We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back to La Posada in a heartbeat!”
Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We just got back from 11 days at Hotel La Posada and we can see why they have so many repeat customers. We didn't want to stay in a big resort and found Hotel La Posada on the Internet. It looked like fun - all bright pink and right on the beach, and at $58 U.S. a night, it was half what we usually pay for a hotel room.
As others have said, the staff members, most of whom have been there decades, are terrific. Juan, the owner, is a hands-on kind of guy and made sure we had everything we needed. He literally went the extra mile and filled in when a guide didn't show up to take us a tour. The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were standard American-style dishes, and the location is right on the beach.
After a few days of getting used to things (like a fan in our room we called "Senor Frog"), we fell into a pattern of swimming in the ocean right in front of the hotel, taking a dip in the pool, reading our books in the fabulous great room or in beach chairs looking out at the ocean, and talking to the other guests. It makes a big difference when there's no TV. It creates community.
We used public buses or cabs to get around and found Manzanillo to be a safe and fun place to visit. It's not 100% focused on tourism so that made it interesting as well. We were lucky to be there for the Revolution Day parade, which was terrific.
If you want a great (and cheap) vacation in a balmy climate in a bright pink B&B with terrific staff, then contact Hotel La Posada.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneauBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2009

We just returned from a 7 day stay at La Posada Rosa in Manzanillo, Mexico and it was wonderful. Not only does the Posada and its staff take you away to a laid back and relaxing atmosphere, but we found the city of Manzanillo to be clean, full of wonderful restaurants, beautiful beaches, and friendly welcoming people.

La Posada Rosa, located on the Manzanillo Bay, offers views of the nearby harbor and it’s many large ships coming and going, softly rolling waves, fishermen out in their boats, joggers on the beach, rugged mountains in the distance, sun loungers and umbrellas as well as tables and chairs around a lovely pool, and gentle breezes straight off the ocean.

We asked for ground floor rooms with air conditioning as three couples were traveling together, we were pleased to see that all three rooms were together offering views of the pool and the ocean as well. Everything was easy access without stairs. We actually felt free not having a TV or a phone. (there is a small Internet Café on the premises if you feel the need)

We can’t say enough about the owners and staff of the Pink Posada as they were very accommodating, informative and gracious. Our rooms were basic but very clean and the breakfast served every morning was delicious. (they offer a lunch menu as well) I can’t forget to mention that the Price is Right! You may want to check out their Web Site at http://www.hotel-la-posada.info/ for photos, prices and discounts.

We live in Mexico as full time residents and still found Manzanillo and the Pink Posada to be a breath of fresh air and a true vacation from our retirement. Don’t be afraid of the flu or crime as reported by the media. Come on down to beautiful sunny Mexico and ‘really RELAX’!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shmex244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We visit La Posada several times a year and have never been disappointed. Juan, the owner, is warm and attentive. The staff are a delight and always pleased to see us return. The breakfasts are good. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then this might not be the place for you, but if you want somewhere warm and charming, then come and try it out.

We really enjoy watching the container ships come and go, the fishermen throw out their nets and the sea birds flying by. A great place to just hang out, visit with other guests, read a book from the little library and enjoy a margarita made by the charming Monica. Our thanks to all the staff for making our visits so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sancarlos564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Hello, I promised to write and Oh well I am a little late but didn't want to let this slip any longer.
We were pleasently surprised by our choice of hotel. Loved the flavour,the music, in otherwords the real" Mexican experience. "
We walked at night and caught the local buses into town or for dinner. On our way we found a great bakery and a few great little restaurants.
The breakfasts wer e really good, the pool very nice and the honour system for drinks and internet was unique.
English spoken if needed.
If you just wqnt to relax and enjoy all that is Mexican ,this is the place.
Thankyou to all Pauline and Alan B.C.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravellers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Once again we enjoyed this small and charming hotel. Yes the rooms are basic, there is no marble lobby, and no crystal lighting fixtures. It is an older, quaint, BARGAIN.

The employees always wear a smile. Monica will mix you a drink, and you can enjoy the sunset over the Pacific, from their "great room".

The beach out front is clean and safe, with easy swimming and small waves. And the swimming pool is not full of teenagers, or screaming toddlers.

Please visit them.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredinMexico2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This small B&B hotel (about 20 rooms) is right on a long curving beach with low rise hotels and condos stretching off into the distance. No high rise, no "Miami Beach clone" resorts for miles. A quiet and safe location. Other more remote beaches are easily accessible by car, About 100 yards away is a stone jetty with schools of brilliant tropical fish, great for snorkeling right from the beach. Watch local fishermen pull in their nets on the beach right in front. The rooms are comfortable, some with AC, although you rarely need it on this temperate breezy coast. The free breakfasts are lavish. The great room opens to the pool and beach beyond, and provides free coffee for early risers. It also offers lunches, afternoon bar, books, and comfortable sofas and chairs and tables for enjoying the view in the company of friends and fellow guests. The kitchen cooler provides endless cold drinks on the honor system
Nearby activities include golf, fishing, snorkeling and scuba, shopping, and tours to many places of interest including the interior forests and the Colima volcano. Many good restaurants nearby. The center of town is a few minutes by taxi and offers many shopping opportunities in a small-town setting. This is our favorite Mexican get-away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mago17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The Hotel La Posada is a great place to stay when visiting Manzanillo. We have traveled extensively throughout Mexico and in fact stayed at La Posada twice last year. I've found everything that they advertise to be very accurate. They do not claim to be a 5 star hotel so of course you will not have those types of ammenities. However, if you are looking for an inexpensive hotel, with fantastic, friendly and helpful staff/owner this is the place to stay.

First off, where else can you stay directly on the beach for such a price? The rooms are extremely clean, hot water always and a fantastic view of the ocean. The other reviewer is correct - no TV's, internet unreliable but hey if you want to get away from it all and just relax check this place out. The informal and welcoming atmosphere is tremendous. Breakfast is offered, cooked to order, every morning and is very good.

In terms of hospitality I must relay what happened on my last two visits there. There is coffee and tea offered every morning and not sure of the time they advertise, I believe starting at 7AM. Well I am an extremely early riser and love/need my coffee. The first day I came downstairs around 5AM. The nightwatchman acknowledged me, he didn't speak any English and I very little Spanish. He saw I wanted coffee and so he started to prepare it. For the next two weeks, he had coffee made by 5 or 5:30AM. On our return trip he remembered and began the early coffee service again. Now, this is something small but how fantastic and hospitable! This is the kind of place it is even if it doesn't have wi-fi and HD in the rooms.

Throughout our travels we have stayed at 5 star, economy and everything in between. Not requiring amenties, but regarding cleanliness and hospitality it gets a 5 star rating in my book.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 52 in Manzanillo
123 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
248 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
6.0 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#23 of 52 in Manzanillo
124 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas # 201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £37 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Posada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing