We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Condo visit”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Jorge is great - any problem or question direct to him. It is a good place for children-very safe. The beds are very hard - you are basically sleeping on a cement slab with a pad on it. Jorge was able to put 2 of the mattresses on our bed in order for me to sleep without so much pain. It is quaint - on a hill which does mean lots of up and down if you are at the top which we were. They do offer a shuttle to go up and down and the taxi's will drop you off near your room. We had 2 - 2 bedroom and 1 - 3 bedroom condos and they were all different as to layout and furnishings. They are in need of upgrading but again that was not consistent with the units. Our curtain in the living room was actually tearing along the edge and the stove seemed somewhat unsafe. Our 2 bedroom actually had 2 baths and of all of the 3 units was the only one that had good hot water in quantity. It was cleaned every day and everyone was very friendly and helpful and although some did not speak English they always tried. This place caters more to the Mexican population but we were made to feel very welcome. The food was good but we only ate breakfast there. The bus is right across the street (beach side) and it was fun taking it to various locations and trying out the local places. If staying in the condos, there is basically only water furnished every day so if you are planning on cooking, think about taking some small quantities of spices as well as salt and pepper. Stick to the larger stores there for fresh fruit and meat. Since we were at the top of the hill, the view was beautiful from our unit. The beach was very clean and it was fun to walk it. There is another area that we reached by bus that had a nice cove and was great for the kids to snorkle as well as swim. We took in a couple of excursions - some arranged by Jorge and we did enjoy those. If we were younger with children, we would go back.

Room Tip: The view is nicer at the top but it is a steep climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMASpokane_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and we sincerely apologize for all the maintenance aspects that you report. They all have been taken care of.

Thank you also for commending on the various aspects of your visits to town. The people of Manzanillo take pride in saying that this is one of the safest cities in Mexico.

We would like to note that there are three major supermarket stores in the city (one, in fact, is Wal-Mart) so shopping and finding the right items and spices is not a problem at all. Near the hotel, we have the Santiago vendor market, where people can find fresh fruit right from the farmer´s fields. Also, we would like to suggest to other travellers to take the bus (or car) in direction to El Naranjo (on the way to the airport). There, you will find roadside vendors with fresh fruits, tomatoes, papaya, avocados, plantains, bananas, home made sweets and all kinds of fresh produce.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you return to Manzanillo and Vista Playa de Oro. Or maybe to one of our Crown Paradise Resorts in Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    125
    73
    54
    69
See reviews for
238
66
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Hotel Vista Playa De Oro Manzanillo is the best hotel i have ever stayed in the food is wonderful the staff is very friendly the rooms are big and super clean the night shows are entertaining and wonderful for both kids and adults the service was beyond my expectations the beach is beautiful the night club is awesome the drinks are very tasty aslo i ended up staying there for a week i love this hotel and ever since that first time i stayed i go every year now and there is always something different and it just gets better and better i absolutely recommend this hotel!!!(:

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Overall good vacation spot. I was worried about the condition of the hotel because of Hurricane Jova hitting Manzanillo the week before I arrived. Hotel only had minor damage, but the is property is need of some superficial repairs and lots of repainting. From the balcony I could see roof tile damage and a lot of evidence of mold on exterior of buildings. The grounds are well maintained. The rooms were very adequate. The A/C made sleeping great. The view from the balcony was awesome. The Staff was extremely courteous and responded quickly to any request. No phone or internet the entire week because of the Hurricane. After the fact, that added to it being an enjoyable vacation. It took the hotel 2 days to turn on the hot water for the room, but a cold water shower initially added to the adventure. 'Senior Jorge' is the PR manager and is the person to talk to when you need any assistance; very professional and makes things happen, speaks fluent English. Food is geared for families; mostly buffets. Menu varied daily so something different every day and every meal. Breakfast included eggs to order. They do have an 'ala carte' two nights, for adults only; long pants and closed toed shoes required. Forget those requirement. Lots of kids and several in shorts and t-shirts. Kind of spoiled the special meal time away from the kids for those complying with the requirements. Beach is right across the main highway and very accessible. Hotel is located on Miramar Beach, so the beach is not really friendly for small children due to the larger waves. My concern at the beach was with the city infrastructure damage (visible broken main sewer lines) letting raw sewage flow directly into the ocean near the hotel. Several streets had 'water' running on them. The city was a hive of repair after the hurricane so I believe that will be fixed soon, especially with 'snow bird season starting in late November. Lots of things to do at the resort, especially if you have kids. The hotel really attempts to sell you an afternoon boat cruise; big mistake on my part. Not 'Gringo Friendly!!', in fact I felt very unwelcome on the cruize. Many bars scattered around the property. Best bar to relax at and too enjoy a view of the bay is the upper most bar (by the zip line start); great view of the bay and ships, and a nice afternoon breeze. The bar located on the beach is a great place to keep hydrated at while enjoying the sun and sand; they also have fast food there. Buses run right in front of the hotels, so I never used my vehicle. It costs about 40 cents to ride the bus into town; ask 'Sr. Jorge' about a great Shrimp restaurant. Overall, had a very enjoyable week, and I will visit there again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler9485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed with my family in July for vacations. I booked the hotel (3 rooms) reading the descriptions on the website and thought it would be nice for the kids. When we arrived, we noticed the bad conditions of the public areas of the hotel. The kids pool had green mold on the walls. The sidewalks were very bad that we almost twist our ankles everytime we walked. I tried a hamburguer on the snackbar and I could do only a little bite as the meat was so hard and it smelled like a very old meat. In general the food is disgusting. The only meals that were ok were the ones during the Theme Parties at night. We could not sleep because of the noise of the air conditioning, it was like an old truck noise. The drain on the shower was blocked so everytime we had a shower the water level almost reached our ankles. It seems that the management does not invest any penny in the property for renovations. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvar O, Manager at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of yoru recent stay with us. All of our guest's comments are very welcome and we take all feedback very seriously, altough on occasions it may not be a very favorable one.

I am very sorry to hear that your experience with our hotel in some aspects was not completely satisfactory. Right now we are in the process of doing some renovations in the public areas, like the main pool. Other issues will be addressed in a short period of time.

We sincerely hope you will give us a second opportunity and if you do decide to favor us with your patronage, I will be most pleased to show you our improvements and have the pleasure of having you and your family as our guests.

Sincerely,

Alvar Ojeda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

Richmond California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

In need of repairs,,,some are in progress no hand rails on stair..to manny coble stones easy to twist an anckle. the farther you stay the more coble stones....and there is no hand rails on stairs

Room Tip: older person should ask to be near the pool on the first floor,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricard029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvar O, General Manager at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We take note on what you mention about the cobble streets and remind our readers that in some areas, we have "pedestrian crossings" where the spaces within the rocks have been filled with cement in order to make it easier to walk. Please use them! We do hope to see you back at Vista Playa de Oro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have never written a review or felt the need to write a review as I do for this Hotel. The staff was very courteous, friendly, and energetic. The food was authentic and alcohol was included!!!!!!!!!!! My kids ages 4,7,10 had a blast so we never left the hotel and ended up staying an extra day. The zip lines were so much fun for us and the kids. They have 3 pools and activities for guests throughout the day. I could not believe they even offered daycare for parents who prefer alone time. The beach was across the street and they had a bar with drinks available there too. They have great family oriented shows every night after dinner. GO NETO!!! We will definitely be back next year! Greetings from Gilbert Arizona!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vacasiones2011GDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvar O, General Manager at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
I am so pleased to read about your vacation. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Those zip lines are indeed lots of fun, our guests don´t seem to get tired of them! Hasta la vista! and hope to see you back at Playa de Oro sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We did not know what to expect on our first family trip (kids-2,5,6). But this place was like a dream. We couldn't ask for more. Food, entertaiment, people, activities, everything was super! Our first pick was Club Meava, but I am really glad we finally choose Vista Hotel.
It's smaller and better for famillies with a young children.
Manzanillo is absoultely beautiful with a breathtaking views! And the weather is fantastic!
I hope we come back there soon!
Ohh and the beds in a hotel are great! I don't know what is it, but we all slept like a babies!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ewelina36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
1.5 mi away
Tesoro Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo
#6 of 53 in Manzanillo
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo

Property: Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Address: Blvd. Miguel de la Madrid | S/n, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill side, across the street from the beach, this beautiful hotel resembles a Mexican village town with cobble streets and clay tile roofs. This family-oriented All Inclusive resort is at only 15 minutes from downtown Manzanillo and only 20 minutes from the international airport. It has 250 rooms, with Mexican contemporary decoration. Services included are one Buffet Restaurant, one themed restaurant with alternated Italian and Caribbean menu. four bars, Palapa snack bar, Beach snack-bar • Tennis courts (not lighted), two Zip-lines (One for adults and one for children), Wall climbing, Children’s Club, Baby Club, Pool tables, Gym , Mini-golf, Safety deposit boxes at reception, wireless internet in public areas. The property also has a nice beachfront restaurant with a seafood menu, for an additional charge. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is also open for locals. All rooms feature one king sized bed or two twin sized beds. Maximum occupancy per room is three adults or two adults and two children. Children under 11 stay for free, one child per paying adult. Maximum 2 children per room.Activities for children also include a weekly camp-out night, supervised by our entertainment staff, as well as a fun Pirate Treasure Hunt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Playa De Oro Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing