We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with Good Reviews”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I agree with all the good reviews. Great place for kids.
We didn't get beer in our fridge. Boo Hoo! But I guess we would have got some if we asked because they gave us extra water. We only drank wine anyhow.
I wonder what difference that new big apartment building will do to the sun on the beach in 2011? Will it block out the morning sun?
Our all-inclusive package from Canada was very good value.
The charter flight alone YVR to Mexico was cheaper than going Air Alaska

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2010

I went here with my boyfriend for a week in January....we had read all the reports on TripAdvisor about the Tesoro so we really were expecting a good value, but maybe not all that nice inside...were we ever wrong! The room we had was spacious, a great king size bed and the best shower I have ever had in any hotel, anywhere. It was very clean and well kept and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The in room fridge was stocked with beer, soda and bottled water everyday. The view from our 2nd floor room was lovely, and the pool looked beautiful and clean (but we never went in it....the beach was great - clean and they had lots of chairs and cabanas!)

The buffet changed their menu up every day so you never got bored, and the specialty restaurants had great food too. We had a great waiter that we made friends with at the Snack Bar "Fernando", he was extremely helpful, one time running all the way over to the buffet to get real cream for my boyfriend's coffee)

We took a side trip to Colima - this was fun, but if you decide to take this tour make sure you take food with you, as it leaves early and you don't get to a restaurant until about 2pm. I think the hotel would likely give you a boxed lunch if you asked....i wished we did because my guy was STARVING by the time we made it to the Mexican restaurant....

The taxis are cheap and the best way to get around...the Saturday flea market was lots of fun and had great deals on crafts and things to take home.

I loved the Tesoro! Next time I go (and hoepfully there will be a next time!) I want to stay 2 weeks! Thanks to the staff for a great time.

Judy & Mark

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunLovers069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We spent a week there & really enjoyed ourselves. If you've been to Cuba you know this is a palace. The rooms are large & well equiped, mini fridge has water, beer & soft drinks replenished daily, free. The mattresses are very thick & the bed linens have dates on them so you know they're new. We were on the 2nd floor above the children's pool & had a great view of the ocean. Yes there are a few cracked marble tiles, but the place is clean & pretty with it's white stucco walls. The pools were very clean & the swim up bar always had adults sitting at it. Grounds were well maintained, pool area swept every night & spilled drink spots washed. Honestly if you can't find something to eat there, something is the matter with you! Always a variety of meats, lots of veggies & hot, but not mushy, watermelon at all meals besides other fruit. The bees like the syrup containers that are on the buffet, otherwise weren't bothered by bugs. Staff remember names & what you drink & are very friendly, even when they're not on duty, you get a smile & a word or two. The beach , because it's in a bay, is not long & the sand is grainy, which we liked because it wasn't the fine stuff that sticks to you. Not problems to walk on it & it's a clean beach. The water is warm, not a long walk out til you get to your waist, so watch your footing as it drops off fairly quickly. We read the lounges were scarce & people took towels & found that not to be the case. Plenty of lounges around the pool & some on the beach that weren't always taken. Big thick towels are available free, just keep trading them in. The entertainment crew are very talented. Activities are around the pool & on the beach, spread out during the day. The hockey game on the beach is hilarious. The nightly shows have a different theme every night & are so very well done that they rival Toronto shows with the dancing, costumes & props. There's always a time when you can participate or not as well. Special thank you to Brisa & Payo who are the stars of the shows for their warmness & willingness to chat! Hope the sunglasses from Tina & Kaye are still working for you Brisa Excursions into town are available either by local cheap bus or taxi & it's safe there. We're planning on retuning next year at the same time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tikavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for 11 years on and off and under different owners. On our first stay it was definitely a 5-star hotel, but now it is probably 3.5, but extremely good value for the money we paid on a last-minute package we booked from Canada. It is of interest that about 70% of the employees have been working in this hotel since our first visit. We have always found them to be polite, attentive and helpful whether we tipped or not. Re. the review "Beware", it is a mark of respect in Latin-America not to look strangers in the eye. In another review, there is an accusation of dishonesty of staff. The long-term employees know that it is not worth their good union job to steal from guests . I read through the recent reviews and took note of the negative ones, and these observations may help if they concern you about booking into this hotel. The hotel is old, but the rooms and bathrooms are clean. (For twice the price you can get that new Spartan sparkle at a Dreams hotel.) We were originally booked into a 3rd floor room, but Reception changed us to the 12th floor within 5 minutes. My favourite rooms are from the 9th to the 15th floor as long as there is a balcony with that fabulous view. The elevators always worked during our stay. We often took the stairs for exercise. Immediately we checked into our room we checked everything to make sure it worked---especially the safe. Perfect. Another guest said their safe did not work and management had a man up to fix it very promptly. We had 4 towels & a hand towel for 2 people. Enough, I think!
We changed a Travelers' Cheque with no problem at the Front Desk and also got change for tips. (20 pesos minimum, and triple that or more in the a la carte restaurants)
We tipped the housekeeper every day in pesos. Don't wait until the last day as that may be your regulars' day off. The majority of the guests during our stay were from Mexico and maybe that is why there was no need to get up at a ridiculous hour to find a lounger on the beach. It is not Mexican culture to "book" places with a towel. They come down, enjoy the beach and leave. They don't book a lounge all morning with a towel and appear at 1:00 pm. If you don't like the lounges and poor shade offered by the hotel on the beach, you can rent a big, big umbrella, 4 deckchairs and a table at both ends of the beach for 100 pesos a day. This is also the safest part of the beach for non-swimmers or children to swim. We love the location of this hotel because of the ocean swimming.
I read in a paper from Mexico City that the water is cleaner than Puerta Vallarta. The surrounding hotels' sewerage is pumped out into that green golf course. The black sand at the end of the beach is a natural phenomenon. Having said that, one day the beach was covered in disgusting pieces of plastic that must have washed in from somewhere. The Tesoro is paradise for children and bees! Yes, the BEES are a big problem. I think they have always been there. Every new owner/manager tries to get rid of them. Take care if you are drinking a sickly sweet drink.
If you don't like children, go to an adults only hotel. We enjoyed the kids and watching their antics. (Where DO those adults go pee if they have been drinking beers and coolers all day at the "swim-up" bar?) The Tesoro is a great place for kids and the new children's area is fantastic. There are also two tennis courts and it was pleasant to watch Mexican families playing tennis in the cool of the late afternoon. There was a bar open from 11:00 am to 1:00 am either by the pool or in the lobby. (The new decor of the Lobby Bar is like a waiting room in a hospital and not inviting) The alcohol available was more than adequate, with decent Chilean wine and good Mexican beer. The Mexican Restaurant 's food was disappointing (we like Mexican food) but the Italian, location, atmosphere, food and service was superb. Delicious seafood was served in the buffet restaurant every day, and the Sunday paella was as good as we eat in Spain, if not better, because the seafood is better in the Pacific. In short the food was always healthy and adequate and often superlative. The local papaya ( sprinkle it with lime to enhance the flavour) and pineapple was delicious, but the prep chef could have cut the cantaloupe up without leaving so much green. After dinner we walked around the hotel and grounds and often found ourselves staying to watch the evening entertainment, it was so much fun. The entertainment staff are incredibly hard-working and talented. The location of this hotel is the best in Manzanillo in our opinion, safe swimming in the sea and no golf balls flying in from the golf course (Barcelo!) To take a bus, go to the PARADA outside the hotel to the right. A bus, "Las Brisas. La Audiencia" comes about every 20 minutes and costs 6 pesos. The driver will give change, even of 20 pesos. This bus will take you to the Plaza Manzanillo where you can shop , buy duty free in the supermarket and change money. From there you can get a " Miramar" bus also 6 pesos to Manzanillo, a true bargain. Get off the bus and walk up the Avenida Mexico to the esplanade where you can buy inexpensive souvenirs. (There is also a small market as good as the Saturday market for souvenirs on the Tesoro beach to the right of the hotel) Make time to have a beer at the lovely old "Colonial Hotel" on Avenida Mexico. The bus stop back to the hotel is across the road from where you got off. Look for "Miramar." ask people on the bus, if you have reached Plaza Manzanillo and that is where you get the bus back to the hotel. Mexicans are very friendly and helpful.
If you plan a package from Canada in 2010, FYI ,our flight on Canjet was basic but efficient. Two movies and a small snack on a leased German plane!
En route home, don't lock your suitcases until they have been hand-searched at the airport which does not as yet have x-ray for security. The airport staff are very thorough, discreet and patient.
I hope this review is of some help.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Better than expected because we made the mistake of reading the reveiws. Don't know what people expect from a 3.5 star resort. The room and food was great, as was the bar service. Nightly entertainment was excellant. We compared Tesoro to our stay on a Carnival cruise ship 3 years ago. We would definatly recommend it as we are already planning a return trip to Tesoro Manzanillo.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fordy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

A group of six decided to get away for a cheap holiday which got us the Tesoro in Manzanillo. The saying "you get what you pay for" didn't apply here. Plain and simple - it was awful. We are out more than we are at the resort and we aren't picky eaters but we enjoy fruit and veggies which were very limited. Rooms - small, old and smelly. We had rooms in the tower on the 9th floor and got our workouts walking up the stairs because more often then not the elevators did not work especially our last day when we had to carry our luggage down the stairs to leave - not impressed. Beach is rocky - loungers in short supply unless you sent someone down early in the morning to save them but even then someone would move your towels. Swim up bar was a joke - mostly a place for kids and wasps to hang out. All is all the six of us were more than happy to leave. Next time we want a cheap vacation we'll stay home, save our money until we can afford a nicer hotel. Manzanilo itself is a great vacation spot but I'd stay at a nicer resort like Barcelo Karmina next time.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank RockkyRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I just got back from the Tesoro and had an amazing time. The food was good, the staff was friendly. The beach was beautiful and the view from the room was perfect. Sure, there was a cracked tile or two and a non-functional lamp in the room, but who cares. The Tesoro doesn't claim to be a 5-star hotel, so you can't expect perfection. In terms of value for money, I thought it was wonderful and I'd definitely recommend it. The four people I travelled with also loved the place. Although it may be a little bit past its prime, it's beautifully arcitechted, has loads of character, and is in a great location, near everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anaisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#22 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#9 of 52 in Manzanillo
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £96 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing