We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was totally awesome!”
Review of Barcelo Karmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Karmina
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We just spent 1 wk at Karmina Palace and loved every min.of it.The staff were great and were very helpful with planning our ziplining,quading,and sunset cruise.We had the couples massage outside and it was super!The place filled up on the wkend--lots of Mexican families and we thought that gave us a look into Mexico that we may not have had otherwise.We were amazed at how private we still felt even with the place so full and so many children around.Our room was great and when we closed the gardendoors it was quiet!We ttok the local bus a couple times to downtown and to a public beach-that was an experience but we always felt totally safe.We would love to go back and take our 4 children.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovergirl4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for the great feedback of your holiday experience at our Barceló Karmina; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 3,219 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

Just got back from a fabulous week in Mexico !!
After having been to the Mayan, Puerto Vallerta, Mazatlan and Cabo we decided to head to a new and different part of Mexico. Our friends love this area so much they have been to this area of Mexico over 20 times. Because of all the good reviews we choose this resort, and we are glad we did.
The room was clean and beautiful we chose to just take what we got and the location was just fine with a peek a boo view of the ocean and a great view of the pools. The food was great ! The a la cartes superb. The staff top notch. Decided to spend most of our time at the bottom pool where we could choose the beach or the pool to cool off.
The shows were ok, very similar to all the shows at all inclusives. Walked to town twice and the flea market once, took the local bus, felt very safe. Starbucks, yes Starbucks twice for my Chai Tea Latte. Did the excursion to Barra de Navidad and Melaque (this is where our friends stay) What a beautiful Mexican town and a beach to die for. Eat at Popeyes on the ocean side far left while looking out at the ocean.
Nothing bad to say. The staff did all they could when asked.
We were the last of the Canadians for this year, the planes stop untill next November
Adios my friends

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k0sm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your stay in our Barceló Karmina hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This resort is lovely. It is scrupulously clean, the food is fantastic, drinks are delicious. Aaron at the adult pool deserves a medal for the amazing service he provides. The beach is not great which we were prepared for but the pools more than make up for it. The only downside is the ridiculous towel game that goes on - we saw people reserving loungers at two and three different locations. When you get a party of six holding eighteen different chairs there are going to be issues. But other than that we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ilovehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Hotel is clean and well maintained inside and outside with spacious rooms. Quality of food was repetitive each day and selection limited. Sadly the operational hours of the speciality restaurants were not displayed resulting in disappointment for our last evening as the Mexican restaurant was closed!!!!
Entertainment was enjoyable but despite varying theme nights the performances each evening were very similar.
Chair resevations were an issue as we were visiting during the Easter Break and guests were laying personal items and would not appear until several hours later which was frustrating. Signage on umbrellas did indicate not to reserve chairs but this was ignored. During the high season this needs to be enforced by hotel staff/security.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Karmina hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

A group of us (7 adults and 2 children under 4) visited the Barceló Karmina Palace in Manzanillo, Mexico from March 24 - 31, 2010. We had a great time. This place is beautiful. See details below.

Property:
The resort property was very beautiful and fairly easy to get around for those that have difficulty (all areas are accessible without using stairs). There is a bit of an incline when walking from the beach towards the rooms however. There are lots of flowers and palms making the grounds very lush.

Rooms:
My fiance and I have been to Mexico 5 times and these are the best rooms we've ever seen. We just had a standard room with a king bed, but it was like a premium room in most other resorts. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were horrible. If you are like me and have neck problems I highly recommend bringing your own pillow. The bathrooms were great. There were 2 sinks, large soaker tub, tiled shower with glass door (no shower curtain to stick to you), and a separate enclosure for the toilet.

Pools:
There are extensive pools with 3 adult only areas. The pools are a little chilly however, but warm up near the end of the daytime hours. It's not so bad when its 30'C +.

Food:
The food was amazing. Again the best out of all the times we've been in Mexico. The buffet was great, the Mexican al-a-carte was great, and the Japanese restaurant was descent considering it's Japanese food made in Mexico (have to keep an open mind). The deep-fried ice-cream at the Japanese was my favourite dessert of the week and the cheesecake at the Mexican was my fiancé’s favourite. We didn't go to the Italian, but my mom, sister, and 2 small children did and they said it was pretty good. The desserts at the buffet weren't quite as good as other places we've stayed, but that wasn’t a big deal since we were typically too full to eat much of them anyway.

Drinks:
The resort makes good cappuccinos (especially good with cinnamon added) and the coffee was good too. The bar drinks weren't quite as good as other places we've stayed, but were ok. We liked strawberry & bananas with vodka. There isn't a drink menu so you've got to use your imagination. Sometimes they seemed a little week so we asked for more booze to be added, which wasn't a problem.

Manzanillo area:
The view from the resort is nice. To the right of the resort (facing the ocean) has a very European (Moorish) feel to it and the left side heading towards Manzanillo proper looks nice as well. Manzanillo is not nearly as tourist oriented as places like Puerto Vallarta or the Riviera Maya so there is not much in the way of shopping for touristy type stuff (silver, trinkets, sarongs, etc). Manzanillo proper (downtown) is very busy with narrow sidewalks, but worth the experience just to see what a non-touristy Mexican city is like. Most of the shops have North American attire and merchants don't hound you to buy (really don't seem like they care if you do or not). Apparently, the state of Colima (where Manzanillo resides) is one of the richest Mexican provinces with higher education and income rates. We recommend buying alcohol, etc. at the Mexican Wal-Mart (it’s called Sorianas). It’s like Wal-Mart but Mexican owned. Both Sorianas and Wal-Mart are about a 10 minute walk up the beach to the left of the resort (facing the ocean).

Beaches:
The beach at the resort is small and not for boogie boarding or surfing, but you can snorkel and it's good for small children. When we snorkeled in this small man-made bay it was quite silty and hard to see much. To the right of the resort (facing the ocean) there is a great snorkeling beach (just walk off the resort and it's right there). It was less silty (as long as boats aren't speeding around) and we saw lots of fish (stingrays, puffer fish and a number of others). This is actually the best snorkeling we've seen in Mexico to date. The water is pleasant and actually feels warmer than the pools.

Internet:
If you need to use the internet during the week to checkup on things at home then you may be a little frustrated. The system wasn't very good and the connection was really slow. If you need to use the internet and have a small laptop, iPhone/iPod Touch, Blackberry or something else with WiFi capabilities then you can use the resorts free WiFi with much greater ease (we borrowed a friends iPod Touch after trying to use the internet terminals).

Nightlife:
A downside to this resort is that everything pretty much stops once the nightly show is over around 9:30 - 10 pm. There typically wasn't music or anything. The bars near the stage were open for a while after however. There is a disco that opens at 11pm and the atmosphere is great since it's located in the open-air Mexican restaurant overlooking the ocean after it's closed for dinner, but it was usually dead. It probably would have been busier if the resort kept the entertainment going after the show to bridge the gap before the disco opened. For those that like to party at night the resort wasn't great, but fantastic till the nightly show was over. The shows were very well done. The stage wasn’t as elaborate as we’ve seen (no big deal at all), but the dancers were very good.

Service:
The service was great (as usual in Mexico). The staff were ready to please and we had no issues at all. There aren't bars near all the adult pools, but a waiter was happy to come around to take your order (we had one come by with a tray every 15 minutes or so and gave him 20 pesos each trip - there were about 3-4 couples so each couple took turns tipping).

Overall we loved the resort and are willing to visit again in future!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_and_N_s_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My 18 year old daughter and I have just returned from the Karmia Palace and we loved it! Check in was very quick, appreciated after 2 1/2 hour line at the customs most of which was outside in the sun. (Not the usual I am sure but 3 flights arrived at the same time and it was Easter weekend)
Our room was on the 7th floor facing the ocean and was huge and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was one of the biggest I have ever seen. Lots of elevators to different areas of the hotel and even though it was completely full we never had to wait.
We both booked numerous services at the spa and all were outstanding, but a little pricey for Mexico....might be cheaper off site but it was very convenient and we had no problem booking times we wanted.
As stated in other reviews the buffets offered lots of selection but we are really picky eaters and we still always found something we liked but it was not always hot enough. The al carte Italian was the best and we visited it twice and the Mexican once. I the Mexican is a beautiful spot to watch the sunset.
All the gounds and pools were beautiful and very well maintained by the staff. We avoided the family pools but everyone there seemed to be having lots of fun. We stayed by the adult pools that were very quite, had great drink service and all different level of water depth. Even though the pools are all connected they are seperated by gardens and feel very private.
We went to the show that is different everynight and I thought they were very entertaining and well presented (compared to some resorts where the activity staff puts on very amaturish shows). My daughter who teaches dance thought the dancing was very high quality.
Yoga every morning was very good and a little challenging for someone my age but the instructor was very good and you get a lovely suprise at the end
Only one negative. Being so busy over easter and I am an early riser I would always sit with coffee and watch the sunrise and then leave our towels on the chairs while I went to get my daughter up and went for breakfast. On the monday when many Mexican families were checking out numerous towels were stolen from different pool areas and one lady I spoke t o had her camera stolen from her beach bag. Unfortunately the hotel charged $25.00 for each towel. I only had one stolen but some families were missing 2 or more. Too bad the hotel would not be more understanding. If I had lost my towel I would have gladly paid but felt that we paid for spas, and tours this fee might have been waived.

All in all, this is a wonderful place to spend a week and everyone from families with small children to teens and retirees, all seem to really enjoy this resort!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay in our Barceló Karmina. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Here is my review categorized by rating
10/10
- The general appearance of the hotel, the grounds and the rooms, top notch
- The architecture, a lot of attention to detail
- The pools, wow, there are a myriad of interconnecting waterways with lots of trees for shade and privacy
- The waiter service, no matter where you were they'd find you, always pleasant
- Never seemed crowded, even with every room full
- Bottled beer and several brands to choose from

9/10
- The a-la-cartes, good food, lots of choice, but only 3 on site. Line up in the morning to reserve and they always sold out fast, yet when you were there they seemed empty even with a full hotel so how could they be sold-out?
- Mixed drinks, good but a little hit or miss depending on bar-tender, full strength

8/10
- The buffet, pretty good selection, but never hot enough, pasta bar and omelet bar were my choice for hot food. Good table service

7/10
- Hours of service, every thing food related shuts down by 11 or so, late night drinks are only available at the disco, till 2am.

6/10
- Local phone calls are not free, 2 calls cost me $5.

Overall we were very pleased with the resort. If I were the type to go anywhere twice (which I am not, too many other places to see and experience) I would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rj3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlally C, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your stay in our Barceló Karmina hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#20 of 51 in Manzanillo
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#13 of 51 in Manzanillo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 51 in Manzanillo
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 51 in Manzanillo
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tesoro Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo
#6 of 51 in Manzanillo
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Karmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £131 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Karmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing