We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome beachfront!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Etzatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome beachfront!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here with friends and look forward to many more times. Only a few feet from an awesome sandy beach, beautiful sunsets, nice pool. Loved watching the freighter ships come in and out as this is a main shipping port in Mexico. The breakfasts are great (included) as well as lunch if you ask before 3 pm. Owner Juan was able to fit us in a day before we were scheduled to arrive and all was great. My bed was hard but I hear they are getting new mattresses; my friends beds were fine.
Bus goes by but a couple restaurants are within distance and may other good ones on the main road. Loved visiting the iguana preserve again; they are green and orange awesome monsters!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottinggranny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    73
    14
    14
    14
See reviews for
59
95
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coastal California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Not quite sure what all the trip advisor fuss is about this property, where we stayed 3 nights in Nov 2013. The Las Brisas area has, to quote Alexander McCall Smith, a sense of reduced circumstances about it. The property is located at the end of Las Brisas near the sea entrance of the port. I loved watching the container ships being towed into the port of Manzanillo and seeing the fishing vessels; others may want a more idyllic beachfront setting, so should not choose this location. The hotel serves a decent breakfast (included with our rate) and has a few lunch offerings, but after 2:30 you are on your own food-wise. The closest restaurants are a 15-20 minute walk away, which we were glad to make down a well-lit boulevard. However individuals who don’t wish to walk that far will need to take a taxi for food service. There is not much to do at the property which has basic rooms, decent beach and smallish pool. Internet service erratic. I get the vibe of a small independent hotel in Pacific Beach (California) in part because the clientele were mostly Americans, some ex-patriates from inland Mexico wanting a break at the seashore, of a certain quirkiness. Check in didn’t happen until hotel day 2, due to the inexperience of a new front desk employee. However a day before planned departure, surly innkeeper was wondering why we were still there. We had paid cash for three nights and had many confirmatory e-mails with hotel management about our length of stay. It wasn’t our obligation to present him with all those emails and our receipts, but that’s what he petulantly required. Eventually I received a weak “I’m sorry for the misunderstanding” from him. Logistics and hospitality do not appear to be the hotel’s strong suits, so be forewarned. We do appreciate that the hotel linked us up with DaniTours with whom we enjoyed a great ATV trip. Despite that benefit, we do not plan to return to Hotel La Posada in Las Brisas

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrStroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I can’t ‘begin to express my appreciation and fortune finding this little gem of a place. Right from the moment I arrived everything suddenly became calm. Juan Carlos greeted me and not only fit me in but made my stay one of relaxation and renewal. As a woman traveling alone I was very impressed with this city as I never felt tense or in any sign of danger. Darkness doesn’t stop people from going for their morning and evening daily walks, and I fit right in. It is very peaceful and serine. Unlike most of Manzanillo this side of town has a level terrain so you are right on the beach and don’t have to hike up a million stairs to get back to your resort! The staff at La Posada are friendly, warm and helpful. This small hotel has a unique charm to it. As I watched guests come and go I could see the close bonds forming and old friendships renewed. If you are looking for a 5 star gilts and glamour resort where you are just a number, keep looking. But if you want to kick back, relax and enjoy the gentle breezes by the pool or on the beach then this is the best spot in town! I can’t wait to go back, relax, and see all the smiling faces :)

Room Tip: All rooms are very unique so if you get a chance have a peek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manager540546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in the Hotel La Posada in September this year. The rooms were very clean, the service outstanding. My daughter forgot her purse with money in it and we could pick it up the next day. So very honest and personal attendance. It is located at one of the mayor highways driving into Manzanillo but as it is at the end of the highway in a cul-de-sac there is no noise whatsoever except for the gentle noise of the waves!

We really can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Weekend get away for some sun, surf and sand. Juan and his staff provided a relaxing time in Manzanillo, all was quiet on the beaches and town, just what was needed to relax and soak up the sun. The rooms where clean, the staff efficient, and breakfast fresh and filling.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I live about 5 hours away and have heard great reviews about this hotel, and about the great service provided by the staff and the owner, Juan. Mr. Garmin directed me right to the front door and the vacation began immediately. The rooms are functional and have all the comforts one normally needs. The view of the ocean from the room was nothing but spectacular. The water is deep blue and the sound of the waves at night are so relaxing. The breakfasts are included and are a great way to begin the day, after a walk on the beach of course. The pool is well maintained and a wonderful place to relax at and spend the day. The city is a short drive (or bus/taxi ride) away. Several good restaurants are available to choose from so there is never a shortage of fine dining. There is a large super market (Soriana's) in town that has everything you could possible need (or replace if you forget to bring). Hotel has all the comforts and conveniences without the hustle and bustle found in large hotels. The staff is outstanding and the owner, Juan, is a wealth of knowledge about the area. Oh, English is spoken by most employees so communicating is not issue. This is a 'will return soon' for me.

Room Tip: If you want daily maid service, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler9485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This charming, small hotel is situated right on the sandy Pacific beach. All rooms have a terrific view, some with balconies. There is a very nice pool, a dining room that serves a fantastic breakfast and sandwiches at lunch, The breakfast, which comes with the price of your room, consists of pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast, juice, cereal, fruit, coffee---any of it or all of it. Although dinner is not served, and there are no restaurants nearby, there are a couple of hotels next door that serve all meals, one has a rather lavish buffet. A local bus stops across the street from the hotel and can get you to the town of Manzanillo for about fifty cents in about 15 minutes. The taxi costs about $7. I am sure that we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
3.9 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
240 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#16 of 53 in Manzanillo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Property: Hotel La Posada
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas # 201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Posada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing