We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Travelled with a group of 66 (from Ontario and Alberta) for my son's wedding and just returned on the 23rd. Had an absolutely wonderful time. The resort is nicely laid out, rooms were spacious and very clean (huge bathroom), plenty of dining options (wasn't hard to find something you like - fresh egg making station at breakfast and fresh pasta station for dinner). The Italian and Mexican a la cartes were both excellent (didn't get to the Japanese myself, but many of our friends said it was the best).

The wedding ceremony and reception that they provided was amazing! Created some wonderful memories.

The weather was top notch - never had on long pants or long sleeves. Plenty of pool and beach chairs. Went on deep sea fishing excursion (28 went on 4 boats) and 14 of us went on a snorkelling tour right from the hotel beach.

Only negative - trip was too short :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chicken19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for the great feedback of your holiday experience at our Barceló Karmina; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 3,226 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Vacationed in Dec. 2011. Beautiful, picture perfect setting, small beach, but was not important as we knew about it. We did not pay much attention to food (breakfast was nice, lunch and dinner a disaster) at the start as we were smitten with its beauty. As we stayed and tried buffet and a la cart, everything was prepared hours in advance, huge variety, all cold and unappetizing, same opinion from many that were there from Vancouver. we just wanted to have something cooked for you hot, not in advance, but were getting a awefull burger with frozen french fries, panini was with uneatable foul tasting goat cheese and salty old prochutto. The dinner entrees were just as bad to the point that we dreaded to go to the restaurant. The service was very good on arrival, but got progressively worse as hotel filled in towards the weekend. They are just not ready to service a full house. The intertainment was very nice, on the par with the much better resorts in Cancun. The rooms were nice, some problems with hot water during the weekend evenings (full resort). A good chef could bring this up as the place is very picturesque, too bad...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moshemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your stay in our Barceló Karmina hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This was my second time back in 3 years.
Let me start with the negative and that's the very small beach.
It's no more than 80 yards in length and is strewn with rocks in much of it.
There is a beach either side of the property and you need to ask the security guard
to open the gate to allow you access.
Everything else about the Karmina is more than satisfactory.
The grounds are immaculate,the food choices are quite good,the smallest junior suites are
six times larger than the typical hotel room in London or Paris,the hot water in the shower is constant, and the staff are friendly and attentive.
I have never been to the same resort twice until this one and that speaks volumes.
If you have an hour to spend,I have included below a photo link(s) that attempts to portray
just how beautiful this little corner of the world really is.
Just copy/paste the URL in your browser and enjoy....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/karmina_one/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/karmina_two/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/karmina_three/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/karmina_four/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/karmina_five/

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanview on the 6th floor or higher so that you are above the treetops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pacific_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Karmina hotel for your holidays in Karmina and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have just returned from a two week vacation at the Karmina Palace and it didn't disappoint. Our flight times through Transat were the only major issue. I was concerned a room wouldn't be ready for us because we arrived at the hotel around 9:00am but check-in was fast and our room was ready so we were able to change and enjoy the day - even though we were quite jetlagged. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. The beds are a bit hard- ok very hard - but you can get a "topper" to soften it up. Just ask the front desk. We were in room 2023 and had a quiet view of the 17th hole. You definately get a better view from higher up but we prefer to not have to rely on the elevators so it worked well for us. The rooms are very soundproof. There was a wedding one evening that had a live band so it was difficult to sleep, but we had been advised about the wedding days earlier and were offered earplugs at the front desk, didn't bother, so our fault lol. The food is fantastic. We only talked to one gentleman that was unimpressed. He said there was the same thing everyday. Yes, there was chicken, pork, beef, fish, pasta, salads, etc etc etc. Personally I don't know of many more animals you could put in a buffet and how many other ways to cook them. haha. My recommendation is that you don't try everything at every meal then that leaves something new to try the next day. The staff is very friendly and try their very best to speak english. If you don't speak Spanish and want to be on a holiday where you can be totally understood don't go to a Country where the official language is spanish. We didn't do much of anything but relax and meet a lot of wonderful people. Even though the last thing I want to do is to go to a meeting,I do recommend sitting in on the "welcome meeting". They have a lot of great information regarding currency, atms, best internet cafes, where the best deals on liquor and the best restaurants off the resort, the time of day that you may see whales and the price of a phone call etc. The only "touristy" thing we did was to take the City Tour. It was only $20.00 each and we were out for almost 4 hours - great way to see the area. Make sure however that you are booking the open air bus unless you want to spend a lot of time in an air conditioned van. I don't go to Mexico to be cold !!! The weather was fantastic - about 28-30. There were a couple of days when there was a bit of cloud cover but it was still hot. I could go on forever but I won't - would I go back - yes :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetheweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Karmina hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed Jan. 10 - 17th, 2012. The people at the resort and in the surrounding area were all very friendly.
The rooms were quite large with the bathroom having a jacuzzi tub and a shower. Our bed was a king size and was extremely hard. By the time our holiday was drawing to a close, our backs were beginning to get sore. The living room furniture (chair and sofa bed) were average but beginning to show their age. This resort was built 12 years ago and it is doubtful that it has seen any renovations or upgrading since that time. Parts of the room did show some age (chips in the paint to the drawers/closet) and some areas had small amounts of mold which is fairly common in this type of climate. I thought it was great that you could set the bathroom fan speed - it was very helpful at night time to set it to high to help drown out any noise from surrounding suites. Most nights were fairly quiet but pretty noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.
The food was good. The best meal we had was at the Japanese a la carte restaurant - Kyoto. If you go to the Italian a la carte restaurant, ask them to prepare 'spanish coffee' for dessert. It is not on the menu, but if you request it they will make it. The preparation is quite the show! I'm sure that is why it isn't listed on the menu as it takes a lot of work for them to make. If you order it, ensure to give your server a healthy tip!
The resort grounds were beautiful and well tended. The only time that any garbage or empty ucups were to be seen, it was obviously left during the night by those partying out late. This was quickly cleaned up during the morning by staff.
We went on the Ecotour which was fabulous - we got to release baby sea turtles into the Pacific! We also went on a city tour of Manzanillo which was quite interesting.
Drinks were like any all inclusive.....sometimes it seemed like they were very watered down and other times they were fine.
The pools were good. We stayed at the Adults only whirlpool area as it was quieter and we didn't have our kids with us on this holiday so we didn't want to listen to other's kids. LOL!!!
We didn't swim at the beach at this resort. The beach is very tiny and lots of days the ocean smelled very fishy.
Big mix of people here. Mostly Canadians and Mexicans as far as we could tell.Lots of families with children, seniors, couples, big partying groups of young people. There seemed to be something for everything.
This was our second trip to Mexico. We might come back to the Karmina Palace in Manzanillo but we thought our first trip to an Iberostar in the Mayan was heads and shoulders above this one.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the top floor, request it. You won't hear people above you at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Karmina hotel for your holidays in Manzanillo and for the review, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My mother, sister and I chose Manzanillo this year for our Christmas Vacation.
There was a direct flight going from MB to Manzanillo via Air Transat & a deal with regards to this hotel. The hotel is rated 4 - 4.5 stars. The rating is very accurate. Very very nice hotel.
It resembles Velas Vallarta (In Puerto Vallarta). Lots of greenery, U-shaped layout, 7-pools, 3 à la cartes (Italian, Japanese & Mexican), snack bar & general Buffet. The hotel is located in a bay, so it's a private ocean front beach. No hagglers. A couple things about Manzanillo:
- It's a fishing city. Lots of sail boats. There is an active volcano nearby.
- Very under developed. They're encouraging people to visit in order to increase their economy. Therefore we tipped a lot even if we were all inclusive.
- The main city was located 30 minutes from the hotel. I highly recommend going to visit it. That's where you can go get souvenirs and get some traditional Mexican style food.
- Not a lot of people speak English. Even in the resort. This wasn't a downside in anyway, just so that you are aware.
Now in regards to the hotel. We are red wine drinkers and the wine was very drinkable. Food was really good. Breakfast was a little greasy. The buffet restaurant was great. Lunch was very good too, lots of variety. The Japanese à la carte was our favorite. No one got sick from the food in any way. The resort is very family oriented. Lots of activities for kids. There was a pool slide and a children's center. During our stay, there was a themed show every night from 9-10:30pm. It was really good. New Year’s Eve was amazing. Tables were set up on the left side of the hotel facing the ocean. There was a live Jazz band playing during dinner, you got Champagne, table service all night, cocktails when you first walked in and got to your table, there was an abundance of food, lots of seafood (crab legs, lobster, shrimp, prawns), you received party favors at your table. When the clock stroke midnight, there were fireworks. Because the hotel was situated in a bay, you can see the main city to you left and other hotels. Even those places set off fireworks. It was beautiful.
There isn't a whole lot to do in the city however in the next couple years I'm sure things will develop and prosper. Overall we had a wonderful experience. Best all-inclusive resort we've ever been too (we've been to Mexico 9 times already and to more than one city in Mexico). We highly recommend this hotel and location.

Room Tip: There are 7 floors. Great view from floor 5 and up. Hotel in a U shape facing the ocean. Get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Commenting_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your visit to our Barcelo Karmina hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We are a family of 5 ranging from 75 to 14. We all had a wonderful time. The activity staff (Cristian, Roger and Omar) are fantastic! All the staff are very accomodating. The rooms are 900 square feet with a huge bathroom, very clean with a bedroom and then 2 steps down a sitting area there are 2 tvs in each room which the kids loved. The buffet and all 3 restaurants were great. Lots of variety. Christmas Gala dinner was very nice, outside and the staff put on the nutcracker which was a nice treat. The New Years Gala was incredible, full live band with big screen tvs it was awesome and a Mexican show which was also very good. We danced till 2 in the morning and the fireworks what a sight. The beach is a 5 minute walk and it is a long beach. The cove at the hotel was perfect for snorkeling didn't have to leave the resort. If you have any questions please let me know.We went for 2 weeks, this is a 4th trip to Mexico and this was one of the best!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank golembio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#23 of 51 in Manzanillo
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#13 of 51 in Manzanillo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 51 in Manzanillo
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 51 in Manzanillo
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tesoro Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo
#6 of 51 in Manzanillo
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £133 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing