We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelente Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelente Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great place for family vacation, a lot to do in the resort.
Food was good but not exceptional.
Pools are awesome, and there's a adult only pool in case you are no having kids with you.
The beach is good but not for a good swimming.

Room Tip: If you pay more, you can have a full ocean view suite which are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosueRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear JosueRL,
We appreciate the time you took for posting a review of your recent stay among us; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all of the services we offer, especially our exclusive pool areas.
We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    938
    328
    149
    98
See reviews for
1,125
831
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed two weeks at the Barcelo Karmina Palace from 24 March - 7 April. The Manzanillo airport is very small (no duty free) so other than our incoming flight there were no other passengers to process. The bus ride is about 40 minutes long and takes you directly to the hotel. Check-in was organized and quite fast.
The rooms are very large, with a well stocked fridge and a coffee maker. Ours was located on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the pools, ocean and surrounding area. No problem with elevators.
To reiterate what other reviews have said, this resort is not for anyone looking for a beautiful, sandy beach. It does have many nice pools surrounded by lush gardens - some adults only. Like most other resorts, in order to get a poolside umbrella for shade, you had to "save" chairs before 7:00 a.m.
The resort is very clean. Staff in all areas were very friendly and most spoke English well enough to be helpful. A shout-out to people like Alicia, Reuben, David, Johann, and the many others who remembered you from day to day and made you feel welcome.
There is only one main buffet, with a second opening on some days for breakfast and lunch. The food in the buffet was very good with an adequate variety. Making reservations for the a la carte restaurants was quite fast and easy. I would suggest you make the reservations soon after arrival because they are not open every day and you may find you cannot get a sitting if you wait. We went to all 3 a la carte restaurants. The food and service in each was good. The Mexican the preferred.
There is a small, well equipped gym that we used on a few occasions. It is clean and air conditioned.
We went on 2 excursions - a city tour and the Barra Tropical Tour. The city tour is great to get a general orientation of the area so that you can venture off the resort to places of interest afterwards. Their local bus system is inexpensive and efficient. The Barra tour was excellent. Tino, our guide/driver, went out of his way to show us more than was slated for the tour. He was very knowledgeable, well spoken and provided us with so much information.
The wi-fi is no longer free in the lobby. Cost of wi-fi is $30 per week. If you are off the resort, wi-fi is available at Starbuck"s or the Manzanilla Plaza for free. Wal-Mart is across the street from Starbuck's and is a 30 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kevin C,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Barcelo Karmina Palace for your vacations also for taking the time to post a detailed review about your experience among us. We greatly appreciate all of your comments and glad to read had a delightful stay. We will certainly pass on your recognition to our co-workers. It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed our grounds, pool, suites and services, and kind staffs making you feel welcomed!
We hope to have the honor in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just returned from a family vacation at the Karmina Palace. The property is well kept and very clean. We were pleased with the check in and check out service as well as the hotel amenities. They have added additional lounge areas since our last vacation and there were plenty of areas to find the sun and sand.
Our only concern was the "all inclusive dinners" at the three theme restaurants. The service was good. The ambiance was lovely. The food did not meet our expectations. There appears to be attention to detail with the plating and overall appearance. However, many of the dishes are over cooked or reheated to the determent of the kitchen. Someone in the kitchen has learned to plate and not tasted the food that is being served. Our Shrimp/Prawns @ Katsui was cooked to the point of being inedible. We also were not served the food that we ordered.

The rooms are clean and lovely. Lavish amenities, nice thick towels and bathrobes. Stunning views of the bay. Lots of activities and entertainment if you are interested.

Overall, a great vacation spot. Now they need a taster in the kitchen!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slynnpasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear slynnpasley,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Barcelo Karmina Palace for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us. It is always rewarding to read that you had an overall great experience and that you enjoyed our service.

We appreciate you feedback regarding the food served at our specialty restaurant, our Chef works very hard to try and satisfy all of our guests; however we will pass on your comments so he can improve and continue offering the great cuisine we are used to!

Once again, we thank you for your kind comments, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We recently spent a week at the Barcelo Karmina Palace . We had a lovely time , the grounds are beautiful and the pools were cool and clean. The rooms were spacious and well kept the soft drinks, water and beer was replenished daily. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. The only negative thing I can say about our stay was the availability of the a la carte restaurants was disappointing . We were only able to use one of our three a la carte credits during our stay. If you are looking for a place to party and go wild this is not the place for you but if you are looking for a place to get away and relax I would recommend the Barcelo Karmina Palace. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Michelle E,
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and suggestions regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are really happy to read that you had a delightful stay and that you truly enjoyed all of our services, your spacious suite, the grounds, pools, all of the restaurants and friendliness of our staff.
We apologize for disappointing you in the availability of our a la carte restaurants; we will look into this with our management team. We hope that in your next visit you can enjoy them all.

Once more, thank you for your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We just got back from the Barcelo Karmina Palace in Manzanillo. It was a beautiful resort - we are club premium and had a room with an amazing view. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were very nice. The views are spectacular. There are only 3 restaurants but we went out and ate at Paco Pazzo in the marina nearby and their food was delicious too. Ask for Rudolpho.
The excursions were great - we loved the ATV to the top of the mountain and the sunset cruise. We had never heard of Manzanillo before we booked this trip and we will definitely be going back. The people are so kind and it really gave us a unique view of their community and culture.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean side room with a view you won't be disappointed or try to pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Tina M,
We greatly appreciate you kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and for choosing us for your first visit to Manzanillo, it is truly an honor. It is very rewarding you enjoyed your vacations and that you were completely satisfied with our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great place, view, location, atmosphere (it was almost empty during our trip...). It has a wide variety of pools for every taste, from adults only to family pools, definitely a plus. The Mexican food at the buffet was excellent!! My girlfriend is vegetarian and she was pleasantly surprised to see many delicious options for her.
We could only try one of the specialty restaurants, the Italian...nothing special about it. We chose to eat at the buffet the following days. The Mexican restaurant had the best location but it was closed during our stay so we could not try it.
Drinks were good and staff was friendly.
We had an amazing time there, except for a couple of drawbacks:
1. Internet is not free!! Usually most of the hotels these days have at least computers with complementary internet access. In this case, the hotel had computers but you still had to pay for internet. Once you payed for WiFi it only worked close to the lobby, so we couldn't use it in our room even if we had already payed for it!
2. Hotel policies are not flexible at all...we asked if we could check out and stay at the hotel for few hours since we had a late flight...but they said no, we had to stay at the lobby and we were not even allowed to have lunch anymore... they said we could stay around the hotel if we payed extra which is ridiculous considering the amount of money we had payed already, specially just to stay there for one more hour in a semi-full hotel. Most of the hotels we have been at are pretty flexible in this matter so we were disappointed on how this was handled.

Room Tip: A couple of friends payed for ocean view and they only got a partial one to say the least. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear E R,
First of all we would like to thank you for your reviewing your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you had an overall great experience and that you enjoyed our grounds, the friendliness of our staff and the variety of our gastronomy.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the two points you mention were drawbacks for you, we are still working with our new internet supplier and unfortunately like you mention the service is still not working 100% for this reason the internet is only available in the lobby for the moment. Our Club Premium guests will continue to receive free Wi-Fi as part of the inclusions they receive.
We would have loved for you to stay a little longer with us; the All Inclusive plan finalizes the day of the departure with the breakfast however, we do offer a special price for lunch in which you can continue in the grounds with your bracelet until 4pm. We apologize for these inconveniences.

We hope to have the opportunity in serving you once again and show you the great service we are accustomed to offer.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have been to the Barcelo in Ixtapa multiple times and it is the best value on the Ixtapa strip by far. This past January we splurged and went to the Barcelo Karmina Palace/Manzanillo which is a couple hundred miles north of Ixtapa but has the same consistently great winter weather - always nice & warm, always sunny or slightly overcast and almost never rains. We were not disappointed. This hotel commands a prime spot on the bay with its own tiny little cove and beach which is bracketed on either side by the 18th hole of Las Hadas - a par 3 over water. We upgraded to the Premium package which got us a very nice suite with incredible bathroom and great view, unlimited dinners at the ala carte restaurants and premium drinks. The drinks and Premium Club room were somewhat of a joke - you had to make your own drinks and the food was canapes and assorted appetizers from the buffet - not wonderful but not a big deal since there is all the food you want anyway in the All-Inclusive package. Food and beverage staff was fantastic - especially Francisco and Pedro at the nice restaurants. The concierge got us the most romantic table for our 30th anniversary dinner out at the palapa restaurant that was perched over the water on this little balcony set below the main dining area - very special. The only negative I would report is that the front desk staff was less than friendly and helpful. They advertize that they will change money but only do during very limited hours. There is not much to do in Manzanillo and that is OK with us. The pool complex is huge with lots of seperate areas to hang out. We enjoyed plenty of space except for the obnoxious Canadian motormouth who wanted to be sure that EVERYONE heard his important conversations - what a boor. The rest of the gringoes were almost all Canadians and we really enjoyed meeting and chatting with a number of them. And you gotta try the waterslide! Even though it is posted as age-restricted, we snuck up and tried it - what a kick in the butt! Absolutely FLEW down and landed almost upside down. My wife lost her bikini top - lotta fun! Definitely give this place a try!

Room Tip: Buy the Premium package and you get a Ocean View upgrade and nicer suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTheStoneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear SteveTheStoneGuy,

We are delighted to read your comments over your stay in January at Barcelo Karmina.
It is always very pleasing to read that you enjoyed our grounds, pool, (specially our kid’s waterslide :) ) Indeed our romantic table in the Agave Restaurant is incredible, and we are glad that you enjoyed such an important day like your 30th anniversary!
We will pass on your kind comments to Pedro & Francisco.

We truly hope to welcome you back on your next holidays.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Barcelo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing