We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Equisite beauty!”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Equisite beauty!”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Arrived in Manzanillo on the 15th of February. The Tesoro hotel looks just the pictures. I had no expectations going in...but was very happy we chose to stay here. The rooms were clean, and the view breathtaking (on the 12th floor) room 1254. The hotel staff were AMAZING....very friendly and always smiling. The hotel is older but to me this added to the charm. The only thing I would have changed was the bathtubs were a little run down. The AC works - so pack flannel pjs. I was cold every night ;) The hotel is located right on Audencia beach. We had a great time both in the pool and on the beach.

Air Transat provides GREAT people on location to assist and they were always willing to help us. (I miss them already). All the tours we booked more than surpassed my expectations. The zip lining was great, and the home cooked pizza after was quite the treat. The sea turtle tour was great (a little disappointed that we didn't get to release sea turtles though) but that is chance you take. The rest of the tour was breathtaking! The deep sea fishing was the highlight! We caught a TUNA and the chef at the hotel cooked it up for us. BEST dinner ever! 5 hours out on the ocean, dolphins, turtles etc was completely worth the $60USD/person to go!

The buffet was average. I was hoping for more local food though.. The omelet station in the morning was great and always had lines. The highlight - the a la cart restaurants! Who ever would have thought that a trip to Mexico would yield the best Cannelloni EVER! The service was impeccable and I was in line everyday to get the reservations for dinner. Highly recommend one LATE night dinner at 9pm and then order the Spanish coffee with your desert. AWESOME.

The resort has a gym....but it needed improvement. Treadmill was barely working and there was only one. Over all a workout could be completed though.

The shows were good - the Pirate show was my favorite! Super funny. Never did find the disco....but i was so exhausted that it didn't matter. Super trip and an amazing city! Loved Manzanillo!

Overall I would go back in heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kymmy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    447
    294
    159
    126
See reviews for
497
342
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We just returned from a 1 week all inclusive at the Tesoro in Manzanillo. What a wonderful vacation!!! The staff were amazing, the hotel was beautiful and charming and I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The rooms were simple, but clean with a wonderful view. The buffet and snack shack were great and they always try and have something everyone will like. There are 2 a la carte restaurants, Mexican and Italian, which were simply amazing.

Other than the sand being very hot the beach was beautiful if you didn't want to stay around the pool. Of course the pool and swim up bar were a hit as well. It was also worth the $8 cab ride to spend the afternoon at Mirimar Beach.

We did 3 tours through the hotel which were decently priced. The guides were always on time, helpful and we always felt safe. We even spent time off the resort on our own learning about Manzanillo and visiting markets in Santiago.

All the staff from front desk, tours to housekeeping were always friendly and wanting to help. I would recommend this vacation spot to anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellea75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Well I have travelled to alot of places and I can honestly say that this is one of the best. We took our trip through Air Transat from Calgary. I highly recommend Air Transat!!! The deal we got was amazing, not just good but a complete steal. We were a bit worried about it being a dump because how cheap it was but it was fantastic. Sure the hotel is not new by any stretch of the imagination but the grounds are impecable, everything as clean as can be with fresh paint and someone sweeping up all the time. The staff work extremely hard.They are extra polite and kind and truly want your stay to be awesome. The weather while we were there was perfect to a "T". 28 degrees celsius everyday.

The food was very good with lots of variety. The al a carte resturants were also very good with plenty of selection. Remember it is a buffet and they are feeding 500 or so people a day so there are sometimes line ups but they are minimal. The Palapa has great snacks as well.

The entertainment staff work super hard to keep everyone involved and entertained. Some of the shows we quite poor simply because they are not super talented actors or singers but they tried really hard. There are some onsite vendors which are good and some more on the beach and none were pressuring you to buy.

It is not a five star hotel and doesn't try to be. If a couple of cracked tiles turns you off or you can't live with a water stained toilet in your room then don't book here but if you want a really fabulous 3.5 star hotel with great architecture and charm, clean and freindly then this is the right place.

The tour company (Tlaloc Tours) that schedules all the excursions is excellent as well. The excursions are very affordable and I would highly recommend the deep sea fishing, snorkeling and zip line trips.

Also the spa is excellent. I had two sport massages while I was there and was very satisfied.

You really can't miss with the Tesoro Manzanillo. I could ramble on for ever and rave about everything but I think you get the picture. Also I would like to note that the city of Manzanillo was very friendly and quite easy to get around. Taxis are plentiful and cheap. Make sure to poke around and go to the Miramar flea market anyday and the Santiago flea market on Saturdays.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel was nice, looks like the pictures. Try and get a room in the tower, the rooms by the pool smell like mold. Food was good, drinks OK. Tip the help, it goes a long way(10-20Pesos) Take cash, the hotel had good exchange rates. Bring USD, the tours are cheaper when you pay USD. Rooms were clean, fridge is only stocked with 2 bottles of water, 1 can of coke and one sprite. You have to pay if you want more bottled water past your daily allotment of 2(or tip the water guy and take as many as you want 20pesos and we got 10 bottles)
Kid's club was OK, babysitting was pricey at 300pesos/hour. Beach is nice, took a while to get used to the jelly fish(they don't sting). The snorkeling is awesome in the bay, we caught puffer fish our first day in the water. If your going diving go with the SCUBA Shack, not the local tour operator. The party boats are fun, don't be afraid to haggle a price with the guys on the beach(ie not the hotel boat ride). The entertainment staff were awesome and friendly. ATMS suck in Manzanillo- only $3000 peso max and sometimes only $1500pesos depending when you hit the bank.
The bus was super cheap to get around, and the taxis were not bad either.
The only drawback is the power plant spewing disgusting smog from the Chevron 6 oil they burn. Coming from Vancouver, it took awhile to get used to the bad air quality(apparently they will be switching to natural gas soon.
All in all it was a great 2 weeks for the price ($1300/person)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabnam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We have been travelling for many years and have stayed at 2.5 to 4 star hotels. The Tesoro was a great resort 25 years ago but it not been given care or attention for many years.
We noticed that the staff smiled very little and were stretched so thin that sometimes our room did not get done til 5:30 and service at the buffet and poolside was greatly lacking.
Listed below are the pros and cons:
PROS:
-safes and fridges (with pop and water)in the rooms.
-beautiful view from the balcony (however the windows were so dirty in our room that looking out was hindered)
-instead of comforters they put the blanket in between two white sheets...this way if the top got dirty it was changed.
-firm kingsize bed
-hair dryer was missing when we got there but was replaced upon calling.
-air conditioning worked well and our room looked like it had been freshly painted.
-Palapa was good....unfortunately they alternated hamburgers and fries with cut up wieners every other day.
-lots of lounge chairs but many people were double booking...in the shade as well as poolside.
-Mexican Fiesta was good.
-ala-carte was excellent. Again, they alternated between Mexican and Italian. These ala-cartes do not run on the same nite.
-nice beach but you have to watch the undertow.
-nets keep birds off your table in the buffet.
-shops on site but expensive.
-lots of beach towels but these were worn.
-lots of nice white umbrellas to shade oneself.
-pool looked very clean but the water was cool
-CONS:
-no water came out of the hot water tap the first nite and day we were in the room...they did fix it eventually.
-no plugs in the bath tub or sink.
-noisy - lots and lots of kids - jack hammering at the construction site next door (started at 7am), poolside music is intensive as is the entertainment. The beach party went on til 2am.
-only one server for the poolarea.
-minimal entertainment - was amateur and repetitive.
-no facecloths unless you asked for them...no bedskirt on the bed.
-towels were worn and sometimes holey, but were clean.
-loungers were very dirty and the same birdpoop was there day after day.
-far from the main drag but it was cheap to take a cab.
-expensive internet and WIFI
-furniture was beat up and somepieces were broken or missing parts.
-strong sewer smell in the bathroom. Rooms were very musty but leaving windows open helped. I was apprehensive about leaving window open as there were no screens on the windows.
-omelets were good but this alternated every other day. They hid the bacon but gave it to you if you asked.
-cracked, chipped dishes. You had to watch at the buffet that the plates and cutlery were clean. Lipstick on my cup turned me off.
-had to watch the napkins as they were not changed everytime.
-lights out
-bats flying around in the upstairs evening buffet.
-one night the lights were out in the hallway...they didn't fix that til the next day.
-elevators slow and one made a sceeching noise...long waits.
-the curtains in our room had small holes in them as did the sheets
-main courses at the buffet was very repetitive...no balace between Mexican and North American food...
-pancakes and french toast were limp and damp from sitting.
-line-up at buffets at time when the upstairs was not open..had to wait in line.
-long wait to book an ala-carte...long lines...unhappy guest.

We enjoyed our vacation because of Manzanillo but will not stay at the Tesoro again...which is too bad because it could be a great place if some updating was done.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hroobie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Because of some of the reviews we had read about Tesoro before we left, we did not have too high of expectations.
Once we got there, we wondered what the heck some people were complaining about??
Yes, the rooms need updating and some repairs (except for the obvious new beds which made for great sleeps)....but for us anyway.....who cares? We were barely in our room.
The rest of the resort is amazing, especially for the price!
The staff were exceptional, making our stay very fun! Silvestor at the buffet never let my beer go empty....sometimes bringing two at a time! Fernando at La Palapa was great and had many interesting conversations with him.
The food in the A La Carte was very good. The food at the buffet was tasty but not held at proper temperatures.
The beach is amazing! Go see Maria at the "bar" right at the end of the beach for a cold bottled Pacifico and fresh oysters right from the ocean....met some great people there.
Now.....as for tours or excursions...I fully recommend LUJO Tours! Bonita and Luis (who are the owners), made our vacation very special. Each tour we took was a "personal" tour....only us two and a guide. (Nothing like being on a bus tour with 50 other people).
Our guides were amazing, friendly, fun, accomodating, and full of information and knowledge.
We are going back next year for sure and will definately be booking with Lujo!
So many more positive things to say about the whole vacation....just too many to keep going on............
Greg and Kim
Winnipeg, MB

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very relaxing place not for the Cancun partiers unless your going off resort i'm sure you could find something. Lots of families and pretty quite at nite and security movie people away from the pool areas etc where they might disturb others. Meals and service and entertainment was decent, basically what you would expect out of a hotel of this star rating. The key for us was the view in this beautiful little bay. More Mexican content about 75% which i prefer...very non Americanized which "More Mexican" means better value in general off resort. Manzanillo area is supposed to have the lowest crime rate in all of Mexico. We travelled and ate off resort and felt very safe experienced no issues. Travelled the area in both cabs and the local bus. different and awesome experience. Had a beautiful Seaside dinner at a place called Tuscana off resort which was more American type pricing but was still a better deal and beautiful view but more importantly an amazing meal.
Transat folks were helpful and we donated our left overs and some clothing etc to which they get it to local charity.
No beach people [none] trying to sell you stuff. We snorkelled, did a scuba dive and some markets and shopping. Felt no real desire to bargain as pricing in generally was relevant to the value.
We luved Tesoro and Manzanillo in general. It represents well what we are looking for in a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#18 of 53 in Manzanillo
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#8 of 53 in Manzanillo
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Property: Tesoro Manzanillo
Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing