We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Karmina
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Express Manzanillo(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Manzanillo(Manzanillo)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villas Los Angeles(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Cove Inn(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Hadas By Brisas(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel La Posada(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mar Celeste(Manzanillo)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacifico Azul(Manzanillo)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,620)
Filter reviews
3,620 results
Traveller rating
1,716
1,161
418
198
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,716
1,161
418
198
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantclub premiumfisha la carte restaurantsadult poolsocean viewcapri restaurantpublic beachthe grilltwo sinksbeautiful resortrooms are hugekids clubala cartsgolf courseother resortslong beach
Filter
Updating list...
848 - 853 of 3,620 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great place for family vacation, a lot to do in the resort.
Food was good but not exceptional.
Pools are awesome, and there's a adult only pool in case you are no having kids with you.
The beach is good but not for a good swimming.

Room Tip: If you pay more, you can have a full ocean view suite which are awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neoabaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear JosueRL,
We appreciate the time you took for posting a review of your recent stay among us; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all of the services we offer, especially our exclusive pool areas.
We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed two weeks at the Barcelo Karmina Palace from 24 March - 7 April. The Manzanillo airport is very small (no duty free) so other than our incoming flight there were no other passengers to process. The bus ride is about 40 minutes long and takes you directly to the hotel. Check-in was organized and quite fast.
The rooms are very large, with a well stocked fridge and a coffee maker. Ours was located on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the pools, ocean and surrounding area. No problem with elevators.
To reiterate what other reviews have said, this resort is not for anyone looking for a beautiful, sandy beach. It does have many nice pools surrounded by lush gardens - some adults only. Like most other resorts, in order to get a poolside umbrella for shade, you had to "save" chairs before 7:00 a.m.
The resort is very clean. Staff in all areas were very friendly and most spoke English well enough to be helpful. A shout-out to people like Alicia, Reuben, David, Johann, and the many others who remembered you from day to day and made you feel welcome.
There is only one main buffet, with a second opening on some days for breakfast and lunch. The food in the buffet was very good with an adequate variety. Making reservations for the a la carte restaurants was quite fast and easy. I would suggest you make the reservations soon after arrival because they are not open every day and you may find you cannot get a sitting if you wait. We went to all 3 a la carte restaurants. The food and service in each was good. The Mexican the preferred.
There is a small, well equipped gym that we used on a few occasions. It is clean and air conditioned.
We went on 2 excursions - a city tour and the Barra Tropical Tour. The city tour is great to get a general orientation of the area so that you can venture off the resort to places of interest afterwards. Their local bus system is inexpensive and efficient. The Barra tour was excellent. Tino, our guide/driver, went out of his way to show us more than was slated for the tour. He was very knowledgeable, well spoken and provided us with so much information.
The wi-fi is no longer free in the lobby. Cost of wi-fi is $30 per week. If you are off the resort, wi-fi is available at Starbuck"s or the Manzanilla Plaza for free. Wal-Mart is across the street from Starbuck's and is a 30 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Kevin C,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Barcelo Karmina Palace for your vacations also for taking the time to post a detailed review about your experience among us. We greatly appreciate all of your comments and glad to read had a delightful stay. We will certainly pass on your recognition to our co-workers. It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed our grounds, pool, suites and services, and kind staffs making you feel welcomed!
We hope to have the honor in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just returned from a family vacation at the Karmina Palace. The property is well kept and very clean. We were pleased with the check in and check out service as well as the hotel amenities. They have added additional lounge areas since our last vacation and there were plenty of areas to find the sun and sand.
Our only concern was the "all inclusive dinners" at the three theme restaurants. The service was good. The ambiance was lovely. The food did not meet our expectations. There appears to be attention to detail with the plating and overall appearance. However, many of the dishes are over cooked or reheated to the determent of the kitchen. Someone in the kitchen has learned to plate and not tasted the food that is being served. Our Shrimp/Prawns @ Katsui was cooked to the point of being inedible. We also were not served the food that we ordered.

The rooms are clean and lovely. Lavish amenities, nice thick towels and bathrobes. Stunning views of the bay. Lots of activities and entertainment if you are interested.

Overall, a great vacation spot. Now they need a taster in the kitchen!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slynnpasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear slynnpasley,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Barcelo Karmina Palace for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us. It is always rewarding to read that you had an overall great experience and that you enjoyed our service.

We appreciate you feedback regarding the food served at our specialty restaurant, our Chef works very hard to try and satisfy all of our guests; however we will pass on your comments so he can improve and continue offering the great cuisine we are used to!

Once again, we thank you for your kind comments, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We recently spent a week at the Barcelo Karmina Palace . We had a lovely time , the grounds are beautiful and the pools were cool and clean. The rooms were spacious and well kept the soft drinks, water and beer was replenished daily. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. The only negative thing I can say about our stay was the availability of the a la carte restaurants was disappointing . We were only able to use one of our three a la carte credits during our stay. If you are looking for a place to party and go wild this is not the place for you but if you are looking for a place to get away and relax I would recommend the Barcelo Karmina Palace. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Michelle E,
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and suggestions regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are really happy to read that you had a delightful stay and that you truly enjoyed all of our services, your spacious suite, the grounds, pools, all of the restaurants and friendliness of our staff.
We apologize for disappointing you in the availability of our a la carte restaurants; we will look into this with our management team. We hope that in your next visit you can enjoy them all.

Once more, thank you for your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We just got back from the Barcelo Karmina Palace in Manzanillo. It was a beautiful resort - we are club premium and had a room with an amazing view. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were very nice. The views are spectacular. There are only 3 restaurants but we went out and ate at Paco Pazzo in the marina nearby and their food was delicious too. Ask for Rudolpho.
The excursions were great - we loved the ATV to the top of the mountain and the sunset cruise. We had never heard of Manzanillo before we booked this trip and we will definitely be going back. The people are so kind and it really gave us a unique view of their community and culture.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean side room with a view you won't be disappointed or try to pay extra for a club premium room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Tina M,
We greatly appreciate you kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and for choosing us for your first visit to Manzanillo, it is truly an honor. It is very rewarding you enjoyed your vacations and that you were completely satisfied with our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews