We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel / Rude reception staff”
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our family stayed at the Barcelo from March 14 - March 21, 2014.

On arrival we were very quickly checked in and given our room keys. There is no help with bags unless basically begged for so be ready to carry everything to your room yourself.

The room we stayed in was very clean with the exception of the leaking air conditioner ( wet floors....accident waiting to happen ) and the hard beds. But really, the beds were what you'd expect from any hotel. The air in the room though...we all had sore throats and stuffy noses from the air conditioning in the room. We talked to many people who had the same complaint. Stale, mouldy smelling air coming through the vents.

The food was awesome! We have stayed at several all inclusive in Mexico and I can say without a doubt that the buffets were the best we've had so far. The buffet beside the Japanese restaurant was very excellent for each meal. We also went to the Japanese, Italian and Mexican dinner which were all very lovely.

The pools were very clean as was the beach. Loads of staff! There were so many beach servers and you rarely waited more than 5 minutes before someone was asking what they could bring you to drink. These guys work very hard and are out in that heat all day in full uniform fetching drinks and deserve big tips! We asked around a lot and found out the waiters and beach servers only make about 45 pesos per day so make sure you tip generously as these servers really are amazing!

The same 15 songs played in the pool area all day, every day and that was annoying. I suggest bringing headphones and your own music unless you want to hear Dirty Bit, YMCA and Gangnam Style all the time.

The maid was awesome in our room and would leave extra beer or water when we asked. The sheets are changed every 3 days so make sure that you don't get any sand in your bed in between changes!

The front desk guys were really rude and insulting. We were told we'd have free wifi then a a day before our trip we got an email saying the hotel had changed providers and that we would have to pay $7 per day which is insane because there is no actual out of pocket expense for them to let me use their wifi. On arrival we were told it was not $14 per day and that we could only use it in the lobby. When I told the clerk that this was quite expensive and that we were told it would be $7 just the day before he answered, " Well, what do you want me to do? Do you want it or not? "

I had a massage at the spa which was heavenly. The spa itself is clean and very inviting.
The grounds are very clean. Very clean beach and lots of great snorkelling in the lagoon....so many fish!
If you get a chance see Jeremy at the towel bar and book the snorkelling from the resort ( and get a group rate if you can snag some people to go with you...that brings the price down to $30 each ). It was amazing and our guide was so cool.

Overall this was a fabulous resort though I would not stay again. There wasn't enough for the kids to do so next time I'd pick a resort with a waterpark. There was one small slide though that was really fast and very fun!

If you are looking for a relaxing time I recommended the Barcelo!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Day T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Day T,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time in commenting your recent experience among us. We appreciate all comments and take them very seriously, these comments help us improve and continue offering the great service we are accustomed to.

Our bell boys are always there to help our guests take their luggage to their suites, we will certainly reinforce this so that there will always one available.
We are currently working on a project which includes renovations for the suites; we hope that on your next visit we you can enjoy of these improvements.

We happy to read that you enjoyed our food this is something that characterizes us: good, quality food for everyone. And the pool service offered they are indeed hard working.
Regarding the internet issues, we truly lament that the transition from being free to have an additional charge happened during our stay, in this case there isn’t a best day to make the change as we must follow the company’s policy of charging the WiFi. During your visit, we were changing the supplier and unfortunately the service was only available at the lobby. None the less, I would like to comment that our Club Premium guests will receive the free WiFi access.
We will certainly look into your comment of our front desk staff, believe us our guests satisfaction are the most important for us.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests. We have taken notes of your observations on the services we can improve so we can continue offering our guests the service they deserve.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 3,446 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Manzanillo Karmina Palace
We returned to the Karmina Palace after 3years trying other resorts. The hotel has been well kept and is still in good shape. The grounds and layout are as good or better than any resort we have been to and we have been to many. The grounds are well manicured and the pools sparkling clean. All the areas are separated by lots of vegetation that breaks the area up and provides a sense of privacy even when the hotel is near capacity. The only negative is that the furniture in the rooms and in the lobby is very old and worn and is in desperate need of replacing.

The food is better this time than last and I would rate the food at the al a carts as quite good. Our favorite was the Capri followed by the Japanese then the Mexican but all were good to very good. We ate in the buffet for breakfast and lunch and there was decent variety and quality. We also ate lunch at the Capri and they had menu service now which was a nice change from our last visit as you don’t tend to eat as much. They have recently changed their reservation system where you can book your al a carts for the week, Sunday to Sunday. The down side of this is that we arrived on Tuesday and almost all of the times were taken. We were able to get our 3 reservations but not on the nights we wanted and they were between 8:00 and 8:45 even though we prefer to eat around 6:30. We prefer the Dreams as they are first come first serve with no reservations and we have never had to wait more than 15 minutes which was just enough time to have a drink.

The room was cleaned very well and the fridge was fully stocked each day. There were lots of beers, juice, pop, water as well as a bag of chips and a few bags of peanuts in the fridge each day. Our maid left us towel animals as well as floral arrangements most days and they were well appreciated. The view from our room (5219) was spectacular and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the morning and in the evening looking out over the ocean.

The snorkeling area in front of the hotel is small but quite good. I saw lots of small rays, eels, puffer and blow fish as well as a turtle one day. The visibility was very good the first day but the wind changed and the visibility went to poor and back to fair. The beach directly in front of the hotel is good to sit at but to small to go for a walk on. If you want to take a long walk on the beach you can go out the gate on the left hand side of the resort, as you are facing the water, down the steps and across a small creek which is ankle deep. Another great beach for walking, shopping and eating is Miramar beach. You can take a taxi or walk out to the main road, cross the street and take the A1 bus. Get off the bus when you are along the beach and can see the concrete wall with the red steps. Right after this the road curves to the right and goes away from the beach. The bus will cost you 7 pesos each way.

I booked my scuba diving at the scuba/towel hut at the hotel. They were very professional and the equipment was good. Andrew was the dive master and he was very thorough and he spoke excellent English. The dives were interesting but the visibility was not great although there were still lots of things to see.

We paid under a thousand dollars per person for a week all inclusive and our expectations were exceeded even though we had been there before. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and would definitely return if we were able to another deal like this one.

Room Tip: 5219 beautiful view but loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkeling13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear snorkeling13,

First of wall we thank you for your preference and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that we succeeded your expectations with our cuisine; we are honored that our clean grounds, restaurants, services, quality and the friendly staff ensured you a memorable stay.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests, we are currently working on a project of renovation of our suites. To continue giving you the service and accommodations

You are more than welcome back; it will be truly an honor to have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I travelled to Barcelo Karmina in Feb 2014. This was our first time in Mexico so we were not sure what to expect.
The resort is absolutley beautiful! Lot's of lush vegetation everywhere and very clean! We have never been on the Pacific side before so did miss the tuquois water and white sand but the weather was simply the best....30 everyday! No rain!!!
The food was also very good. We ate at all 3 a la cartes and had no complaints. We are not picky eaters and found the buffet too, had lot's to offer. All the staff are wonderful, attentive and very pleasant. Reuban was our favourite waiter in the buffet restaurant. Such a fun guy and he never forgot a thing! The Mexican restaurant has a stunning view so book an earlier dinner here to get the best tables!
We do wish the beach was a little longer for walking but if you want to you can exit onto either side through tow different gates onto a bigger public beach, or a smaller one with condo and a few more resorts on it. The cove within the resort is warm for swimming and good for snorkelling. We never had a problem getting a chair at the beach. The pools seemed to fill up faster, but we are beach people so spent most of our days there.
The rooms are quite large and well laid out, however the couch in our room was a little worn looking, but who sits on the couch in their room when away anyway?! Maids always left it spotless.
This resort does seem to be for middle aged people or families. Never went to the disco, but it liley wasn't that happening anyway as the cliental when we were there were a little older.
The maragarita's in the lobby bar are fantastic. The entertainment is ok, if you like that sort of thing.
We took a taxi into the market and got some great deals on silver and also booked a fishing excursion with another couple for a 1/2 day for $400. We booked at the towel booth not through our tour operator. It was fun. Caught lot's of tuna and my husband caught a big Maui,Maui!
All in all we have no compolaints whatsoever. A very nice resort!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear snorkeling13,
First of wall we thank you for your preference and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that we succeeded your expectations with our cuisine; we are honored that our clean grounds, restaurants and service ensured you a memorable stay.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests, we are currently working on a project of renovation of our suites. To continue giving you the service and accommodations

You are more than welcome back; it will be truly an honor to have the opportunity to serve a third a time!

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at a Deluxe Junior Suite with breathtaking ocean and garden views. This hotel is a travelers dream the gardens and pools are well cared for, our Suite was great and we enjoyed the large balcony. The small private beach was fun and the water very inviting. On Satuday we found a bottle of Champagne with two glasses and canapés on our table coming back from the beach. The restaurants were excellent, lots of choices and well prepared.
All in all a wonderful side trip and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suites Deluxe Club, for a small extra you have access to what others pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joco69Chapala_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear joco69Chapala_Mexico
We are thankful for the time you took to share your experience. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and glad to read you had a delightful stay and that you enjoyed our grounds and the services we offered you.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again in Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Have not even been to Barceló Karmina, arrive next week and looking quite forward to it thanks to the 90% or so positive reviews.

Some advice for the 10% or so Negative Nannies. You are on vacation, who really cares that the internet works or doesn't work...it's Mexico not the US of A or Canada where we are much further in the technological world! Pick up a phone and call home, I am sure they work.

I have not travelled a lot but enough to know that premium liquor is ALWAYS an extra fee. When in Rome, be like the Romans or stay home with your cabinet full of Premium Liquor.

Once again, you are in Mexico and you did not pay a lot to stay at this Barceló. The rooms may be dated, the beach may be small, the beds may be too firm and your air conditioner may not work well. You want perfection for a small fee? Then stay home or spend the extra dollars and go to a Sandals.

Oh no....there are Mexicans staying at this resort too....call the national guard! Oh wait....does this mean when people from Mexico travel to our home that all the English speaking locals should find a different hotel to stay in not to upset the tourists from other countries? Give your head a shake please.

So now after all this the staff is rude to you, the management is rude to you and they all give you the stink eye..Do you blame them? They had to deal with you for an entire week.

How about all the Negative Nannies research where you are staying at a little better before you get there. Remember the old saying......"champagne taste on a beer budget".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Steve C,

We appreciate your comments even though you still have not arrived at the hotel, we truly hope that your had a pleasant stay among us and hope to read your comments once you return home from your holidays.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I thought this was a very well run hotel with friendly, hard working staff. The food was decent with no line-ups at the buffet. The specialty restaurants were all good.

However the free wi-fi in the lobby was discontinued on Wednesday March 5th, half way through my first week, without any warning or notification. I spoke to the Director to complain of the change and lack of notification. His reply stunned me. "Why should we have to notify you."

That a senior manager in the hospitality business would reply in this manner is grounds to re-think any use of the Barcelo brand in the future, no matter how good, or well run.

What else will they change on the fly without any warning? As one woman said to me, "Canadians don't complain, they just don't go back."

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Ken D,
We appreciate your comments in Trip Advisor over your current stay at our Resort Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe; all feedback from our guests is greatly valued.

We truly lament that the transition from being free to have an additional charge happened during our stay, in this case there isn’t a best day to make the change as we must follow the company’s policy of charging the WiFi. None the less, I would like to comment that our Club Premium guests will receive the free WiFi access.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you maybe this year or in the near future to show you our commitment to excellence.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hello,
I traveled to the Barceló Karmina Palace Deluxe from March 7th to the 14th. I stayed in room 2007 and i was not hugely impressed with this resort. I would not recommend it to anyone I know. I enjoy a more upbeat atmosphere with a good night life. I thought this resort was really boring and not ideal for any young adults to go to, there didn't seem to be many there anyway. There was no day entertainment, the shows were poorly done, and the disco only played Spanish music. This was probably because most of the occupants at the resort were Mexicans. Spanish first, English second and the staff knew very little English for a tourist hotel. I would even go as far and say that some of the staff and other locals were a bit rude to me and gave stink eyes as i passed by. A few other things to note: there is no pool bar, they don't make moijotios, if you want any good liqor is considered a premium and you have to pay extra, and there is no free wifi. There are nicer places to stay and i will have to think twice about staying at another Barceló, especially if this is the treatment i got from the premium resort.

Room Tip: First Floor and Seventh Floor are non-smoking rooms. Don't waste your money on Club Premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Justin Y,
We truly lament that your recent stay with us was not as fun as you expected. Even though we don’t know your age, we have an activities program adapted for all ages, with sports and entertainment activities.

Regarding you comment over our beverages, we will really consider offering mojitos, even though this is a typical Cuban drink, it is true that it is very well known all around the world and in our beverage list we have very well-known quality, national and international, brands like Chivas 18. The international brands have an additional cost or you can have them included by being a Club Premium guest, as well as the free wi-fi.
Our staff members speak English in a general way, for those who need a bit more we offer on daily basis free English classes so they can learn it more and improve their second language. Every staff member can perfectly resolve any situation with our guests. I truly lament the way you felt, all of our guests are equally important to us and we treat everyone with respect.
We thank your for your visit, and if you decide to give us another opportunity to serve you we will be at your service for whatever you may need.
Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#29 of 52 in Manzanillo
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 52 in Manzanillo
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
129 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mar Celeste
Mar Celeste
#6 of 52 in Manzanillo
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £136 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing