We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Karmina
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villas Los Angeles(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Manzanillo(Manzanillo)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Cove Inn(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Hadas By Brisas(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Express Manzanillo(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marbella(Manzanillo)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Posada(Manzanillo)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mar Celeste(Manzanillo)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacifico Azul(Manzanillo)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,614)
Filter reviews
3,614 results
Traveller rating
1,715
1,159
418
196
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,715
1,159
418
196
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantclub premiumfisha la carte restaurantsadult poolsocean viewcapri restaurantpublic beachthe grilltwo sinksbeautiful resortrooms are hugekids clubala cartsgolf courseother resortslong beach
Filter
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 3,614 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent a very nice week at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe. Rooms, gardens, swimming pools, location, people are great. The buffet is ok but could improve a little bit. The schedule for the activities are not well respected, which a disappointment at barcelo kid s club for my son and aquagym fir myself.
We had an issue with some very noisy neighbors in the room next to ours. We ask barcelo to do something but they didn t. Partying in the room is ok, but till 4am everyday...it was a hassle. Very bad insonorisation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but what matters is the neighbors you will get!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Veronique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Veronique E,
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us last March. We are glad that you enjoyed our grounds and kind staff, having an overall great experience.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guest. We have taken notes of your observations on the services and we will share them with our management team to work hard and improve so we can continue offering our guests the service they deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were a group of 6 adults on vacation and all 6 of us were very happy with the Barcelo Karmina. We have been going to Acapulco for the last 18 years and unsure about this change. However, it was more than we expected. The staff was amazing as was the food. We will be going back next February...can't wait!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic. No complains. Very clean, quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JGreco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear JGreco2014,
Thank your for taking the time of posting your experience regarding recent stay. And that we were able to exceed your expectations! We are truly glad that you enjoyed everything, specially our food! We hope you had a pleasant journey back home, and will be honored in welcoming you back next February.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We consider this property our beach house. We don't need to maintain or staff it, as Barcelo has done a marvelous job. Always friendly, helpful and simply a clean, beautiful property. Lots to do in the area, if you can pull yourself away from the property.

Room Tip: Always do Premium club!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Norm,
We greatly appreciate you kind comments regarding your recent stay at Barceló Karmina Palace. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our service, friendly staff and cleanliness.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Travelled to Manzanillo for 2 weeks Jan 28-Feb11with 2 other couples. Check in was rather slow-close to an hour in our line! only negative we encountered.
Our room was beautiful, marble, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, nice large balcony, well stocked fridge, hot water in shower and tub, air conditioning. We were on the 5th floor with ocean view. The weather was absolutely amazing every day-26-30C. The food was good at the buffet, as were all of our meals at the italian and mexican a la carte. The japanese a la carte was very good but extremely slow service.
The buffet had a different theme every evening which was great. We usually ate breakfast at the italian restaurant when open as we loved the lady cooking the omelets-she was a joy to watch. Once we found our favorite spot by the top of the waterfall, we had wonderful waiters delivering drinks a plenty. Went snorkeling one day on resort beach where we saw beautiful schools of many different fish and a huge turtle. Took the sunset cruise and were fortunate to see mother and baby whale playing quite close to the boat. The views in Manzanillo are breathtaking.
The men enjoyed 3 rounds of 18 hole golf next door as they found they could golf 2 for 1 mon, wed, friday mornings, with a cart for $90. We took a day trip to the market and to the harbour-where shopping was great and inexpensive. We went out one evening to La Vaquero restaurant, downtown close to walmart, for excellent steak. Walmart is where we bought our booze to bring back. Walking in Manzanillo was very safe, the people are very friendly.
We look forward to one day returning as was a beautiful place to go and relax and enjoy ourselves completely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liveforholidays5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear liveforholidays5,
On behalf of the team of Barcelo Karmina, we would like to thank you for your comments over your stay with among us. We are honored that you had a wonderful holiday, enjoying our facilities, suites, food and service. We are also very happy that you felt safe and comfortable walking around town, like you mention Manzanillo is very safe, tranquil, and always with wonderful weather!.
It will be great to be able to welcome you once again.
Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited the Barcelo Karmina Palace in February, Sorry for the late review just have forgot to write this.

This property is located in a great location, outside of the busy downtown area but also not far from it.

For people that have never been to this part of Mexico it is an absolute must, it's a completely different experience than visiting Cancun and Mayan Riviera. The people are amazing and the culture is that of true Mexico not the commercialized face in Cancun.

We booked our package with Transat Holidays and flew down on CanJet, flight went without a hitch service was fantastic and for a 5 and a half hour flight it went surprisingly quick. Flying with Canjet was my biggest pre-vacation concern as I have never flown them before and heard bad things however I found it to be excellent even better then previous experiences with Sunwing or other airlines.

Upon arrival to the resort the entrance in beautiful, bus pulls right into the motor lobby and you unload without having to worry about your bags just go straight to check in, check-in was relatively smooth, requests don't seem to be of a concern and aren't always accommodated however which can be frustrating.

The room was great, clean well kept with a nice balcony with chairs and beautiful views, the rooms do need to be modernized very soon however are still nice and comfortable, the bed in our room was comfortable though I heard mixed things while we were there about others experiences with that aspect.

The restaurants were mostly great, The buffet food was fantastic when it was hot which could be hit and miss however there was always different options with different sauces and things that were unique. The a la carts were great our favorite was the Mexian a la cart which had amazing views over the ocean and great food. The Japanese was also great as was the Italian.

Bars were great typically quick service as is the pool service, shout out to Hugo here he was absolutely fantastic, by the pool during the day he never let our drinks go empty. One thing however in the bars is they need menu's for the different drinks offered at them.

The pools were beautiful very well kept and fun, lots of chairs however since the beach is not the greatest the chairs fill up fast so getting your chairs early is smart but if your not going to use them all day don't hog them from others.

Overall this resort was great, the city of Manzanillo is just breathtaking and is very safe, we walked the city streets without ever being bothered. The weather was perfect for February when we were there, 30-33 degrees without humidity ~40+ with humidity without any rain all week!

Some excursions I would recommend are the Mountain ATV, and the Sunset cruise, the city excursion was nice however was pretty rushed I would recommend just spending 15$ on a cab to the city and just go explore yourself at your own pace.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view, first floor rooms have patios that are just open to the walkways
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAAYC_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Jarrod06,
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience of your stay with us during February. We are very happy and honored that you enjoyed all of our services, suites, grounds and food and that you began to enjoy your vacations from the beginning.

We are currently working in a project which includes an update in the suites.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all of our Restaurants, always finding something great to eat! We will certainly pass on your kind comments over to Hugo. We completely agree with you over your comments of the spectacular view from the Mexican Restaurant, it is one of a kind in all Manzanillo.

We are thrilled that you also had fun in some of the excursions that Manzanillo offers and like you mention, Manzanillo is a very safe place to just walk around.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews