We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Real Complaints”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Perfect budget winter getaway through Transat Vacations. Great beachfront location. Excellent staff. Housekeeping spotless. Liked the food but got tired of the Mexican style cooking toward the end. Really enjoyed exploring Manzanillo and Transat's local onsite tour operators also provide excellent outings. I went on the shopping trip to Barra De Navidad, the turtle tour, and the day trip to Guadalajara. The different tour guides on each trip were all excellent.

it is an older property and there were some maintenance issues. Had a leak in the room outside bathroom door but maintenance came within 10 minutes of me reporting it and had it fixed within half an hour or so. it had something to do with the air conditioning. For two days our floors were totally shut off from water between 10 a.m. amd 5 p.m. while they were working on the boilers and on the third day there was no hot water. No big inconvenience as the front desk offered to provide shower services elsewhere if required.

The one suggestion I would have for management is to get the call buttons for the elevators replaced immediately. Many of them are broken and cracked and for a very small cost they could greatly improve the overall appearnce of things.

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Can't say the same about the air carrier, Canjet. Older plane, cramped uncomfortable seating and questionable hygiene levels on board.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views and avoid the poolside music entertainment noise. I was in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arthur Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

We just returned from the Tesoro last night. The hotel was built in the 90's but is generally in good shape. Our room was clean, bug free and had a very comfortable king sized bed. We were on the 3rd floor - 308 - overlooking the kids pool. We had a great view of the bay, the pools, and the beach. We could either walk down the stairs to the pool area or walk back to the elevator and take it down. We found the entire place to be wheelchair friendly ( even though we personally didn't have one ) and the staff to be very friendly and helpful - especially Juan Carlos - our favorite waiter. The buffets were generally good - not used to seeing chicken or pork stew at breakfast time - and never did see bacon ( except in an omelette ). By the way breakfast got to be a whole lot better after discovering the Omelette Bar. Even with a language barrier the chef could understand what you wanted. He also did any style of eggs - fresh - if you knew how to ask for them. The Adobe Restaurant is the a la carte restaurant - I think they just change what they cook - one night it's Mexican? and one night it's Italian. Had the best Fettucinne ever the first night we were there. Tamarind Ribs were also very tasty. Make sure you see Guest Services to book - its worth it. Apparently there is a deluxe menu that has lobster on it for an extra charge but we never saw it. The entertainment staff are terrific - they are on the go all the time - they take care of the kids at the pool - put on a nightly show and are in charge of the disco too. (Disco goes from 11pm to 1am. and is usually in the buffet restaurant). Noise levels weren't too bad - day or night. You expect a little noise considering you're facing the pools. We were the first tour group from Canada this year and the people were really great - even the people selling stuff at the flea markets weren't PUSHY!! They didn't BUG you - if you talked to them first then they would try to sell to you. There were jewellery tables in the resort too ( if you were interested) but they were low key on the sales. Never got bugged about ANY time shares - not once!! Even on our tours! It was awesome!! There is a Walmart a few blocks from the resort (50 pesos cab fare),a Dairy Queen, A KFC, Sub way, Dominos pizza and more American stuff coming . There are also 2 Casinos. We went on 4 of the offered tours - the city tour, the Eco tour, the Colima tour and the Sunset Cruise. All were fun and informative and relatively cheap. Again all the people involved were great. The weather was warm, humid with a nice gentle breeze. Beverages-. water is all bottled and safe. Only complaint I heard was there is no rye whiskey at the resort or in the Walmart. I found Gingerale and Clamato juice at the Walmart. They have a good selection of bar drinks at the resort, and house wines.We would definately go back to Manzanillo - liked it WAY more than our trip to the East side.Sunsets are really great - make sure you take your camera!

Room Tip: We faced the pool area - great pictures from the balcony. King sized bed in 308. Clean and bug free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel very clean and nice beach not too much variety on the buffet but the food is good (you can eat all day long if you like or get drunk with the 3 or 4 bars) the rooms have a/c and a very beauty full view.
Totally recomended for family trips

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ivanov007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Tesoro Manzanillo August 18-25, 2012. We paid for 2 "Mountain View" rooms directly thru the hotel's website and when we arrived the hotel was only at 50% capacity due to the rainy season so they checked us in to rooms 309 and 310, the lower building that overlooks the pool, beach, and ocean view in front, and the tennis court in back.

To our family, the location of the hotel could not be beat. It was perfectly central to every activity we had. It is a short walk to a 24 hour mini-mart (Kiosko) for snacks and treats, and being right on the beach in it's own cove was fantastic!

We took a taxi north to Santiago bay a couple times for roughly $7 usd each way, and walked down the hill to the main road and took a public bus south to El Centro and the Malecon for about $0.60 each (one way)! We also took a taxi to the first class bus station (for a day trip to Colima) for about $7.

It is obvious this is an older hotel, but you can tell they did their best to keep it as clean as they could considering many years of use. The rooms had a faint musty smell when you first walk in, but being that the climate is so humid and you are RIGHT on the beach what do you expect? It was nothing that would be a deal-breaker. The rooms we had were tile floors and the decor was updated not too long ago. The bed linens were thin but soft, and clean. The mattresses were on the firm side, but cozy, not like concrete. We had no issues with bugs or dirt in the rooms, altho there was a bit of mold on the sheer part of the curtains (I don't know how they could prevent this with the humidity, so, oh well!) The bathrooms were outdated but functional, the sink would not turn off completely all week and had a constant trickle of water, we got used to it and didn't notice it over the sound of the waves right outside our sliding door! The shower stream was just fine, and had no trouble with too hot/too cold. There was a mini-fridge which was stocked daily with 2 waters and 2 sodas. TV, hairdryer, table, 2 chairs, and the tv hutch which also tripled as a dresser and storage for the fridge. There was a decent sized closet to hang clothes, and a digital safe that was large enough to hold things like a DSLR camera (for example) and plenty of other items.

There was one main buffet, a palapa that served as a lunch restaurant, an a la cart restaurant, and the showroom that doubled as a dinner theater room.

The main buffet was where breakfast was available, great choices and also an omelet station! The food was great at breakfast. Lunch was sometimes in the palapa, and sometimes just outside the buffet area. Lunch was the same every day, hamburgers, hot dogs, chips with cheese/bean dip, and fries. It was our least favorite meal of the day. There was no snack bar during the hours lunch was closed and dinner was open, so one day we missed out on eating lunch when we didn't get out of the pool in time. Dinner at the buffet was good 2 of 3 nights we ate there, dinner at the dinner theater was good 1 out of 2 nights we ate there, and dinner was EXCELLENT both nights we ate at the a la cart restaurant (Italian and Mexican nights.)

The beach was awesome, the waves were very swimmable and my husband and 13 yr old daughter got some great snorkeling done! Both kids had fun body surfing and playing in the waves. We didn't see a single jellyfish all week.

The pool was great but overcrowded most of mid-week, at full capacity I don't know how the one pool would have been enough. The water was not quite cool enough for my taste, but it is being heated by the sun all day so there really isn't anything you can complain about. We did the water aerobics and had so much fun! The staff was great at pool entertainment. They do play ery loud music most of the day, and the music was mostly mid-90's American top-40, and a mix of unknown (to us) Mexican/Spanish dance music.. We brought our own iPod and speakers but the music was so loud we didn't use ours much. We observed the pool being cleaned early every single morning, the only part that was neglected was around the pool bar under the edge of the table part, which had quite a bit of black slimy mold in the grout of the tiles.

Drinks- we ended up drinking beer most of the week because the blended and mixed drinks were not very good. This would probably be my one complaint of the hotel. I tried many different drinks thru the week trying to find one that would be better, and I think it was a combination of issues that made the drinks under par. The soda is very watery so any drinks mixed with lemon-lime or cola were awful. Any drink that used kahlua/cream were poured from a gallon jug that was pre-mixed. Sometimes you could get "top shelf" liquor like Bacardi, but the best vodka I saw available was Smirnoff, and only in the Lobby Bar. Either way, the beer (Sol) was good, cold, and plentiful, and we enjoyed it con limon, and mixed in Ojo Rojo's... YUM!

Elevators and stairs, we used a combo of both all week long and never had issues with either. The stairways do not have railings, if that is important to you, and even the ground floor rooms have some steps down to the pool area. There is no beach access any way other than down sets of stairs (that we could find.) We never had trouble finding pool loungers, and the towels were nice and big.

Overall we had an amazing week and a wonderful experience at Tesoro Manzanillo, and we can't wait to visit again someday!

I think I've covered just about everything, but if you have any questions, please feel free to message me here!

Room Tip: Floors 1-5 are all pool/ocean view! Rooms 309 and 310 are perfect and close to stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MrsThatsMyJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Excellent value , incredible service , delicious food , great entertainment !!! I honestly recommend it . The staff is very friendly and the hotel has several amenities . I was there very close to Christmas and the staff was having their Christmas party and me and my friend were cordially invited !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maribela_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Before is seletected this hotel I confirmed if this was optional AI hotel and was was told it was, so i opt for no AI. Well after traveling two days and arriving to the Hotel. I was told it was mandatory AI. Since we were not prepared we only stood 4 days instead of 7 days. I counted everyday down before we left. That said, Here is my take on the hotel. I would never recommend this hotel, it very run down, broken tiles, fixtures, half hangin curtains, but clean. Pool water was brownish at best. The only prostive was pool staff entertained every day all day. This is not a two star hotel. I made the best of it, the Al food was the same everyday, fish, fish soup, white rice with vegal, smashed beans, chicken mess, just to name a few. Then the left overs which are not used are made into other dishes for lunch or breakfast and dinner the next day. There to two elevators which sometime work, beware. I travel at least 5 times a year to mexico and recommend areas and hotels. This Hotel and Manzanillo will not be recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EQtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Me and my family stayed at this Hotel for 1 night, it was recommended to us because of the all inclusive, we got there after lunch time and at the check in point we were told that if we did not have reservation they would credit us a little bit for missing lunch... We enjoyed our stay, they have several activities for adults and kids, the night show is okay, their food and variety is good and service is also very good.

Room Tip: All of their rooms are ocean view, I noticed the king size bedrooms are in a different side from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolis-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#25 of 52 in Manzanillo
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 52 in Manzanillo
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
128 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £97 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing