We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff....but that seems to be about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff....but that seems to be about it.”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This year we thought we'd try something new with our timeshare exchange. With trying something new, we went in with very low expectations and kept in the back of our minds that something like this might happen.

The thing I don't understand are the reviews of this place on pretty much every site, either people have really low expectations or RCI is paying people to write a good review.

I would like to say that we are a well traveled married, childless couple. This place is VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY, and by very, I mean, kids are like 10 to 1 here! Now, don't get me wrong, I don't mind kids, but this place is like a super large kindergarten classroom with kids running and peeing in every direction. The place no matter where you go outside smells of urine. The entire place caters to children.

On to the room! So we walk in, the guy plugs in our refrigerator, which I understand is to save electricity, but it also means that we have to wait until the following day to go grocery shopping. The kitchen is clean, but the stove top was gas which you light with a match, but are scared to because you are afraid the whole place is going to blow! The mattresses there were so hard and were on concrete slabs instead of frames, one night of sleep on them gave us back and shoulder pain for the entire day. And the icing on the cake, our bedroom window was right next to where they have movie night, played very loudly.

To sum it up, we stayed for one night, spent the entire next day looking for somewhere else to spend the week. This trip is a little on the expensive side now, but being comfortable in a new place that has a better bed and view is priceless to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SbuxLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Sbuxlori,

First of all thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor, we consider that our guest´s feedback is the most effective way the achieve excellence service. We regret that you were not satisfied with part of our service and not cover entirely your expectations. Our Hotel has many repetitive guests every year, coming from US and Canada. We are identified as a family hotel, and part of our strategy is to focus on entertainment.

Our company use tripadvisor and similar websites to continuously checking comments and suggestions from our guests. We can assure you that this process is attached to actual travel experiences.

Manzanillo is a place with great beauty and charm; we hope consider visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    124
    71
    52
    68
See reviews for
232
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I'm writing this from the balcony of the wonderful hotel we fled to after not being able to stand one more minute of Vista Playa de Oro, even though we will forfeit our nonrefundable 6 more nights there. We'd rather let the money go. Dirty! Not maintained at all. No internet. Bug coated dead lightbulbs on the balcony, hence no light for reading at night outside. They wouldn't even give us water to drink beyond the first litre on the first day. Said that one was the limit, for a 2 week stay. (We were not on the all inclusive plan.) Broken down and filthy stove and fridge. No towels or clothes to clean dishes. Plastic covered mattress led to sweaty bad sleep. Stinky stained sofa for second person to sleep on. Stained sheets. Nice view of road. This place is NOT up to RCI standards at all. We will NEVER come here again. We knew this place 27 years ago, and again 8 years ago, it has gone way down hill. Over and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travlngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Vista Playa de Oro has been our home away from home going now into our fourth year. There is so much to say about the old world charm that is all around you along with the fabulous beaches,
great food exquisite scenery but most of all the loving people. Jorges Ramos the hotels
wonderful host and P.R. manager leads his staff with his great example of friendliness, warmth, and great sense of humour. He sets an example of efficiency and hard work with that
never ending smile and good nature. Your great Jorges and along with your Staff you truly make our months their our "home away from home." Thanks for everything.

Elana & Jim Baxter
Nanaimo BC Canada

Room Tip: Higher level and room with kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dataNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailey, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife is the world traveler and I am the admitted typical “American Tourist” so it was quite a shock to check into a true Mexican Resort for me from April 5th -19th. Wow! Is all I can say. What an amazing experience. Great quarters, great food, fantastic grounds and pools along with the beautiful view of the ocean we had from our quarters. If you have never been, you need to go IF you want to experience Mexico from a reality point of view. First thing when checking in is look up Jorge Ramos, the General Manager. Jorge will get you going the right direction. He runs a tight ship and the staff is excellent as well as super friendly. Don’t worry if you don’t know Spanish. While English is rarely spoken, the staff and even the guests will help you figure it out. Behave yourself and Manzanillo is very safe. It’s per capita crime is much less than most larger American cities. We felt safer in Manzanillo and at the Play de Oro than about anywhere else we’ve stayed. In all my vacations, I have never had a more enjoyable experience. Save us a room Jorge, particularly 13-304 cause’, God willing, we’ll be back to see you in November!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvarOjeda, Manager at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Jeff.

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad your first impression was positive. Here in Vista Playa de Oro, we feel fortunate to be in such a beautiful city, very safe very quiet. Gladly share your comments with our partners, about how well you perceived our service. Jorge will take care of everything for your return.

Gracias Amigo, and see you soon.

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Jorge Ramos, one of the managers, at this all inclusive has made sure that we have a great time and have a fantastic vacation for the past 12 years for our group of 2 to 12 at the Vista.
The hotel is only $35 ride from the airport and takes about 30 minutes. You can see the banana and pepper fields as you leave the airport

The staff in Reception are good bilingual speakers as is much of the the staff and registration is always easy and smooth. They give a good rate on currency conversion, too, but, we don't exchange many or our dollars as the hotel is truly all inclusive.

We always get the room we want or an upscaled substitute at no additional cost. It is always clean, roomy and in good shape.

The food service in 2 snack bars and 4 restaurants is buffet family style and very good as it includes soups, salads, fresh bakery goodies, entrees such as fresh fish, barbecued beef, turkey, pork, ham and individual prepared eggs. The desserts at lunch and dinner include "milk cake" and flan and other "on I'm on vacation" goodies.

There are 3 all inclusive bars at the hotel and on the beach for guests offering fun soft drinks for the kids, beer, tequila, rum or vodka drinks for the adults. The brands are all Mexican ones which are very good and fun to try.

I prefer the beach, so I don't use the pools very much. There is a large pool for the family and 2 smaller ones for children. The beach is the highlight at the Vista for our group. Umbrellas and chairs are provided and the beach is generally very clean. The surf is okay for surfing and great for boogie boards and body surfing. Waves often crest at 8 feet so be sure to join your children in the water. The sunsets on the beach and at the hotel are quite fine. You can see more than one at your stay as the weather in the winter is clear with an average temperature
of 82-845F.

Each night after dinner there is live entertainment such as musical reviews, pirate shows etc.. These are held in the large outdoor theater on property. The are good fun are are on a par with community theater here are home. There are also zip lines, wall climbing, miniature golf and tennis courts that are enjoyed by many of the teens and younger guests.

It is difficult for us to get good air connections from the US to Manzanillo as the only direct flights are from Phoenix, Houston and LA. Our airfare is generally between $600 to $700.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 1,2,and 3 are closest to the pools and restaurants which makes them nosiest on Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have just returned from our 9th annual year in beautiful Manzanillo, Mexico. As usual, Playa de Oro was our "home" for two weeks. We were greeted warmly with hugs and smiles from the Staff and our check-in went smoothly and quickly. The cleaniness of our room was impeccable, the beach warm and welcoming, the food plentiful there was always something we wanted to eat. My computer froze up one of the first days, and George Ramos, the hotel's "go-to guy" arranged for their IT employee to check it out and ultimately install a new keyboard for me. See George for any of your needs or to arrange side trips while you are here. He is fluent in both Spanish and English and tremendously knowledgable. We felt catered to and it was with great sadness that our two weeks were over so quickly. We definitely have our rooms booked for next year and look forward to returning again. The only negative we experienced was not the fault of the resort or of Manzanillo itself, but rather the airline. When we first start going, it was a short 4 hour flight from Minneapolis/St.Paul to Manzanillo. Now, because of there being no direct flights, it takes us over 10 hours to get there and get home. Losing almost a full day to travel both coming and going is definitely discouraging.

Room Tip: Playa de Oro is built on a hill. If you don't mind steps, the further up the hill you go the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired54751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias C, Gerente at Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was gratifying for us reading and share with our staff your comments. We are honored that you consider us home here in this magical place in Mexico, Manzanillo certainly has a unique charm. Speaking of Vista Playa de Oro comes with the great work of Jorge Ramos; we appreciate your recognition of his work.
We want to increase international flights to Manzanillo, especially form Minneapolis, St. Paul and Wisconsin; so we hope agencies take action soon on this matter.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you return next year.
Gracias Amigos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The rooms aren't anything spectacular, but the staff was super friendly and it was low key which was perfect for us. The beach is across the street, but they always have someone there to stop traffic (literally!) so you can walk over to the beach. The beach was never busy and there is a convenient bar to order drinks. We opted not to do the all-inclusive (through RCI) but found that big cups of anything were only 35 pesos anyway - such a deal!

We also noticed this hotel is where a lot of locals vacation, so we were one of the few americans at that time, which was not a big deal - just pointing out that it's mostly locals and not many tourists. The rooms were spacious and clean, definitely setup for families.

I wouldn't recommend the all-inclusive if you have that option. We didn't and enjoyed the food elsewhere probably more than at the hotel, but the food was decent so no complaints, we just like variety.

Another great perk about this hotel and probably Manzanillo in general is that we didn't encounter the begging or people constantly bombarding us with selling items on the beach or sidewalks. Occasionally, but not overwhelming compared to other Mexican cities we've been to. We also felt COMPLETELY safe.

Restaurants I would recommend: Juanitos - great for quick but great food, Oasis - nicer dinner and food with great presentation, El Fagaro - great food. There was also a steakhouse now that I can't remember the name of that was just okay. Margaritas (the restaurant close to the hotel) is actually quite good and not very expensive. If you are staying at this hotel, you also get a discount.

Anyway, great place to spend a relaxing vacation and the weather was AMAZING!

Room Tip: The condos are great because they have small kitchens, which also include blenders :) So because we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
3.1 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo

Property: Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
Address: Blvd. Miguel de la Madrid | S/N, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill side, across the street from the beach, this beautiful hotel resembles a Mexican village town with cobble streets and clay tile roofs. This family-oriented All Inclusive resort is at only 15 minutes from downtown Manzanillo and only 20 minutes from the international airport. It has 250 rooms, with Mexican contemporary decoration. Services included are one Buffet Restaurant, one themed restaurant with alternated Italian and Caribbean menu. four bars, Palapa snack bar, Beach snack-bar • Tennis courts (not lighted), two Zip-lines (One for adults and one for children), Wall climbing, Children’s Club, Baby Club, Pool tables, Gym , Mini-golf, Safety deposit boxes at reception, wireless internet in public areas. The property also has a nice beachfront restaurant with a seafood menu, for an additional charge. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is also open for locals. All rooms feature one king sized bed or two twin sized beds. Maximum occupancy per room is three adults or two adults and two children. Children under 11 stay for free, one child per paying adult. Maximum 2 children per room.Activities for children also include a weekly camp-out night, supervised by our entertainment staff, as well as a fun Pirate Treasure Hunt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Playa De Oro Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing