We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Granville, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent a very nice week at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe. Rooms, gardens, swimming pools, location, people are great. The buffet is ok but could improve a little bit. The schedule for the activities are not well respected, which a disappointment at barcelo kid s club for my son and aquagym fir myself.
We had an issue with some very noisy neighbors in the room next to ours. We ask barcelo to do something but they didn t. Partying in the room is ok, but till 4am everyday...it was a hassle. Very bad insonorisation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but what matters is the neighbors you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Veronique E,
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us last March. We are glad that you enjoyed our grounds and kind staff, having an overall great experience.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guest. We have taken notes of your observations on the services and we will share them with our management team to work hard and improve so we can continue offering our guests the service they deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    1,019
    353
    165
    106
See reviews for
1,266
895
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nobleton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were a group of 6 adults on vacation and all 6 of us were very happy with the Barcelo Karmina. We have been going to Acapulco for the last 18 years and unsure about this change. However, it was more than we expected. The staff was amazing as was the food. We will be going back next February...can't wait!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic. No complains. Very clean, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JGreco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear JGreco2014,
Thank your for taking the time of posting your experience regarding recent stay. And that we were able to exceed your expectations! We are truly glad that you enjoyed everything, specially our food! We hope you had a pleasant journey back home, and will be honored in welcoming you back next February.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We consider this property our beach house. We don't need to maintain or staff it, as Barcelo has done a marvelous job. Always friendly, helpful and simply a clean, beautiful property. Lots to do in the area, if you can pull yourself away from the property.

Room Tip: Always do Premium club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Norm,
We greatly appreciate you kind comments regarding your recent stay at Barceló Karmina Palace. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our service, friendly staff and cleanliness.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Travelled to Manzanillo for 2 weeks Jan 28-Feb11with 2 other couples. Check in was rather slow-close to an hour in our line! only negative we encountered.
Our room was beautiful, marble, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, nice large balcony, well stocked fridge, hot water in shower and tub, air conditioning. We were on the 5th floor with ocean view. The weather was absolutely amazing every day-26-30C. The food was good at the buffet, as were all of our meals at the italian and mexican a la carte. The japanese a la carte was very good but extremely slow service.
The buffet had a different theme every evening which was great. We usually ate breakfast at the italian restaurant when open as we loved the lady cooking the omelets-she was a joy to watch. Once we found our favorite spot by the top of the waterfall, we had wonderful waiters delivering drinks a plenty. Went snorkeling one day on resort beach where we saw beautiful schools of many different fish and a huge turtle. Took the sunset cruise and were fortunate to see mother and baby whale playing quite close to the boat. The views in Manzanillo are breathtaking.
The men enjoyed 3 rounds of 18 hole golf next door as they found they could golf 2 for 1 mon, wed, friday mornings, with a cart for $90. We took a day trip to the market and to the harbour-where shopping was great and inexpensive. We went out one evening to La Vaquero restaurant, downtown close to walmart, for excellent steak. Walmart is where we bought our booze to bring back. Walking in Manzanillo was very safe, the people are very friendly.
We look forward to one day returning as was a beautiful place to go and relax and enjoy ourselves completely.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveforholidays5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear liveforholidays5,
On behalf of the team of Barcelo Karmina, we would like to thank you for your comments over your stay with among us. We are honored that you had a wonderful holiday, enjoying our facilities, suites, food and service. We are also very happy that you felt safe and comfortable walking around town, like you mention Manzanillo is very safe, tranquil, and always with wonderful weather!.
It will be great to be able to welcome you once again.
Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited the Barcelo Karmina Palace in February, Sorry for the late review just have forgot to write this.

This property is located in a great location, outside of the busy downtown area but also not far from it.

For people that have never been to this part of Mexico it is an absolute must, it's a completely different experience than visiting Cancun and Mayan Riviera. The people are amazing and the culture is that of true Mexico not the commercialized face in Cancun.

We booked our package with Transat Holidays and flew down on CanJet, flight went without a hitch service was fantastic and for a 5 and a half hour flight it went surprisingly quick. Flying with Canjet was my biggest pre-vacation concern as I have never flown them before and heard bad things however I found it to be excellent even better then previous experiences with Sunwing or other airlines.

Upon arrival to the resort the entrance in beautiful, bus pulls right into the motor lobby and you unload without having to worry about your bags just go straight to check in, check-in was relatively smooth, requests don't seem to be of a concern and aren't always accommodated however which can be frustrating.

The room was great, clean well kept with a nice balcony with chairs and beautiful views, the rooms do need to be modernized very soon however are still nice and comfortable, the bed in our room was comfortable though I heard mixed things while we were there about others experiences with that aspect.

The restaurants were mostly great, The buffet food was fantastic when it was hot which could be hit and miss however there was always different options with different sauces and things that were unique. The a la carts were great our favorite was the Mexian a la cart which had amazing views over the ocean and great food. The Japanese was also great as was the Italian.

Bars were great typically quick service as is the pool service, shout out to Hugo here he was absolutely fantastic, by the pool during the day he never let our drinks go empty. One thing however in the bars is they need menu's for the different drinks offered at them.

The pools were beautiful very well kept and fun, lots of chairs however since the beach is not the greatest the chairs fill up fast so getting your chairs early is smart but if your not going to use them all day don't hog them from others.

Overall this resort was great, the city of Manzanillo is just breathtaking and is very safe, we walked the city streets without ever being bothered. The weather was perfect for February when we were there, 30-33 degrees without humidity ~40+ with humidity without any rain all week!

Some excursions I would recommend are the Mountain ATV, and the Sunset cruise, the city excursion was nice however was pretty rushed I would recommend just spending 15$ on a cab to the city and just go explore yourself at your own pace.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view, first floor rooms have patios that are just o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Jarrod06,
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience of your stay with us during February. We are very happy and honored that you enjoyed all of our services, suites, grounds and food and that you began to enjoy your vacations from the beginning.

We are currently working in a project which includes an update in the suites.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all of our Restaurants, always finding something great to eat! We will certainly pass on your kind comments over to Hugo. We completely agree with you over your comments of the spectacular view from the Mexican Restaurant, it is one of a kind in all Manzanillo.

We are thrilled that you also had fun in some of the excursions that Manzanillo offers and like you mention, Manzanillo is a very safe place to just walk around.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great place for family vacation, a lot to do in the resort.
Food was good but not exceptional.
Pools are awesome, and there's a adult only pool in case you are no having kids with you.
The beach is good but not for a good swimming.

Room Tip: If you pay more, you can have a full ocean view suite which are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neoabaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear JosueRL,
We appreciate the time you took for posting a review of your recent stay among us; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all of the services we offer, especially our exclusive pool areas.
We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed two weeks at the Barcelo Karmina Palace from 24 March - 7 April. The Manzanillo airport is very small (no duty free) so other than our incoming flight there were no other passengers to process. The bus ride is about 40 minutes long and takes you directly to the hotel. Check-in was organized and quite fast.
The rooms are very large, with a well stocked fridge and a coffee maker. Ours was located on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the pools, ocean and surrounding area. No problem with elevators.
To reiterate what other reviews have said, this resort is not for anyone looking for a beautiful, sandy beach. It does have many nice pools surrounded by lush gardens - some adults only. Like most other resorts, in order to get a poolside umbrella for shade, you had to "save" chairs before 7:00 a.m.
The resort is very clean. Staff in all areas were very friendly and most spoke English well enough to be helpful. A shout-out to people like Alicia, Reuben, David, Johann, and the many others who remembered you from day to day and made you feel welcome.
There is only one main buffet, with a second opening on some days for breakfast and lunch. The food in the buffet was very good with an adequate variety. Making reservations for the a la carte restaurants was quite fast and easy. I would suggest you make the reservations soon after arrival because they are not open every day and you may find you cannot get a sitting if you wait. We went to all 3 a la carte restaurants. The food and service in each was good. The Mexican the preferred.
There is a small, well equipped gym that we used on a few occasions. It is clean and air conditioned.
We went on 2 excursions - a city tour and the Barra Tropical Tour. The city tour is great to get a general orientation of the area so that you can venture off the resort to places of interest afterwards. Their local bus system is inexpensive and efficient. The Barra tour was excellent. Tino, our guide/driver, went out of his way to show us more than was slated for the tour. He was very knowledgeable, well spoken and provided us with so much information.
The wi-fi is no longer free in the lobby. Cost of wi-fi is $30 per week. If you are off the resort, wi-fi is available at Starbuck"s or the Manzanilla Plaza for free. Wal-Mart is across the street from Starbuck's and is a 30 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kevin C,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Barcelo Karmina Palace for your vacations also for taking the time to post a detailed review about your experience among us. We greatly appreciate all of your comments and glad to read had a delightful stay. We will certainly pass on your recognition to our co-workers. It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed our grounds, pool, suites and services, and kind staffs making you feel welcomed!
We hope to have the honor in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
409 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Property: Barcelo Karmina
Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing