We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9th time here been returning since 1987”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Barrie Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“9th time here been returning since 1987”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Arrival:30 minute ride from the airport. Arrived at 12:00pm. In our room by 1:00pm. Smooth and quick check in.
Rooms: in the 100 section.Rooms are dated but for the amount of time you spend there no issue. Bedroom with separate bath and shower and TV. Sitting area with 2 days beds and flat screen TV. Kitchen area with fridge and table. Also another bathroom and shower in this area. Sliding doors to balcony 2 chairs and table. 2 bottles of water in the room that are not replaced daily just ask for more to be sent or get at the bar. You are close to the disco in the 100 section so you can here the music but its not overwhelming.All and all no issues with the room.

Pools: Very large family pool and smaller adult pool area with lounging beds and bar. Nice place to relax. Bartender Xavier at the adult pool very experienced and has very good English.

Staff: The nicest staff you will meet at any resort. Service is excellent. Remember to tip for good service 20 to 50 pesos. Entertainment staff and shows are typical of most resorts but the quality of the shows are better than most.

WiFi: Was free with our all inclusive package. Works in the main lobby. Was faster than I thought it would be. It is also at the main pool but signal is weak. Just ask for a password at the check in desk. My password worked for the whole week

Food: not 5 star but always something good to eat. One ala carte restaurant food was good and service good. Not open everyday. Book reservations in the morning

Activities: there is no shortage of activities. Zip line,tennis,volleyball,basketball,soccer,watersides ,paintball the list goes on and on

Summary: Had a great time. Resort is very busy on Friday ,Saturday and Sunday. It is a weekend getaway resort for the local people. I have been to 5 star resorts in many different locales and always end up back here, would return in a heart beat.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank BladeBarrieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    154
    149
    98
    117
See reviews for
312
87
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

First off let me say that we got a great deal online ($2400 for a family of four fm TO). The reviews we read were mixed but we were looking more for a relaxed family vacation then a 5 star luxury one. Are expectations were exceeded and we had a great time. There was plenty of things to do for the family (kids 7 yrs and 5 yrs old), we went ziplining, played tennis, waterslides, beach vollyball, watched the amazing shows ( and participated etc. There was paintball, skating, archery and much much more. There was more than enough to occupy us and the BEST thing was the Kids club -a self enclosed, safe, huge area where the kids could safely swim, make crafts and play which was supervised by very compentant staff. You could drop the kids off anytime between 9 - 5 and go to the adult only pool and relax then pick up your children two or more hours later and find them not wanting to leave.... oh yes and all the above was included in your resort for FREE!!!!! seriously can it get any better? The bartender at the adults only pool made the best vodka collins with fresh limes, Andrea from the front desk spoke amazing english which she learned in three months (can you imagine learning a language in three months?). Wendy the student Massage Therapist on the beach gave great value massages and I could go on!!! We swam, we ate, we played and we made the most of what we were given.
IF you are looking at negatives you will find them anywhere. Yes, the grounds and rooms were dated but they were clean and well stocked. YES they didn't have the "snack bar" open during the week but honestly if you came to eat your way through your whole vacation then go on a cruise. The food was plentiful but not crazy like a 5 star would be like...personally that ended up being a good thing because I didn't want to be tempted to overeat too much during this holiday. Any issues that I had were promptly taken care off (fridge didn't work - was replaced within 15 min of calling! A/C leaked).
Tips = Pay the extra and get the 2 bdrm villa. Bring Bandaids with you as they don't supply them in their firstaid kids (note to Hotel - seriously put them in). Get a room in the 200's - its near the pool and restaurants. Take the time to learn a few spanish words, we are in their country afterall and it would be ignorant of us to expect everyone to know our language. Mind you we had no problem with communicating and they did their best to accomodate us even in their shows (which were fab by the way). MY husband wished the beds were more comfortable and that the air conditioning was stronger but I found them fine. I would go again for that price in a heart beat. Beach was ok, waves could be an issue for the little kids - be mindful...could use more umbrellas and chairs as it was hard to get a seat but there was never a problem around the pool. If you are high maintenace don't go (no offense but lets be honest here) it is a 3 - 3.5 and worth every penny.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom Villa's so that a famly of 4 everyone gets a bed. The one bedroom might have a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at the Gran festivall Jan 30/12 to Feb 13/12.What attracted me to this resort was the low rate for single occupancy.I read some of the reviews here,and I was surprised with the divergence of opinion.They either loved it or hated it.Well I thought it was great.
It is a resort for the locals and I found that the Mexicans are very family oriented and i enjoyed watching them interact..
The foreign visitors that I met are mainly Canadian,and I found it strange that some of them travelled with US currency when Canadian currency is very widely accepted except of course for the loonie and tonnie: no bank will accept foreign coins
One of the bus boys asked me if I would buy $20.00 worth of Canadian coins.I gave him a 200 peso bill and he was very happy. I felt guilty because I gave him $16.00 in exchange. So don't tip with a loonie or toonie. The front desk will give you small change for the pesos you can obtain at the on site ATM .They also have 2 computers available,free.Just go to the front desk and ask for them to enter the password...BTW the @ symbol is "alt Q" or "alt 2".
They also have daily activities co-ordinated by the performers of the nightly entertainment,all of whom speak English,four of them couldn't speak Spanish. Because this resort is so huge ,they even have a bicycle tour of the grounds. The nightly entertainment is a "must see",very professional especially the Black Light show, Although a lot of it is in Spanish,most of it is mimed.
I thought the food was great,lots of variety with various theme days i.e.Chinese ,Italian International...the soup is always good, but I don't know what they do to their beef,,they must use a recipe from Wrigley's chewing gum.
There are many active tours available but if you prefer a leisure one,check out the mini van tour to the state capital,Colima.For 700 pesos each you will see ancient ruins and an active volcano.
When choosing a room,make sure you are as far away from the Night Club as possible. It's open till 4 AM on week ends and the rythmic "boom boom" may hamper your plans at sleeping.
i would visit this resort again with my grand kids,,,they would love it,

Room Tip: As far from the Disco as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from a vacation at the Gran Festivall ( Feb.13- 20th). We found the resort to be very huge with great potential. The staff were very friendly but the lack of English was a problem. Lupita the concierge was very helpful to solve any problems. The food was good and the waiters were good. Jaimie at the beach restaurant was exceptional. He does everything he can to make you enjoy your stay. The swimming pools were emaculate. All pools were so clean that you could clearly see the bottom, no matter where you were. The maid service was good, supplying clean towels etc. on a daily basis. The resort offers several activities (ie. waterslides, zip line, tennis courts etc.) Why do I only rate this resort average???
The resort is "tired" and needs a good sprucing up. The villas, although spacious need to be upgraded and the plumbing needs a great deal of work. In the week we were there, we had the toilet plug three times (not our doing). The resort needs to hire an activities director to co-ordinate activities and get things organized. Although the resort boasts of all the acitivities available there wasn't anyone to lead them. The waterslides need repair. As mentioned earlier there is a lack of English. It is very difficult to communicate with the front desk personnel. This resort has a lot to offer, unfortunately over the years the old ownership has let it deteriorate. Now it is up to the new ownership to upgrade it and hire the people who can take what is available (and there is lots) and help the guests to enjoy their vacation at the resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the villas "200" range receive noise from the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were at the Gran Festivall from January 31 to February 7. Our room had some issues,we told the concierge Lupita and she gave us a new room right any. It was very good. We went with our two children, ages five and eight. There is lots to do. Kids Club, waterslides, two kids pools, tennis, soccer, paint ball, a climbing wall, ping pong, swimming lessons and more. My kids also loved the beach, which has nice waves to play in . The staff were very friendly. We went to the Transat Holiday orientation which which was helpful because they made sure we had a schedule of all the activities. The schedule is also posted at the tower beside the main pool. Our room was cleaned thoroughly daily with plenty of fresh towels. The food was good, there was plenty of variety. The beach restarant was nice, great staff especially Jaime and Reuben. The only problem I had was that the trip was too short.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very dated resort in need of upgrading. Staff is very friendly but DO NOT speak English at all. All of the shows and entertainment are in Spanish only. Food has limited variety and is of poor quality. They only have one a la carte restaurant and you have to be at the front desk by 8am to book as it can only be booked the day of. Great beach if you don't mind a bit of a hike. Water slide is in rough shape and if you sit up while going down them you will come to a complete stop. Lol. It could be a decent resort if they spent 20 million on renovations. It is a two star at best. We have been to Mexico 7 times in the last 7 years and this by far was the most run down one we've stayed at. We called our travel agent in Winnipeg to help us get in contact with Transat in Mexico so we could move hotels for second week. We paid a lot more money to change hotels but it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrtherooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Worst vacation in Mexico ever....and we have been all over....this resort does not cater to tourists....no english...food awful....same thing everyday, just changed the sauces (very spicy)
Most of the activities for children were either closed or broken....No or very poor assistance by staff....due to language barrier....Our accomatation was terrible...dirty, moldy, and again...poor maid service...had to chase down towels daily....Resort does not look like web site...needs ALOT of work.......very disappointed...never again....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
3.8 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.4 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort

Property: Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort
Address: Km 12.5 Carretera Manzanillo, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort Manzanillo .. a beautiful property located at Miramar beach facing the blue waters of the Mexican Pacific. 32 acres of fun. An unique all inclusive experience. ALL INCLUSIVE• All meals buffet style plus optional a la carte dinner dining/domestic beer, wine & mixed drinks from 11 am-1am/4 restaurants (dress code applies)/4 bars. And beach club.• Entertainment/disco (adults only)/dance hall (children allowed)• 4 pools/children’s pool/adult pool/water slides/gym/archery/climbing wall/rappel/canopy/skating rink/ paint-ball area (paint-ball fee)• 10 tennis courts (6 lit)/non-motorized water sports/scuba & snorkeling lessons.• Children’s program (ages 4-12) Accommodations: One-bedroom villas have two twin beds or one queen bed and two studio beds, bathroom with shower only, living area and in-room safe for up to 4 people (including adults and children. Two-bedroom villas with two twin beds, one queen bed, two studio beds and two bathrooms are available. 514 Air-conditioned one and two-bedroom villas all with satellite TV and balcony or patio for up to 6 people including adults and children.Based on the Silver section, you will have the option to upgrade your accommodation:Silver section: It’s located upstairs, approximately 5 minutes away from all the Restaurants, Swimming Pools, Boutique and the main plaza. Gold section: Moderately closed to the Lobby, Restaurants, Basquetball and Volleyball courts. Platinum section: The best location right around the Restaurants and main Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Festivall All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Festivall All Inclusive Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Maeva Manzanillo
Resort All Inclusive Maeva Manzanillo
Club Maeva Manzanillo Mexico
Maeva Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing