We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a lovely owner”
Review of Senor Sushi

Senor Sushi
Ranked #71 of 172 Restaurants in Manzanillo
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place with a lovely owner”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We went here through recommendation from our guesthouse one Sunday. We had Mexican, a tacos meal which came with rice and salad and enchilladas which were served with the same followed by margaritas to wash it down, all that for a price of $10. The owner was a great American guy and the waitresses were very polite. A pleasent meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Korennd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
438 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Cream cheese in sushi?”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

When we had a hankering for Japanese food we chose Senior Sushi. We ate there once and will not go back again. We ordered sushi and it had cream cheese in it. What's that all about? Later, when talking with friends it appears that in many places in Mexico, sushi has cream cheese in it. The location is right on the main road. If you are looking for a good place to eat in the vicinity, try one of the other good alternatives in the area - El Fogon or Toscanos.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not expect sushi”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I guess if you go there thinking you will have a meal,any meal, it might be ok, but don't think about sushi. They don't know how to make the Japanese meal.
I also ordered a tea, thinking I would get a 'bancha', but it came a huge jar of iced tea. I apologized and said I would have just a water. A few minutes later the waiter served the iced tea that I had returned to the table besides us, but they charged us the tea anyway.
Just besides it there is A Mexican restaurant El Fogon- much better option.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NegraModelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived and were poorly greeted.
Food was ordinary, service was below ordinary.
Will not be going back there.

Helpful?
Thank MaiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon de Guayabitos
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flavorless Sushi and Background Music to Suicide By”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Senor Sushi, by all appearances..looks like a popular restaurant with locals..and has lots of visitors..but we went on a Wednesday night..which is supposed to be their Buffet Night..but ordered off the regular menu...Beef Teryiaki was bland and flavorless..the Tempura Shimp plate is huge but most composed of vegetables..and a piece of Banana??Maybe 4 to 5 shrimp max.
The Background music was alternative Rock American blairing from the speaker in the outside part of the restaurant and overwhelmed all the clients..nobody could talk..yet..nobody asked the management or the waiters to turn it down our change it..totally inappropriate for a Japanese restaurant that's focused on Dinner. I ordered two fresh sushi plates..The Maguro especial and a something Express..it took a super long time to get it to the table..with No wasabi, no Ginger and a Soy Sauce that was watered down and infused with lime juice..I asked for Pure Soy Sauce..and was brought something in an unmarked bottle..that barely had the flavor of Soy Sauce..

Our waiter was indifferent and never prompted us upon sitting to ask if we wanted a cocktail or beer or start with appetizers..he just stood there, looking at us..strange..

Overall I would recommend someone in management to sit down at one of the tables and experience dinner from start to finish from a client's perspective..including observing the waiters,the music..and the flavor..seriously lacking attention.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senor Sushi also viewed

Manzanillo, Colima
Manzanillo, Colima
 

Been to Senor Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing