We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip, Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trip, Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We just got back from the Tesoro, what a fantasic vacation! I read some of the negitive reviews on this property, and I have to tell you I was concerned, and came close to cancelling our trip. I am so glad that I decided not cancel, we had a blast! The property is not new, and is not what I would call modern, but that's what we loved about it. The property reminded my husband and I of Europe with it's amazing view and cobel stone steets. The view from our room was stunning, we were on the 14th floor in room 1426....... trust me, the view will blow your mind! The staff and service were wonderful, and bent over backwards for us. Granted, the staff don't speak a lot of english, but they try so hard, and it's a great way to learn the language. The food was really good, not the largest buffet, but we always found plenty to eat.
The 2 a la carte restaurants Adobe (mexican) the ribs are interesting and quite tasty and Il Navegantti (Italian) the fish is amazing!.
The shows at night are really good, the staff work so hard, you will love the show fantasia. The activities during the day are ok, sometimes the schedules are a bit off. The aquafit classes are amazing, a full 1/2 hour with some great cardio.
The swim up bar was great, and no, there were no bees!
If you're looking to do some snorkeling, go down to the beach and look for Freddy, you'll know it's him, he's always in a colourful thong lol. If you want your hair braided, again, go down to the beach toward the left and ask for Mida, she's amazing. Now, if you are looking for other excursions, you'll want to find Bob & Bonita, they are located in the hotel. They just moved to Mexico from Canada, they have great prices and they are really great. To contact them their e-mail is [--]. The spa at this hotel is average, however, if you want a really different and good massage, book with Lulu!
Lastly, if you are looking for good value, try the Tesoro, we can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImaCanadianprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    445
    292
    159
    126
See reviews for
494
342
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Came to the hotel and front desk was very nice.... When my boyfriend and I came to the room the safe did not have a door... and view out of our window was obstructed by a big white tent...well we went back to the front desk and they offered to fix the safe... but i skeptical about this... so they moved us room... well the room they moved us also had an obstructed view out the window and a sink that was clogged very slow to drain, and the bathroom had a moldy smell , the remote was broken and funiture inside was broken. I asked to be moved for the second time because of all these issue.. they said they could not do it that night because they were full but tommorrow something sould open up. Well the next day I went to the front desk and they did move us to the 18th floor... it was a nice room but was still a bit dated...and the bathroom toilet was leaking... I was so tired of moving around rooms that i just told my boyfriend to just enoy our time... since we are only there for 3 nights. ...
The pool was a bit small... and the reservation required restaurants are always fully booked..
On the good note the staff was nice and the food was very tasty..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maricris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Does anyone have photos or video clip of the women who got the bucket of water poured on her in one of the entrainment skits?

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mikaGrandForks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed at the Tesoro in Feb,2010 and were pleasantly surprised.

The facility: The hotel is an older somewhere 1970th, but for it's age, in good shape. Needs some updating though it is not terrible unless you are very picky.

The rooms:

Fine. All of them ( or most at least) with a excellent ocean view. Some rooms have different bed headboard (older and newer). Most have balconies. Depending on the location of the room balcony size may vary.

The room with romm number of xx50 an up overlook over big white roof of hotels facilites and the buffet. If you saty on 15 + floor it ight not be an issue, but for lower floors the few from your balcony may be that pretty.

Best room numbers to stay are XX20-XX30th. Favorable floors 8-12.


Food:
The food was excellent, good selection, somewhat repetitive but it's personal choice. If you are a burger or junk food lover there is a snack bar where you can some your favorites.

Stuff.

Excellent on most parts. Very friendly. We changed the room with no problem in 30 minutes after we got the first room ( the view from balcony was not pretty enough)

Weiters are good.

The ala cartes were good. Book in advance as they go fast. In Mexican ask for Spanish coffee. It's quite a show.

Room cleaning service is a bit on lower side.

Entertainmet.
Nightly. Almost all shows are very good. Recommended to see.
Few times a week there is disco club open till 1 am.

Bars.
11am-1am
Open everywhere where the show is. Drink selection is good enough but do not expect a huge variety.

Smoking.
Hotel is not designed for smokers. No smoking inside in closed premises. No ashtrays in rooms. But you satill can smaoke in room of course.


Beach.

Very good. Send is clean ( though you may find some sigarett butts there). Gets very hot during the day.

Water is amazing. Warm and with very low waves. Good for all ages. The nature of the bay is very beautiful.


Sun is coming to the beach around 9am. If you want a cabano on the beach come earlier.

Location.

The hotel is quite far from the city. It's 15 min.walk to main road where you can go shopping or go to ther destinations. Though you can always take taxi from hotel or local bus.

Manzanillo is very friendly a safe city.

We liked Tesoro. Good value for money. If we decide to go on the budget vacation Tesoro is the one we would go to again.


I put a short video about Tesoro so you can get a general idea of what to expect:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ProfileGallery-i24261517.html


.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We just got back from a wonderfull week. The staff were friendly and profesional. The food was fabulous you didn't need Ala carte the buffet was different everyday.The sports and entertainment staff worked their butts off to make sure you had a good time. we paid for a 3 and half star but got 5 star food and service.They set up Televisions and opened up the bar so we could watch Canada win Gold In Hockey and were just as excited as we were. What more could you ask for. I just don't get the bad reviews maybe these people wouldn't be happy no matter what I saw a few of those people there. Great time I will be recommending this resort to all my friends. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreedomCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

excellent value for the monies rooms are very clean maid service is excellent and the view is spectacular
food is of good quality and a substantial variety and well prepared
staff is very friendly, and helpful
drinks are plentifull and good quality
weather was perfect nice breeze thruout the day and no humidity
found other guests very friendly and scociable
great time had by all

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We were a little nervous about staying at Tesoro due to previous reviews that we had read on TripAdvisor. I learned from this trip that I will always read reviews, but I will save judgement until AFTER my own experiences. There were 6 of us that went. (Ages 23-25) When our flight landed we were greated with a large air conditioned bus and $1.00 Coronas. The bus ride from the Airport to the Resort wasn't long, and the views along the way and the beers kept us entertained. Check in went very fast... under 10 minutes. We got the rooms and beds we requested. Our swipe card for our room worked fine. We had a king sized bed, large bathroom. AMAZING view from the 3rd floor. Very clean. Smelled fresh. The fridge was stocked with water, pop and beer. (daily) The pool was beautiful. Everyday we had no trouble finding a chair to tan on. You are given a towel card when you check in and they give you HUGE blue towels everyday... if it gets wet or damp you can change it in whenever you want for a fresh towel. Our room was cleaned daily, and it was noticeable. I slept well on the bed, the shower was great.. alot of pressure. The staff was very nice, and service was wonderful. The Mexican and Itallian a'la carte wasn't anything amazing. It featured alot of the same foods we would have seen throughout the week at the buffet. We went into town a few days -- There is a Wal-Mart, Starbucks, Burger King etc all within 4.00 (USD) cab fare. We ate a few lunches in town at local mexican restaurants and it was delicious. (AND CHEAP!) One night we went out for dinner in town.... 6 of us had a full course dinner (incl. smoked salmon, beef carpaccio, clams, steak, sea bass, stuffed ravioli, spanish coffee, creme brulee, cream puffs) all for under roughly 30.00 each (USD) .. The restaurant was beautiful, right on the ocean and we could see downtown manzanillo across the shore. There were several activities that the resort offered. (Incl. Sunset cruise, party boat, deep sea fishing, snorkeling, horse back riding, ATV tours. etc) The bars on the resort closed at 1am.... which we didn't like. But the entertainment staff did offer a toured night out on the town... and local cabs take you into town and are all eager to share information about good places to eat and drink. Saturday there is a market in town and there is ALOT of stuff to look at and buy. The buffet at the resort was good. The location is beautiful, right on the ocean. There was always fresh fruit available and fresh soups every lunch. Amazing guacomole and salsa. Room service was great... amazing chicken fajitas and they have great french fries and burgers.
So now some "bad" things:
As a group of younger people we weren't impresssed with the amount of children that were at the resort. The week we went was the Mexican Mardi Gras and Lent... so there were alot of mexicans on the resort and they have large families. Once they left the resort was calm and quiet. so next time I don;t think we would go during that week.
There is alot to say about this trip.... It isn't as bad as some of the reviews I've read. If you pay for the Holiday Inn then you should expect the holiday Inn... not the Hilton. Overall we had a great time, lots of laughs and I'm sure we will do it again :)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IslandGirl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#16 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Property: Tesoro Manzanillo
Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing