights from March 8-12 at the Hotel Villa Blanca. Our flight did not arrive in Huatulco until 7:00 but by 8:00 we were at the hotel. Had booked a junior suite and emailed the hotel ahead of time requesting a refrigerator and two double beds, as we were traveling with our college-aged son. Upon check-in we were told that there were no refrigerators available until the next day and gave us the keys to our room. Very spacious room with a table and four chairs and sitting area with a sofa, coffee table and two chairs and a TV. Bedroom was lofted, up some wooden stairs. We only had one king-sized bed so we went back to the front desk and they gave us keys to another room next door which was the same except with two double beds in the loft area. There also was a separate bedroom with a king-size bed! Very surprised. There were two air-conditioning units, one in the loft and the other in our bedroom, which more than adequately cooled the entire unit. There were no dressers but there were two closet areas with suitcase stands and hangars. There also was a type of ledge in the living area and bedroom on which to put things. A coffeemaker was also in the room although we never used it. There was a pretty good sized safe, also. The bathroom had a separate sink area (with a hair dryer); there was no tub, shower only, but it was pretty big and had a built-in tiled bench. Water pressure was good and always had hot water. We also always had three bottles of water in the room. As previous people have mentioned, the lighting is not that great as there are only lamps, no overhead lights but it wasn't a problem. We did have a light burn out over the sink but it was fixed the next day. And they did bring us the refrigerator as promised the following day. The Super Che grocery store is around the corner so we would buy soda and beer and keep it in the fridge. The balcony is small, mostly for standing on, but my son would bring a chair out onto it. The hotel has a computer in the lobby (you can use for free) and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Sometimes we would get it in the room; sometimes not. They are adding onto the hotel so there is construction going on but never really noticed it as most of the work is done manually. I never noticed a musty smell or bugs as a previous reviewer mentioned.

We also received a free breakfast buffet which was very good. Several juices, fresh fruit, cereal, pancakes and Belgium waffles, some kind of scrambled eggs, chilaquiles and several other Mexican hot dishes which would change daily. They would bring you toast if you asked for it. You could also have a smoothie custom-made for you. Really liked the breakfast.

Pool area was appropriately sized for the hotel. We only stayed by the pool one day but, unlike other resorts we've stayed at, you could take your pick of chairs. Water was warm. Most people venture out during the day. We went to a different beach every day by cab which we probably never would have done had we stayed at a resort on the beach. The closest beach, Playa Chahue, has two beach clubs, one free and the other that you have to pay (30 pesos/person) to use their chairs and palapas. Both have pools and restaurants.

The towns of Santa Cruz and La Crucecita are a short and cheap (20 peso) cab ride away. Food was good and reasonable. Mostly locals and mostly Spanish spoken. We really enjoyed this vacation -- weather was great, people very friendly, good food, awesome beaches and we really liked the intimacy of the Villa Blanca. We are already looking to see when is the next time we can return and I would definitely stay at the Villa Blanca.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    160
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
128
271
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

This trip to Mexico seemed to be a combo of good news/bad news; but all made for an interesting experience. When we arrived at VillaBlanca, the staff was very lo siento(sorry) about the situation, but it seemed a busload from Mexico City decided to stay for an extra day or two? Since there's only around 40 rooms, a busload pretty much fills the place up. But, we were then informed VB's manager would pay to put us up at a very nice resort for two days, which was the Las Brisas resort. More good news - Villa Blanca would also pay for our taxi fare over. Bad news - that meant the 4 of us, our luggage and the deskclerk all crammed in & rode over in one taxi. I got to sit in the front seat, between the bucket seats, next to the driver and gear shift, but we made it! Since the airport transportation authorities assigned the 4 of us a huge suburban costing $52 to ride from the airport to VB; we wish we'd discovered this sardine-can method of taxi transportation sooner. Fare back from VB to the airport only ran around $30.

I later talked with a lady from VanCouver who said VB bumped them once, but she'd made her own reservations and got put up in a like-star hotel next door. So apparently booking thru online vendors like Orbitz comes with a little clout. When we got back to our Villablanca Home Sweet Casa on Tuesday, VB could assign us the pool-side Jr Suites with the optional refrigerators I'd put in a request for. So we were muy feliz (very happy). Our rooms at VB were very clean and not being streetside, were very quite. There was A/C in the loft bedroom, cable TV, a coffee pot, hairdryer, shampoo. Note - if you like your bed mattress on the hard vs soft side, you will be very, very pleased. Housekeeping left Origami towel-birds and fresh flowers; we left a tip each day. There is free internet access on their one PC located in the lobby. Saw people sitting on the lobby couch with laptops, so apparently there is also WIFI.

Bad News - although VB advertises a free breakfast buffet, we found out there is no buffet when the hotel is not full, which was Monday thru Thursday. However, on those days we could order from their breakfast menu, so good news! I found it entertaining to watch the wily grackle's maneuvers to steal food, even sugar & coffeecreamer packets off the tables. Note - grackles & swallows will to a Fly-By when you are lying on loungers around pool, but the wing breeze feels good as they swoop by. It was relaxing to watch swallows swoop down & dip beaks in water for a drink when the water's clam.

Some bad news - per previous posts VB is constructing a third building addition. Crew starts at 7AM and they work til dusk. Good news -since all the labor is manual except for a lone cement mixer churning away in the distance, it's by far the quietest construction site I've ever (not) heard.

VB lends you beach towels to use at the Chahue Beach Club which is maybe a 2 to 3 block walk. Turn left down the street next to the Elektra store which is kiddie-corner across Benito Juarez Blvd from VB. (Note: when crossing - do NOT count on Huatulqueno drivers to give pedestrian right of way). The club had a pool right on the beach. There was no charge to use the club's umbrella table/chairs & loungers. Their beer was cold and really good/bueno nachos. Beware - the ocean surf is rough and not for those unsure of how undertow works, but was great fun to feel yourself being pulled out to sea and then tossed back in to shore. Plan on getting sand up your bathing suit, body parts, etc.

Some recommendations - Close by: Super Che (like a Mexican Walmart) on Boulevard Chahue is great for provisions, especially if you get one of VB's mini-fridges.
Elektra, sort of a cross between Best Buy and Ikea, sells tvs, cameras, sofas, mattresses, Italian scooters. However, waaay in the back of the store is an Azteca Banco where you can exchange your dolares for pesos. But it really, really helps if you know some Spanish, especially if you want change in small bills like vienties & cincuentas.
The village of Santa Cruz (about a 10-15 min walk from VB) has a large marina where you can book fishing & diving trips. In La Crucecita (maybe half hour walk or $3 taxi fare) is the Zocolo-town square, around which are restaurants, souvenir shops and a Catholic church who's inside & ceiling is beautifully painted.

Good news - talked with 3 Canadian ladies who said they've been coming to VB for 12 years and had never seen rain this time of year. Bad news - on Friday, our last day there; it rained, poured, I mean dumped down in buckets, like a cow 'peeing' on a flat rock as we say in the mid-west. So pack a $1 throw-away poncho. Adios amigos.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed in Villa Blanca during Christmas and New Year 2009-10 together with my family of four persons from Denmark.
When we arrived, we met with the very serviceminded and kind hotel manager, who speaks perfectly english. We had booked a junor suite – but my family got a master suite, because there was more room for our family - and no extra charges – Fantastic service.
Our suite on the 2nd floor towards the pool area, were two big rooms and the daily cleaning was excellent. We had a late night bus to San Christobal and we were allowed to stay in the room untill 9 PM for free.
Every day we enjoyed the nice breakfast buffet whit fresh smoothies, fruit and vegetables juice – fantastic with all vitamines. The young staff we wery polite and helped with everything. Our daugther expierenced holding an Iguana becauce of the nice staff. As we were travelling for a month, we had our clothes washed twice, very nice service and not expensive at all.

We enjoyed stayind at the pool, and the beach club (5 Min.walk away) at Chakua beach and trips to other fantastic beaches in the area. One day we rented a van with a driver from the hotel and we went to Pourto Angel, Muzante and the mangrove area at the sea (live crocodiles!). The driver was very helpfull and we had a nice day-trip. It is also possible to book various trips from the reception every day. Good service.

Next time we come to stay in Huatulco area we surely will stay in Villa Blanca again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeskeCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We arrived from Oaxaca as part of a post wedding trip of forty five. Reservations were made several months ealier by all of us and many were prepaid. When we arrived, they were six rooms short, and claimed that they had cancelled those reservations by email a couple of days before, and were therefore cleared of responsibility. Of course, we were at the wedding in Oaxaca by then, most not checking email and having no recourse anyway. They claimed it was Orbitz/Expedia etc, and I ended up in another hotel for the week, and still haven't sorted out the prepayment situation. The lack of english with front office staff made a bad situation completely frustrating. Their claims of international reservtion systems snafus were hollow since we had had someone from the office, fluent in spanish, call down a week before we left to reconfirm bookings. They never did get four rooms sorted out the entire week. When you can't rely on a prepaid booking, it is hard to know what to write.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Golfdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I arrived at this hotel after an 11 hour overnight bus ride from San Christobal around 0630 am. I had a reservation but the hotel was full that morning so of course there was no room immediately available for me but the staff was so nice, offered me a towel, the downstairs bathroom to change, and told me to get breakfast, make myself comfortable and to use the pool and ourdoor showers if I wished. By 10 am my room was ready. It was very large and comfortable, the only drawback was that it faced the street but that what was available at the time. The passing cars at night did not really bother me that much as long as the AC was on.
Breakfast is served buffet style and very good. The have a wonderful pool, a travel/tour desk which is usually staffed in the evening, and a computer for guests to use and free WiFi.
The hotel is 5 minutes walking distance to Chahue beach where there is the Chahue beach club which is free to the public and has a great restaurant plus 2 pools, one of which is an infinity pool. Across the street there is a bank, and around the corner a supermarket. The little town of Santa Cruz is within 15 minutes of walking. There are tour operators there plus a craft market with reasonable prices. Taxis can take you just about anywhere else. La Entrega Beach is great for snorkel and a short taxi drive away. You can rent snorkel gear plus lockers there, and there are also toilets there, showers and eateries.
If I come back here again, I would definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBirdSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I traveled with my husband, my sister and my inlaws. We wanted a clean, comfy hotel to relax after sightseeing and going to the beach.

Value for money is really good. We booked the holiday through the Mexicana website and got an excellent deal.

Rooms are spacious and clean, nicely kept. My husband missed having a balcony to sit on, since their balconies are more for standing, however, the living areas inside the larger rooms make up for this completely.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best for the price, good service, good food. Having beers by the pool proved a little challenging. They advertise beer from the barrel at 20 pesos, however, during the second day they ran out and never got any more back in. It also annoyed us that a lot of the guests were bringing their own beers from the supermarket and drinking it around the pool tables (not the extended terrace areas to the rooms). The hotel has a no-outside drinks policy that was definitely not enforced.

The first night, in a room close to ours, there was a big party going on with teenagers drinking in the corridor and loud music being played until late at night. We called reception to complain and they moved us to a quieter room the next morning.

I think this hotel is a victim of its own success and have let the standard go down a little.

The hotel is not by the beach, however, they lend you towels to go to the near by beach clubs. There are two beach clubs, one that belongs to the Hotel Castillo where they charge you 30 pesos if you are not staying at the hotel Castillo and another public one that is free. In both beach clubs, there aren't enough palapas or umbrellas to provide shade for all of their customers - get there early. The pools can be overrun with children if you go during the school holidays. Also, beware of jellyfish in the sea. There is a very competent lifeguard on duty while the beach clubs are open.

Both La Crucesita and Santa Cruz villages are walking distance from the hotel, and so is the SuperChe supermarket.

The airport taxis cost a fortune, but if you walk outside the airport you can find more affordable transport. Taxis from the hotels to the airport are a lot cheaper and a single well advertised fare applies.

Definitely try seafood around both towns, well worth it, fresh and nicely cooked.

Also, while in Huatulco, take the boat trip on the Catamaran to all the bays, very beautiful, lots of wildlife and natural beauty to see. Bring your own lunch, the restaurants where they take you haven't got such nice food.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This was our second year for staying at the Villa Blanca and again, three weeks was not long enough. We have stayed at other hotels in Huatulco, from the big box all-inclusives to the lesser known local hotels, but still find that the Villa Blanca is among the very best. So good, in fact, that we made reservations for January 2011 before we even finished our stay this year. The hotel is very clean and has great amenities including a nice pool, a decent bar/lounge, a very good restaurant, and above all, some of the best folks in Huatulco. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of hot water and efficient air conditioning. Laura and Hugo, the manager and assistant manager, have gone out of their way to make this the best hotel in Huatulco. Their enthusiasm and friendliness are contagious and all the staff seem to really enjoy their jobs, their co-workers, and the guests. It was so much fun to hang out with Lala, Jose, Oswald, Heberto, and all the others and practice our Spanish. We met the nicest people from Argentina, Canada, Puebla, DF, Jalisco, Vera Cruz, and Denmark during our stay. One night, La Original Banda de Limon even stayed at the hotel before they played a concert in La Crucecita. It was fun to watch the groupies try to get photos and autographs of their favorite musicians. On some Saturdays, local families get together at the pool for children's birthday parties. They have an absolute blast...eating, drinking, swimming, and breaking the pinata. You just can't get this kind of experience at most hotels and this is why we will keep coming back for many years to come. Thanks to Laura and Hugo, they have made the Villa Blanca feel like home to us. 335 days and counting until we return to our favorite home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulpoeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillablancaHuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villablanca Huatulco, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, our facilities are ideal for relaxation and our pool is an excellent example.

We hope you enjoyed our beautiful tourist destiny.Our staff they will be notified of their excellent comments.

We are waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Princess Mayev Hotel
Princess Mayev Hotel
#10 of 47 in Huatulco
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Binniguenda All Inclusive
Binniguenda All Inclusive
#5 of 47 in Huatulco
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villablanca Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villablanca Huatulco

Property: Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez | Esquina con Zapoteco Bahías de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villablanca Huatulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villablanca Huatulco has an atmosphere of rest with careful details of Mexican architecture and style that stand out in the Bay of Chahue. During your visit you will be provided with warm comfort to experience perfect relaxation during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villablanca Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Blanca Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Hotel Blanca Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing