We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean with excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very clean with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went for a week for 349.00, the deal was tremendous!
The positive:
Fresh painted building, quite well maintained.
Service was fantastic & quick, always got a Ola!. You were treated like one of the families there. We got a taste of real Mexican food (absolutely loved it) & ambiance as any from Canada/USA were the minority.
No pushy, pushy vendors.
Take the city tour, (25.00 US) arranged by Miguel. Loved the downtown area but only had 45 min. We would have preferred more time downtown & cutting out the flea market time. Our van lost its air conditioning & that was brutal. It was 32 everyday with no breeze. We visited an Iguana farm too & stopped at the Magnetic Hill & the van moved by itself. Neat!

A bit negative:
I tried to get a room in the newer 17 floor tower but had 1 facing the pool--it got all the noise. (eg disco in Palapa to our rt & a wedding till 1am Sat night). It did have a bit of a smell when you first walked in but soon disappeared.--very very clean room.
It was a Mexican holiday week so it was loaded with beautiful Mexican families & lots of kids with water guns. If you want quiet, probably go somewhere else.
Drinks were weaker, only 1 bar open at 1 time, either by the pool till 6pm or in the lobby.
2 a la carte restaurants were really good.
Beds were incredibly great, they forgot to get new pillows though in our room.
Easy to phone home, buy a phone card, dial 011 to get out

Room Tip: We were in 313, try not to be in 1 directly by pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dgcapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    438
    288
    158
    126
See reviews for
483
335
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
medicine hat
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just got back from a two week stay at the Tesoro and it exceeded my expectations. Do not go to this hotel and expect it to be five star or you will be disappointed.
Plus:
Food, was actually pretty good and the alacarts were also pretty good but not the big selection you would get in a higher end hotel.
all rooms have ocean view
good mattresses on king beds
great beach , something other hotels don't have
service was great throughout hotel starting with Miguel who will book your tours, Brisa one of the entertainers, Tanya at the check in and Veronica who will book alacarts. All the waiters in the restaurants were very friendly. Sometime there is a language barrier but we are guests in their country.
Rooms had an incredible view as had a suite and was well worth it.
Entertainment, something other hotels don't have.
Lots of chairs by the pool.
Weather was fantastic , not a bad five minutes in two weeks,
Some of the negatives were that it needed an upgrade on some tile work in the hallways and in the rooms.
The resort did not have many tourists from Canada so they sold day passes to the locals which could comprise 75% of the the customers.
Manzanillo is a very beautiful place and very lush for Mexico. Water temperature was about 29C in the ocean.
I talked to people that stayed in other hotels here and I was glad we stayed at the Tesoro as the beach was definitely a big plus along with all the ocean view rooms. Guests at other hotels said they had hardly any beach at all.
I would definitely go back to the Tesoro.

Room Tip: Book the suite if you can, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MedicineHatThehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

They are really good to charge you the reservation but INCREDIBLE BAD GIVING YOU THE SERVICE. They have to improve the customer service. They are not able to help you even when you ask for support. That's a pitty

Room Tip: To improve the service to the customer. They ask for payment in advance but you have to wait a lot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. On check-in both times we were given a room with a musty smell that got worse as the A/C was on. (not as bad with A/C off). When we complained to the front desk this time we were told the hotel was 100% booked (long weekend in Mexico) but on Monday we were offered a different room in what seems like a newer part of the hotel. There was no smell and the A/C was on and very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area and beach were crowded the first couple days because of the Mexican holiday but it only caused a bit of a wait for a table at breakfast and a search for a lounge in the shade. The entertainment was lively with extravagant costumes but very LOUD. Earplugs helped. The beach was clean and quiet after the weekend. The water in the pool and the ocean was warm but not too warm - just right for cooling off.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered above _25 seem less likely to have musty smell.(e.g. we had room 543 and it was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor M, Director General at Tesoro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest in the name of Tesoro Manzanillo people we appreciate the time to share your experience, is important have feedback of our guest comments in order to improve our services, we are glad that the Tesoro Manzanillo People makes you feel at home.

We look forward can serve you again.

atte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for a week in February of 2013. The hotel was nice and well kept for a 3-4 star. We stayed up on the 14th Floor and had a gorgeous view. The food was probably the worst part of the hotel, but from time to time that was even good. The staff was great and the entertainment was great. One draw back on the booze was that they didn't have Corona, but I developed a liking for Tecate. The other beer they had there was Sol. Which is okay. The rum was great. I'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrentDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor M, Director General at Tesoro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest in the name of Tesoro Manzanillo people we appreciate the time to share your experience, is important have feedback of our guest comments in order to improve our services, we are glad that the amazing sunsets from our Rooms and the beautiful view makes your stay memorable, Tesoro Manzanillo have a New Food & Beverages director and a new chef that improved the selection of our Menus and the Restaurants a la carte are nice change from the Buffet, we also have new elevators that give better service and we upgrade our nice almost private beach set up, we are looking for have the chance to serve you again.

atte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Most features of the resort fell in the pretty good category. It is a must to head to this resort with realistic expectations which we did. The facilities are older and some not-so-well maintained but just about everything was very clean. I never went hungry and the food didn't bother my stomach (not much does) however my wife felt not so good after a few meals.

LOTS of kids everywhere......

Beware that many features come with a daily charge such as wifi and use of the in-room safes.

The views were one feature that was definitely very good, my favorite part of the resort.

The least attractive part of this hotel was the attitude of the guests and some employees. We stayed for 6 days and I will be honest we were very ready to leave after being stared at and given dirty looks by about 75% of the guests and about 50% of the employees. About 99% of the guests were Mexican Nationals and I think they would have liked for that number to be 100%. We have traveled to a few destinations in Mexico but have never encountered this issue so we will avoid Manzanillo in the future. I do speak so-so Spanish and tried to greet people politely for the first few days but primarily to no avail unless it was someone expecting a tip. The Mexicans can have it, we will find other places to spend our hard-earned money. A little side note; my wife is Mexican-American so there is clearly no racism coming from our point of view.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationtofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor M, Director General at Tesoro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest in the name of Tesoro Manzanillo people we appreciate the time to share your experience, is important have feedback of our guest comments in order to improve our services, we are working in upgrade our rooms first impression, new elevators, new menus in our restaurants and our beautiful beach facilities but the most important the Kindness and professional staff that Tesoro Manzanillo have to be, we are a family resort with a special kids water park that help to main pool area to be less crowded for kids and the rest of the guest can enjoy, we are glad that the breathless views of the sunset from our Rooms makes the difference in your trip.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My mom and I stayed at Tesoro over march break. It was a beautiful building, I felt like I was staying in a Mexican palace! It is not a modern hotel obviously, although it was very authentic and was just fine for the two of us. We had a beautiful view of the beach from our room which was lovely waking up each morning. We also had a pretty decent sized balcony. The food was pretty good and they had lots of variety. We hardly ever hung out by the pool, but the pool area was nice. The beach was where we spent pretty much all of our seven days. There were covered cabanas available to sit under if you could snag one early in the morning. Playing in the small waves everyday was one of the best parts of the trip and really gave you a good workout. We went to a couple of shows at night time that had a buffet also. The entertainment was pretty good! We went on one excursion which was the snorkeling... great choice! To get to the snorkeling area you have to take a half hour boat ride. On the boat ride we saw a huge sea turtle and also a couple of humpback whales. The snorkeling part was fun but it was great to get out on the boat and see the marine life and surrounding coast. Through out my stay I felt very safe and comfortable. Sure there are some things about the hotel that need to be fixed, but when you look at the big picture they really don't matter. This trip was a great adventure and I felt that I got a really good taste of mexico and it's culture. Definitely worth a visit. Overall, I would recommend this resort to fun, down to earth people. I'll never understand the people who complain about seaweed being on a beach. It's a beach for godsakes. Anyways great trip had lots of fun, and it's a great part of mexico!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 220Mose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor M, Director General at Tesoro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest I the name of Our Tesoro people staff we appreciate the time that you take to write and share your experience, we celebrate that you have great time in our beutiful property, this comments give us the encourage to continue improving our services and kindness of Our Tesoro People, the next time you come you will see the brand new elevators in service, and up grade of our front beach area.

thank you again

atte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Property: Tesoro Manzanillo
Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing