We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, although I did not stay for a holiday”
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, although I did not stay for a holiday”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What can I say, I loved this hotel from start to finish. I didn't stay here for a holiday, but for work. As such I did not use the hotel as an all inclusive resort but as a normal hotel base, some meals in, some out with limited time to explore the facilities.

What did I like, the room was great, HUGE, with lots of room to relax and work. I'll admit that the sofa had seen better days, but apart from that it was fine. The bathroom was equally massive and luxurious.

I didn't interact with the staff much, but when I did I found them friendly and courteous. They would accommodate my lack of Spanish with friendliness. I had arrived quite early in the day (breakfast time!) and they found me a room within the hour with no problems.

The buffet selection at breakfast and lunch was very wide and varied, the problem was not what to eat, but how to have a little from so many dishes that I could try them all.

Physically the hotel was beautiful and a pleasure to walk around, the Aztec themed architecture was done well and worked on the massive scale. The sound of the waves breaking on the beach was a lovely backdrop in most parts of the hotel that faced the sea.

Whilst it seems unlikely I would happily go back here with my family if travel times from Europe were less.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Dear YBOD98;

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your stay at Barceló Karmina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Kind regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,416
    1,005
    348
    161
    103
See reviews for
1,229
890
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

========== THE HOTEL & GROUNDS ===============

Great and spacious reception area, quick service since I showed up almost at 10 pm. I was stopping in the area just for one day. I had opportunity to stop by the buffet for dinner, having been to the Caribbean side of Mexico, the buffet was below my expectations for a hotel in this tier.

The Wifi on the lobby area could include coverage in the downstairs too, as it is spotty there. The grounds are really well maintained, and are part of the "Las hadas" golf course. It has a really nice walkway that goes all around to the front side and overlooks the ocean.

On the north/left side of the hotel there is a locked exit/entrance to the public beach. I'm not sure if this is open at any point, but the ocean is wild, and was very tempted to head over to check it out. I wish there was a way to do this.

There are a lot of pools, but only a few were "running", and there was a "in between seasons" feeling as the water was not circulating from pool to pool. On any case, I wasn't here for the pools, but for the ocean, so I didn't mind.

The tourism here is mostly local, which is good for a change.

========== SERVICE AND RESERVATION ===============

I made a reservation the day before my arrival, and the service was excellent. I made the reservation directly on their website, as I found it to be the best option. There is no valet parking, so you will unload your luggage at the entrance, and then drive your car to the parking below. The parking is closed overnight for security, so if you want to go out you may want to park outside. The reception desk was attentive and courteous.


============= THE BEACH ===============

I had the opportunity to spend a few hours on the beach. I believe this is a man-made beach, as the cove keeps the wild ocean out, and reduces the swells of water to a mild level.

Unfortunately, it also means that the water is a little stale. There are some large rock formations in the area where the waves break in the beach, around the middle section. The sand is somewhere between soft and rocky.


============= THE BUFFET ===============

The following morning I stopped by the buffet, and the food was again below expectations on variety and quality.

I left with the impression that the buffet is open for service to people not staying at the hotel, but just going there for breakfast. This was not a bad thing, its just that it was busy, while the rest of the hotel was pretty much deserted.

Later I realized that I might have been able to have breakfast at one of the restaurants, but I was not really told about my breakfast/dinning options the night of my arrival. I probably should've asked.

============== THE ROOM =============

I was very pleased with the bedding, however the room was on the first floor, therefore it was dark and the furniture did not match the beautiful pictures posted on the website.

A piece of advice to hotel management - I understand there are pricing tiers, and people should know what to expect when they are making reservations. In other words, I would be willing to pay for an upgrade, if I had been given a clear picture of what I was getting. I would've called the tier I was assigned, the old and dark rooms on the first floor :-) I'm sure people will be willing to take that for a price break.

Now the positive, I really liked that they had shampoo, conditioner and body wash on a wall dispenser. That is more environmentally friendly than producing mini containers and generating a ton of plastic waste.

The bed was great!

============ OVERALL ==============

It was an ok stay, however I think there's got to be something better out there, so I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Check the options on the hotel's website, you will find the most options there :) and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aortoll_con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Dear aortoll_con;

In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics.

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The property was great. However the food was average.
Few staff we spoke to very friendly.
Didn't enjoy plastic glasses for drinks, luckily we brought our own.
Nightly show very good.
Found the golf course and staff there very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Dear Keith M;

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your stay at Barceló Karmina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and to say it is a palace would be true to form. This palce has something for everyone. You really do not need to leave the hotel. It is all inclusive but also has 3 separate restaurants to eat at. It is a great place for families as there is plenty for the kids to do as well. There are pools for kids and also pools just for adults. As an adult, the way to go is as a memeber of Club Premier. We upgraded to an ocean front room and has access to the the Club Premier lounge for the duration of the trip and was privy to all the amenities associated with The Club Premier. If ever back in Manzanillo, this is where I would be staying again.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room on the 6th floor or above for a view of the bay and the grounds of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murphy100904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Google Translation
Estimado Murphy100904;

Queremos darle las gracias por compartir esta opinión sobre su estancia en el Barceló Karmina. Estamos encantados de que haya disfrutado de su estancia y coincidimos con usted en que nuestro atento personal juega un papel clave en la experiencia global de nuestros huéspedes. Todo el equipo trabaja muy duro para garantizar que ofrecemos un servicio de alta calidad y una experiencia diferente y memorable.

Saludos cordiales,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Resort it self was nice but the master suite did not reflect much on the price, I believe we paid too much for what we got!!!! the furniture in the suite was not clean specially the couch was old, dirty and wore out so bad the color on the arm rest was faded.
The last day there we got a big storm and water was leaking everywhere even in the closets and when we checked-out the lady didnt even care about the issue we even mentioned that the water leaking was going in to the TV and she completely ignored us, this is definitely NOT what you expect to happen on a 5 star resort suite.
We paid too much for what we got!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adriana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Dear Adriana E;

Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Karmina. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Kind regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in 2010 for 2 weeks. The hotel is very nice. Beach not huge but still nice. This was our first trip to manzanillo . The rooms are huge, bathroom amazing!!! Miramar beach is worth checking out as well as the turtle tour and the zip lining was so fun! I love this area and hope to return soon! Who knows maybe 2014 as I'm just planning my next vacation!
C.Meyers
Manitoba , Canada

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystallionM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Dear CrystallionM;

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Karmina hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Kind Regards,

Silvia Galarza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Ok. I must say the place has a nice vibe and feel to it. Too bad the staff is not very well trained and they just don't seem to communicate among themselves. The quality vs. value for the 'all inclusive' food and beverages - in my opinion, is just not good at all! We have been to a couple of 'all inclusive resorts' and have had also good and bad experiences and this was one of the bad ones. I think, in order to cut cost or keep it low...for fruity drinks, they make them too sweet so you only drink a couple of them and not more. The food is just average, nothing like the pictures in their website.
The facilities - you can tell the place needs some attention/upgrade - I'm sure when it first opened it was really nice....10 or 12 years ago! The room we stayed in had a bad odor coming from the shower drain. The safe didn't work - it had a big hole cut out right where the dial supposed to be! The closet doors didn't work very well and the lights didn't shut when closing the doors....cause it is hard to close them. The sofa in the living room has lost it's cushion padding. Needs to be re-upholstered. TV's are outdated. The outdoor facilities look nice. But if you go in peak season, summertime, beware....it's going to be packed! Even if you go to the 'adult pool' you will be seeing families with kids, babies in diapers in the adult pool! It seems like we kept calling the front desk at all times to have them come and enforce the adult only code! You can only imagine how crowded and crazy the other areas were if those same people with families didn't want to be there either! Sorry, we don't have kids and being we saw they had an adult pool & hot tub - we thought we would consider this resort but little did we know the signs don't matter and people just choose to not follow the rules! At our check-in we faced a very disappointing scenario which had to do with the reservation company, here in the States - Travelocity - which had not submitted payment for my family's stay (my husband and I made the reservations separately with a different company using reward points - there was no issues with this reservation). Despite Travelocity already withdrawing the funds for the whole stay - in other words, we pre-paid for my 3 family member's stay in advance and Travelocity had this payment for a whole month! But upon arrival, the lady (which seem to be the only one that knew what she was doing - no help whatsoever from the back office or a manager or even the Hotel manager!) at the front desk said, since they had not received payment from us/Travelocity, I would have to open an account or voucher for the stay and incidentals for my family and basically pay again! She insisted that I had not paid yet and so, I would have to pay them in order to get the room key. I had to call Travelocity...twice! And still the matter ended up not getting resolved...after 2 hours waiting! Again, not only because of Travelocity, but because of the lack of help at the front desk! At the end, they gave us the key and we tried to enjoy our couple of days 'relaxing' in the adult pool! Anyway, upon checking out....well...the payment matter was still not resolved and this time, they were not going to let us eave until we either pay in full or once again call Travelocity - this time I told them I was NOT going to use my cell to call to try to figure out their issues between them cause I had already paid and so, this time they did call Travelocity and i asked to speak with a supervisor b/c I knew the customer service person was not going to be able to help me so Travelocity's customer service person transferred me to a supervisor, which I could not understand! I asked where he was located and he said: India!!! I'm at this point so far mad that I just told the front desk lady you guys need to figure this out....this is no longer my problem and Barcelo and Travelocity need to figure out how they can obtain payment from eachother! I stayed on the phone with this guy in India for almost another hr and then all of the sudden somebody from the back comes out and tells me....'oh everything is good Mam, you can go now! Travelocity needed to email us the correct credit card number NOT fax it and so, we got it all figured out!' All while I was on the line with this guy and he didn't even know what was goi on! Oh my! I guess, is is going to be a double review for this resort and Travelocity! What a bummer to have to go thru this in the start of our vacation....and in the end of it!! Never again will I be traveling to a resort in Mexico in peak season or all inclusive and at this point, I'm not sure if I will ever use Travelocity ever again! Too bad as I loved the Gnome and the fact that they sponsor my very favorite show: The Amazing Race! We did use them once before for a trip to Las Vegas, so I guess we are 1-1 in the satisfaction rate for them. We don't know if we will be giving them a chance to improve this score. MJ 8/2013

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su opinión sobre el hotel Barceló Karmina. De hecho, por lo que usted describe, parece que algunos aspectos de su estancia no cumplieron con nuestras normas habituales de servicio; por favor, acepte nuestras más sinceras disculpas por no hacer de su estancia con nosotros un momento perfecto de relajación y apreciamos enormemente que se haya tomado tiempo para hacérnoslo saber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
240 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#18 of 53 in Manzanillo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#8 of 53 in Manzanillo
125 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Barcelo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing