We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the 10th year @ La Posada”
Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Portland Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the 10th year @ La Posada”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I come here every November for a 2 week vacation to Hotel La Posada In Manzanillo, Colima Mexico. I have been here and done that so I can come here and relax. This is what a real vacation is. Relaxation with sun, warmth, pool and a very warm ocean. The state of Mexico is very safe and coastal town of Manzanillo is where all kinds of Americans come to relax. Canadian, USA and mexicans. It is not a touriust town and has the largest port in Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    73
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
59
97
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We found La Poasada by chance, but it turned out to be the best place to stay in Manzanillo.
Las Brisas is a quiet location away from the usual tourist tat.The street is wide and quiet.
A very safe and freindly area with local bars and restaurants. Buses and taxis are outside and both are cheap to go to the main town centre. The staff are great and freindly, the breakfast is abundant and the rooms spotless and comfortable. This is not a tourist 5 star resort but cannot be beaten for value and location.
The checkout was 1 pm and seamless we arrived at 10 in the morning and were able to leave our luggage for the short wait while the very accomodating staff readied our room.
I would recommend la posada to anyone looking for a layed back and relaxing stay on the beach in Manzanillo.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and had a small kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

La Posada Hotel was even better than what we EVER imagined! The hotel was not only homey and beautifully decorated-- it was so clean!! The staff and owners were so precious and kind. It was three families traveling and staying and everything was so fun! The pool and view of the ocean was breath-taking! We even had the special treat of seeing little manta rays swimming in the shallow of the ocean. Thank you for the memorable experience. We will surely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizag1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Based on many reviews, we made reservations at what is known commonly as The Pink Posada. It seems the owner and the staff made a great impression on them all. Yes, they are nice enough, but we arrived about noon and our room was not yet vacated (11 a.m. was check out time). They left 30 minutes later and we were told it would be cleaned immediately. Three hours later it was ready. The room was clean enough, except the white brick walls which hadn't been dusted for a few years. We were given a "special" room with kitchenette since it was our anniversary and which, since it was our anniversary, we didn't use the facilities. We did have a balcony with a view of the rooftop. These are all minor complaints; my main one was the included breakfast. We were given a choice of eggs anyway we wanted or pancakes or French toast. The first morning I ordered huevos rancheros which had no toritillas underneath them and no ranchero sauce on top. So, okay, fried eggs. No refried beans or papas. Included was a "fruit plate" with a bite of pineapple and two bites of papaya. No fresh squeezed orange juice. The next morning I tried a omelet. Not fluffy and with no filling. There was only plain toast or French toast; no tortillas or hot toasted bolillos. The third morning we went out for a delicious Mexican breakfast. Wished we'd done that to begin with.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliceinAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

La Posada Hotel is quite a gem! Located right on the beach, this hotel has an amazingly friendly staff, beach-front pool, and all the right amenities! The price is great, and the staff is very helpful in getting you around since it's not located on the main strip. The atmosphere is very relaxing and fun! The even have on-location massages now for as cheap as 100 pesos.

I stayed in a 2 bed room with a friend. It's a perfect size, with comfy beds and good water pressure in the shower! The breakfasts were simple but fresh. There were small kinks here and there, but nothing serious and the staff was eager to fix what little problems there were.

I recommend going to hotel next door because they have a great buffet during the day that includes 3 beverages for a very good price. We also got there internet password because there signal was stronger than here at La Posada.

I can't stress to you all how friendly and kind the staff is. The price is great and I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Beautiful and peaceful location, convenient for bus and taxi service yet away from noise. Friendly and very helpful staff. Loved having the cooler stocked with pop & beer for self service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COKat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had some friends visiting and decided to spend a few days at the beach. Our friends had never been to Manzanillo before so we decided to go there. We have stayed at the Pink Posada before so that was our obvious choice. Great location and great staff. Close to everything on the Tourist zone. The weather was superb and sea very calm. We all had a great time. The rooms need a little work which they are now doing during the slow season so it should be back to full swing very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
3.9 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Property: Hotel La Posada
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas # 201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Posada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing