We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort but where are the guests?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Hadas By Brisas
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent resort but where are the guests?”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My Wife and I spent a week at Las Hadas from February 14 to 21 and it was the nicest resort we have stayed at. Unfortunately a lack of guests meant there was no entertainment and the dining options were limited. I estimate there were less than 100 guests the week we stayed and the resort can hold between 500 and 600 people.

The resort overall and our room in particular were beautiful, clean, comfortable and well maintained. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable and everything worked as expected. We were very happy with the facilities and accommodations. This was the most comfortable all inclusive resort we have stayed at. It is not recommended for people with mobility issues as there are lots of stairs and or steep ramps.

The food was fresh and the restaurant service was good. Breakfast was only available buffet style at El Palmer or from room service. The breakfast buffet was typical fruit, cold cereal, bacon, sausage, Mexican specialties, pancakes, toast, pastries, and a grill where you could get eggs any style and omelettes. Lunch was available from El Oasis on the beach or the a-la-carte restaurant Los Delfines. El Oasis had hamburgers, hotdogs, french fries, fish, clubhouse sandwich, etc, all cooked fresh. Los Delfines is mostly seafood but chicken, pasta and beef are also available. 4 of the 7 nights the Legazpi restaurant was open otherwise the only evening meal option was Los Delfines. All of our evening meals, either at Legazpi or Los Delfines, were very good. The food was fresh and hot and the presentation was excellent. By Canadian standards we judge them to be not the kind of place you would rave about but someplace you would recommend to your friends and where you might return more than once. We preferred the a-la-carte dining at Las Hadas to the buffet dining at other all inclusive we have stayed at.

The pool was clean and the water was warm and with less than 100 guests there was no shortage of chairs. The beach was OK, nothing special.

Our only disappointment was the lack of entertainment. In previous years, at other all inclusive resorts, we have enjoyed the evening entertainment but because of the low number of guests there was no entertainment. Once the sun went down and you had dinner there was nothing else to do except drink, if that is your thing.

This was our first trip to the Manzanillo area and we found that tourism is not really a priority here. The tours we booked through Transat or Tlaloc were good but there was limited variety.

In summary, I think we would recommend other areas of Mexico over Manzanillo but if someone wanted to go to Manzanillo we would definitely recommend Las Hadas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    358
    175
    95
    75
See reviews for
373
379
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was my husband's and I first trip to Manzanillo and to Las Hadas. If you want relaxation and privacy, this is the place to go. Unfortunately, the hotel was only 30% full, so not all activities and restaurants were functioning fully. That being said, what was functioning was very good. The meals were excellent at this resort; the staff was always friendly and accomodating and you really can't beat the architecture and grounds of Las Hadas. If you want long, leisurely walks on a beach - then don't come here; small, but nice beach. Swimming area is great for snorkelling & kayaking, but not for boogie boarding. It's about a half hour walk to any shopping, so if you like alot of shopping, that's inconvenient. The golf course is amazing!!! Come with lots of balls if your aim isn't so good!!! Beautiful course!!
Would I go back? Probably not. But only because I know of other areas that I can get what I really want.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were a group of 9 Texas girls (one was from Seattle, one from Minnesota) who were celebrating a birthday at Las Hadas for a long weekend. We loved this hotel, staff and accommodations! The majestic beauty is everywhere from the grounds, the beach, the rooms, the view, the flowers. We all felt like beautiful princesses as we walked everywhere and felt 100% safe! There were no vendors on the private beach, however, the hotel did have some vendors set up their tables near the beach that you could shop. We all bought beautiful pearl necklaces! Our package included breakfast that was amazing! You could select fresh fruits, traditional mexican, make your own omelette. We even requested ice tea for breakfast with lots of ice and the waiters were so accommodating! Also included was the Beach Club Happy Hour daily from 5-6pm! Highly recommend this, it is located in an elevated area up from the beach that is shaded and provides a perfect end to a day at the beach. One day we ordered hamburgers, yes hamburgers and fries on the beach that were awesome!. The beach is protected and the hotel provides chairs and thick 8" mattresses to lie on the sand! Luxury! The staff was always around to drive you via golf cart if needed and meet your every need! Having traveled extensively in Mexico I think Manzanillo is one of my most favorites! We went to town every night to go to dinner and then dancing! We always felt safe.
Highly recommend Las Hadas! You will love it!

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 4th and 3rd floors and the views were absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morelos, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at Las Hadas on a very economical all-inclusive package from Canada. This hotel retains most of its elegance in its bones though today there are wrinkles. The property is physically challenging with lots of stairs and steep hills to climb to get to your room, to the beach, to the restaurants, to the lobby and reception. It is possible to call a "carro" ( a nuisance) and in the rainy season ( May to September) or in the recent very unusually wet weather, an umbrella or a plastic poncho would be useful to get to place to place without getting soaked. Also the stones of the paths and stairs can get dangerously slippy when wet.

Our room in the Brisas Club section was clean and comfortable, and supplied with two comfy bathrobes. It was a little disconcerting that the terrace could be easily accessed from outside because the barrier prickily bushes at the side were no more. I was glad I was not solo in this room. Better gardening upkeep is required! The attentive housekeepers saw that we had everything else that we needed. We TIPPED THE HOUSEKEEPER EVERY DAY as their shifts change and we had a succession of wonderfully energetic 'grandmothers' cleaning our room. Our room had a musty beach cottage smell at first, but open veranda windows and the fan going soon aired the room. The AC was efficient. All-inclusive guests have 4 Coronitas beer, 2 large and 2 small bottles of water and 2 packets of coffee in the fridge every day. Everything else in the minibar has a large charge! Prices are posted.

All-inclusive guests have to sign for drinks and meals.
Breakfast in the El Palmar buffet restaurant was very pleasant and service was good for coffee. Sometimes guests have to be assertive about asking for dishes that have run out of food! It was easy to get an omelette, but I wish the chef had used utensils instead of hands! Also often there was a taste of onion where there should not have been. Yuck.
Los Delfines is a lovely restaurant to eat lunch or dinner, but service can be erratic. If you are lucky to have him, Gaspar, el capitan/maitre d', is excellent, hard-working and charming and he gives good service. There, the seafood was delicious, the Mexican fiesta night most disappointing in both atmosphere and food, but the Italian night was surprisingly good and as authentic as one can get that far from Italy. House wine (Baja California Mexican wine) is free to AI guests but you pay a preminium for a bottle of your choice.
You have to book at Reception for the Legazpi Restaurant. The air conditioning there is enthusiastic, so the dress code of long pants and shoes for men (to match the dress-up style of their ladies!) is comfortable. Baggy surfer shorts, muscle man T-shirts with a large garnish of underarm hair, baseball caps and flip flops just don't draw appreciative looks.
For some reason the service at the Legazpi is extremely erratic. The servers are attentive but the food comes out sometimes VERY slowly. The pianist arrives at about 8 o'clock and gives a real "Casablanca" atmosphere to the restaurant. Tip him and he can play almost anything. There is dancing room for 2 to 4 couples depending on girth and dancing skill.


The lobby bar (also a place with great atmosphere) is open from 6 to 1 in the morning. Efrian and Jesus are talented charming barmen. We only used the Brisas Club bar once, but it also was elegant with good service from Serge/Sergio.

The beach area is sheltered and has few waves and is excellent for swimming and even snorkeling. Be careful of the 2 foot or less drop off. Though there are many large yachts moored close by it appears very clean. I imagine the Habour Master's office which is in the marina keeps a vigilent eye on things---unlike the beach in front of the Tesoro which bilge water often floats .... My only complaint is the lack of adequate shade. You can get the man at the towels to bring you a "colchon" which are wonderfully comfortable. TIP him. Maybe 20 pesos? There are kayaks, beach volley ball ( if you can make up teams) and table tennis in the beach area.We ate very good small lunches on the beach in the Oasis cafe.

Who do we recommend this hotel to?
NOT for (all-inclusive) families with children, because the time waiting for meals would be awful for kids and the atmosphere of the a la carte restaurants stiflingly boring for them.
The Las Hadas condos or a European Plan would be much better for families.
The 'Angelitos' toddler care area looks like a jail. I wouldn't put a dog in there.
But the beach is great for kids.
NOT for party animals or folk who like loud music.
NOT for people with knee or hip problems. But see my room comment.
If you are traveling alone, check the room first and size up how secure you feel.
Las Hadas is still a lovely hotel for honeymoons, anniversaries, relaxed entertain-yourself get-aways, golfers and essentailly, as it has been written on TA before for those who want a
quiet, classy visit to Mexico away from the over the top all-inclusive atmosphere.

lashadas@brisas.com.mx

I wish this had a spell check!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the building of the area of the Reception which have elevators and easier access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

las hadas is a large horizontal hotel, that makes you feel you are more in a villa that in a hotel, the staff is always helpful for all your requests. The beach is almost like a pool, with no waves, perfect for kids, and they will love that you can see small fishes year round. Get early to the beach area if you want to have a well located umbrella. The food at the beach cafe is average and prices are a little high, however the pina coladas are one of the best I've tried in particular the one serve inside a Pineapple. This hotel is old but it has constant mantainance, however you might see small details. As a interesting fact the movie "10" with Dudley Moore and beautiful Bo Derek was filmed in Las Hadas.

Room Tip: the closer to the beach, the best located, to avoid long walks to the restaurant and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patadperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

If you want party action and nightly entertainment...Stay elsewhere.
If you want a relaxing, laid back vacation in a picturesque, clean, friendly resort then don't hesitate.
It may be older but definately not tired, it's so clean and well kept and has so much character.
It could use loungers on the beach. The heavy molded "chairs" under canopies look classy but we need loungers aswell. You can get single beach beds that are comfy but flat, great for sleeping tho.
One more restaurant would have been nice, although the food was very good at both Delfines and Legazpi. The latter being the fancier of the 2 but Delfines is awesome in its own right. ( Try the Shrimp agua chile)
They usually have a Mexican rest. above the Brisas club pool but its numbers dependant and we were only at 25% occupancy. ( I think it was less and that was great too)
If you want to eat off the resort Try the Marina Grill at the end of the Las Hadas marina
Food is excellent, salsa made at your table. 4 people with wine cost 1200. pesos about $100.
I could go on and on but suffice it to say I'd go back in a heart beat.
Oh also if you want to walk into town walk up the beach towards the Karmina follow the path/road the borders the hotel and follow it around to the right, brings you to the main entrance road. You come out close to the Plaza, Walmart, Market etc.
Across and a little to the right from the Karmina entrance is the cheapest booze at a small liquor/beer store . And it is the cheapest... we checked.
That's it, go and enjoy, I told you so.
Ken & Karen
WPG.

Room Tip: Brisas club with or without plunge pool. We were room 216 with pool, private and faces the bay but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kenfromthepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Visited Las Hadas Jan. 30th to Feb. 5th 2012 with my wife and another couple. My wife and I are well travelled so I think we have a good idea of what is nice and not so nice. I was first at this resort in 1985 and have longed to go back. It was great back then and not much has changed. Yes it has had a bit of a facelift here and there but it has kept it's beauty and charm from yesterday as well. I prefer the ambiance of this older resort to many of the new ones that are like big boxes of mass production. It is mature and lush from years of care. The staff were all excellent. Our room was in the Brisas section and was very nice. Our friends room had a plunge pool but we both agreed it was not worth the upgrade as they didn't use the pool often. For someone else it might be great. Our room seemed to have more space in comparison. Maids did a wonderful job keeping our room spotless and when asked supplied extra towels etc... no problem. My friend did find out that not everything in your fridge is AI. Don't drink the shot bottles of booze or the chocolate bars because you will get charged extra for them...Expensive!!! Had no problems at any time getting service, chairs at pool or beach or anything else. Everything ran very smooth. No problem with toilets or AC. We prefer to let the ocean air in our room and hear the waves so our door to the outside balcony was left open. Not too hot to sleep and it was relaxing to hear the waves crashing on the beach in the distance. Room service was quick and the food was hot and good. I will say that we did spend more time at the private pool for the simple reason that we had it all to ourselves for the most part and that Serge was an awesome guy and bartender. It was nice to be able to sit and have a cold drink perfectly made and have some conversation with someone who knows the ins and outs of the resort as well as the surrounding area. Very much appreciated. I wished they had had some Crown Royal or Gibson's Rye but the Rum was a good second choice. Best Caesers anywhere and the beer was always really cold. It was a long weekend the last few days of our vacation and alot of locals came with their families but were mostly at the beach or big pool. Being at the adults only pool kept this pool and area quiet. We did have a nice converstion with a younger local couple one afternoon and enjoyed meeting them and finding out about where they were from and what they were up to. I think they enjoyed hearing our stories about what it is like at home and would like to visit Canada one day. We did spend time at the beach and big pool at different times during the week and enjoyed them equally. The beach was nice for swimming and seeing small fish. It was pretty cool to watch the baitfish schools jumping out of the water because of a bigger feeding fish below them right from your seat on the beach. The air mattresses were very comfortable but the chairs not so much. We found the food to be above average. The Italian restaurant was absolutely 5 star in both quisine, atmosphere and service. We dined there twice and all of us enjoyed our meals at both sittings. The marina and condos are new since I was last there as well as the restaurants and shops. It was nice to walk along the way to look at the boats or check out the shops either day or night. I booked a fishing charter online before leaving home with "Double Trouble" deep sea fishing charters. This awesome fishing boat has everything you could possibly need for a great day on the ocean. Sattelite radio, bathroom, sink, comfortable seating (especially the fighting chair) cold beer, pop, water etc.. Captain Fredy and First Mate Davey were very professional and spoke perfect English so no problems there. We did a six hour charter. We caught one nice Sailfish and saw a whale splashing about and some dolphins. Quite a thrill for my buddy to land that Sailfish as he had never caught one before. Always a hugh thrill to see those beautiful fish up close in the water and in the boat. We had great conversation about the fishing in the area, their families and all sorts of other stuff. I would highly recommend them. Just GOOGLE "Manzanillo Deep Sea Fishing" and you'll find their site. Remember that you are "fishing" and not "catching" so there is no guarantee that you are going to catch "the big one". You could probably catch small stuff all day long closer to shore but we decided to go big or go home. We also booked these guys for a sunset criuse that was awesome as well. We went for a two hour tour of the coastline and enjoyed a beautiful sunset after seeing some wonderful homes, resorts and rock configurations. Well worth the expence in both cases. All in all Las Hadas was a wonderful escape from the cold. It was very relaxing and quiet but there were things to do if you wanted to. We didn't golf but I know the course is great as I played it last time I was there. You drive buy some of the holes on your way in or you can walk to the 18th and have a look at that picturesque hole too. Clean spacious rooms, great food, great service, nice pools, nice beach, friendly staff, great fishing, great drinks, quiet, relaxing, charming smaller resort and sunny weather. Not much else is there? Would return in a heartbeat but still have have a few more destinations yet undiscovered. One last thing, dispite all the negativity regarding Mexico and some of the trouble that tourists have had down there you need to remember that this happens in our backyard everyday. You can be safe and it is very safe in this area. My neighbor was the guy who got clubbed in Mazatlan. I think he was just in the wrong place at the wrong time. It easily could have been the same situation in Toronto or any other city in Canada or the US. Wander around Detroit, Chicago, New York, etc... after dark and find out. At no time did we feel unsafe.You can take a resort operated shopping tour to town if you wish. Don't let a few isolated incidents stop you from enjoying this wonderful part of the world with it's culture, history, food, resorts, ocean, people etc... Too many good things about Mexico for us not to go there again. Enjoy your trip to Las Hadas. I know you will.

Room Tip: Brisas section is the place to be. Minutes to everything. Plunge pool is nice but not used enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CAWAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#8 of 53 in Manzanillo
125 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Hadas By Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Hadas By Brisas

Property: Las Hadas By Brisas
Address: Avenida Vista Hermosa s/n | Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Hadas By Brisas 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manzanillo resort and marina with accommodations and a variety of amenities. This hotel features wedding venues, a golf course, romantic dining and event space in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Hadas By Brisas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Hadas Golf Resort And Marina Hotel Manzanillo
Las Hadas Manzanillo
Las Hadas Mexico
Las Hadas Hotel And Marina
Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing