We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Beautiful and peaceful location, convenient for bus and taxi service yet away from noise. Friendly and very helpful staff. Loved having the cooler stocked with pop & beer for self service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COKat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    73
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
59
97
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had some friends visiting and decided to spend a few days at the beach. Our friends had never been to Manzanillo before so we decided to go there. We have stayed at the Pink Posada before so that was our obvious choice. Great location and great staff. Close to everything on the Tourist zone. The weather was superb and sea very calm. We all had a great time. The rooms need a little work which they are now doing during the slow season so it should be back to full swing very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great little hotel right on the beach that is well run and very clean. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. A normal stay includes breakfast which was always tasty. You can hop a bus right outside of the hotel which will take you wherever you want go. I would recommend this place to anyone. And all those travel advisories that the US has posted about travel in Mexico? They don't apply here, we traveled by foot, taxi, and bus and never felt uncomfortable or in danger.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the main level and on the beach side. Sometimes when ships come into the adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel La Posada. It is a small hotel, very clean and comfortable. The staff and service was excellent also very friendly and helpful. It is also right on the beach and we were able to watch the ships come into port. Right across from the hotel is a bus stop and or you can have a taxi called by the staff. There was many wonderful places to eat with in blocks of the hotel. I forgot to mention that breakfast was included in with our stay, that was awesome! I was able to take the Discover Scuba diving class offered by the local dive shop, Aquatic Sports and Adventures, right at the pool. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a reasonable priced room in a smaller hotel environment. Loved it!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

La Posada is the perfect place for experiencing the true Mexican culture. The Mexican staff-Luz, Cristal, Rosa, and Monica go out of their way to make sure your visit is perfect. Juan is the owner and is always close by to offer suggestions of places to eat and visit. Every night you fall asleep to the sound of the surf and wake up to the blue of the ocean with the volcanic mountains in the distance. The fresh fruit, juice, coffee and breakfast foods are served in the open air sala. The other guests are friendly and many have come back year after year. The pool and the beach are extremely clean and quiet. It is like stepping back in time, when life was less hectic. It's a magical place...

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is our second stay at the Posada and again I have found the hotel very clean. The staff is very helpful and the owner, Juan, is around to help or answer any questions you may have.

Juan's assistant, Monica, who once lived in California and speaks English, works the afternoon shift. She, too, is very friendly and helpful.

Manzanillo is a small port city. The location of the Posada is perfect as everything is no more that 10 or 15 minutes away by car.

They allow dogs and for some this may be a turn off, but for me - I like it.

The beach was very clean and only steps from my room.

I'm looking forward to my return to the Posada.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilgrim45900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at the Hotel La Posada after I had been in Manzanillo on work. My company had rented an apartment from the manager and I soon realized that this is a perfect place for my wife and I to stay. The staff is very friendly and are willing to help you with you spanish. lol The food is very good and the fish tacos are to die for! The beach front and the sight are very nice here. The fishing in Manzanillo is very good too. We felt very secure in this area, often leaving our windows open in the room and car running to cool down the inside. This is a very nice area and I have no problem coming back. In fact we are already talking about coming back next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
3.9 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Property: Hotel La Posada
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas # 201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Posada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing