We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Master Suite Disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
California City, California
1 review
“Master Suite Disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Resort it self was nice but the master suite did not reflect much on the price, I believe we paid too much for what we got!!!! the furniture in the suite was not clean specially the couch was old, dirty and wore out so bad the color on the arm rest was faded.
The last day there we got a big storm and water was leaking everywhere even in the closets and when we checked-out the lady didnt even care about the issue we even mentioned that the water leaking was going in to the TV and she completely ignored us, this is definitely NOT what you expect to happen on a 5 star resort suite.
We paid too much for what we got!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adriana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Adriana E;

Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Karmina. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Kind regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    963
    334
    152
    99
See reviews for
1,164
853
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in 2010 for 2 weeks. The hotel is very nice. Beach not huge but still nice. This was our first trip to manzanillo . The rooms are huge, bathroom amazing!!! Miramar beach is worth checking out as well as the turtle tour and the zip lining was so fun! I love this area and hope to return soon! Who knows maybe 2014 as I'm just planning my next vacation!
C.Meyers
Manitoba , Canada

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystallionM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CrystallionM;

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Karmina hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Ok. I must say the place has a nice vibe and feel to it. Too bad the staff is not very well trained and they just don't seem to communicate among themselves. The quality vs. value for the 'all inclusive' food and beverages - in my opinion, is just not good at all! We have been to a couple of 'all inclusive resorts' and have had also good and bad experiences and this was one of the bad ones. I think, in order to cut cost or keep it low...for fruity drinks, they make them too sweet so you only drink a couple of them and not more. The food is just average, nothing like the pictures in their website.
The facilities - you can tell the place needs some attention/upgrade - I'm sure when it first opened it was really nice....10 or 12 years ago! The room we stayed in had a bad odor coming from the shower drain. The safe didn't work - it had a big hole cut out right where the dial supposed to be! The closet doors didn't work very well and the lights didn't shut when closing the doors....cause it is hard to close them. The sofa in the living room has lost it's cushion padding. Needs to be re-upholstered. TV's are outdated. The outdoor facilities look nice. But if you go in peak season, summertime, beware....it's going to be packed! Even if you go to the 'adult pool' you will be seeing families with kids, babies in diapers in the adult pool! It seems like we kept calling the front desk at all times to have them come and enforce the adult only code! You can only imagine how crowded and crazy the other areas were if those same people with families didn't want to be there either! Sorry, we don't have kids and being we saw they had an adult pool & hot tub - we thought we would consider this resort but little did we know the signs don't matter and people just choose to not follow the rules! At our check-in we faced a very disappointing scenario which had to do with the reservation company, here in the States - Travelocity - which had not submitted payment for my family's stay (my husband and I made the reservations separately with a different company using reward points - there was no issues with this reservation). Despite Travelocity already withdrawing the funds for the whole stay - in other words, we pre-paid for my 3 family member's stay in advance and Travelocity had this payment for a whole month! But upon arrival, the lady (which seem to be the only one that knew what she was doing - no help whatsoever from the back office or a manager or even the Hotel manager!) at the front desk said, since they had not received payment from us/Travelocity, I would have to open an account or voucher for the stay and incidentals for my family and basically pay again! She insisted that I had not paid yet and so, I would have to pay them in order to get the room key. I had to call Travelocity...twice! And still the matter ended up not getting resolved...after 2 hours waiting! Again, not only because of Travelocity, but because of the lack of help at the front desk! At the end, they gave us the key and we tried to enjoy our couple of days 'relaxing' in the adult pool! Anyway, upon checking out....well...the payment matter was still not resolved and this time, they were not going to let us eave until we either pay in full or once again call Travelocity - this time I told them I was NOT going to use my cell to call to try to figure out their issues between them cause I had already paid and so, this time they did call Travelocity and i asked to speak with a supervisor b/c I knew the customer service person was not going to be able to help me so Travelocity's customer service person transferred me to a supervisor, which I could not understand! I asked where he was located and he said: India!!! I'm at this point so far mad that I just told the front desk lady you guys need to figure this out....this is no longer my problem and Barcelo and Travelocity need to figure out how they can obtain payment from eachother! I stayed on the phone with this guy in India for almost another hr and then all of the sudden somebody from the back comes out and tells me....'oh everything is good Mam, you can go now! Travelocity needed to email us the correct credit card number NOT fax it and so, we got it all figured out!' All while I was on the line with this guy and he didn't even know what was goi on! Oh my! I guess, is is going to be a double review for this resort and Travelocity! What a bummer to have to go thru this in the start of our vacation....and in the end of it!! Never again will I be traveling to a resort in Mexico in peak season or all inclusive and at this point, I'm not sure if I will ever use Travelocity ever again! Too bad as I loved the Gnome and the fact that they sponsor my very favorite show: The Amazing Race! We did use them once before for a trip to Las Vegas, so I guess we are 1-1 in the satisfaction rate for them. We don't know if we will be giving them a chance to improve this score. MJ 8/2013

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su opinión sobre el hotel Barceló Karmina. De hecho, por lo que usted describe, parece que algunos aspectos de su estancia no cumplieron con nuestras normas habituales de servicio; por favor, acepte nuestras más sinceras disculpas por no hacer de su estancia con nosotros un momento perfecto de relajación y apreciamos enormemente que se haya tomado tiempo para hacérnoslo saber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We´ve been there the last week of June this year. When we arrived the looby was too crowded and as a result the service and reception were slow and bad. Fortunately the day we arrived many guest were leaving so the days after were great. The facilities are not new but well manteined. The beach and pools very for kids. (we have one) Food and drinks ok, nothing great, just ok. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Le damos las gracias por compartir su opinión sobre sus vacaciones con nosotros, nuestro principal objetivo es asegurar que seguimos ofreciendo experiencias inolvidables a nuestros huéspedes y sus comentarios nos ayudan a ello. Apreciamos el tiempo que ha dedicado en compartir sus opiniones y comentarios constructivos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Barcelo was the best hotel we have been to in Manzanillo. We have been to several over the past 15 years. We rented two rooms for 8 people. The food, rooms and service was very good. We enjoyed the beach very much, I think we snorkeled every day during our stay. Some of the pools were closed during our stay but overall it was great. I am however still trying to correct the 169.00 dollars overcharge that was added to my bill, which I didn't notice until we left. I had no charges to the rooms such as room service or internet. The hotels answer to me was that I should have said something at check out. We all would love to return to Barcelo so we will see if they correct this for us. The overcharge is our ONLY complaint. We had a great time.

Room Tip: The main floor Jr Deluxe rooms are perfectly sized and convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Le damos las gracias por compartir su opinión sobre sus vacaciones con nosotros, nuestro principal objetivo es asegurar que seguimos ofreciendo experiencias inolvidables a nuestros huéspedes y sus comentarios nos ayudan a ello. Apreciamos el tiempo que ha dedicado en compartir sus opiniones y comentarios constructivos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were there on Jan, the 16 2013 for the second time at the Barceló in Manzanillo, The
Rooms are great, Food was great, the service was outstanding, Ricardo Palafox, Manuel
and Carlos Manager at the Buffet, looked after us very well, The grounds and the Pools
are fantastic, But!!!, check in was very bad. we had Room 4209 reserved and had it confirmed
by E-Mail, but Hugo Martinez refused to give us the Room even when it was empty, after
35 minutes of run arounds, he finally said you can have the Room, which was very
upsetting for us, since we were celebrating our 25Th Wedding Anniversary, so in April 2013
we went to the Barceló in Huatulco,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
En Barceló estamos convencidos de que siempre hay margen de mejora y sus comentarios ayudarán a nuestro equipo en sus continuos esfuerzos encaminados a satisfacer las expectativas de nuestros huéspedes, por ello agradecemos enormemente el tiempo que ha dedicado a compartir con nosotros sus críticas constructivas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

When we walked in to hotel,we didn't exept see such beauty...the view of the pools and the ocean was breathtaking.The staff ay the hotel vas very attentive and firendly,the made our sray perfect-five stars for them!!!
Rooms here clean and good sizes,with nice balcony.The pools are very nice and fun to play.We will return to Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe my next trip !!It was perfect!!.The grounds were beautifull& impeccably maitened,and the food in resteurants were all delicious.
Georgeus,beauty and greate hotel !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Yola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your stay at Barceló Karmina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing