We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack

Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full service PADI Dive Center #20008 with 20 years in Manzanillo, offering diving and snorkeling tours, PADI courses from Discover Scuba to Divemaster Intern, retail sales and rental of scuba and snorkeling equipment, tank fills. We love the sports of diving and snorkeling, and try to show off Manzanillo's incredible underwater life to everyone who has a curiosity about the ocean. Diving and snorkeling is our life and we'd love to share it with you!
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had been working with Susan Dearing from Scuba Shack and were looking forward to our trip by cruiseship to Manzanillo. She had been great in corresponding with us as we finalized details. Unfortunately, Hurricane Jova changed the ship's plans and we had to skip Manzanillo. I was concerned as we had paid our trip in full. I emailed Susan and bingo, we had our Paypal refunded pronto. We were very impressed with the no questions asked refund!

Trust me, a trip back to Manzanillo will, without a doubt include a tour with Scuba Shack!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bonnington77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor planning met with flexibility and friendship!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We made an impromptu stop in Manzanillo while backpacking from Guadalajara to Puerto Vallarta. We had the better part of 30 hours to make the most of our stop. We arrived at our hostel and we welcomed by some Canadian ex-pats; however, we given bad advice as to local tourism. At the 11th hour when we thought that we had squandered our time in Manzanillo, we made one last ditch effort to get in a tour in the mid-to-late afternoon by stopping in at the "Scuba Shack." Susan was more than willing to offer us a custom tour at the end of the day and our guide Jonathan and Captain Enrique were both eager to go out one last time that day on a snorkel tour.
The tour involved a boat ride out to the rugged cliff to the east side of Bahia Santiago and we made two stops to view the under water attractions. Along the way, Jonathan pointed out the interesting rock formations, blow-holes and some local fun-facts. We spend a good half hour at the end of the tour at the shallow wreck site near the beach in the bay harrassing the puffer fish and looking for interesting cephlopods hiding in the steel structure of the ship.

This made the stay in Manzanillo something to remember rather than to try and forget! The owners and staff at the Scuba Shack are awesome! Many thanks!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank jordanincalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very very bad!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Hello together,
i went there for holhay diving and i am certified as Padi OWD, i have never had such a bad base!!!
Here are some points:

1) Air Quality – tasting like oil.
2) Being given a regulator with no pressure gauge.
3) Being given a BCD with a defective low pressure inflator.
4) The Divemaster who had “limitations” on where he was allowed to go.
5) Two computers with battery problems. This may not be as much of a safety issue if the diver has a watch and a depth gauge but still…

Thanks for attention!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank bowfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We were lookong for a scuba store to dive during our vacation. We stopped at Scuba Shack and we ask to go diving. The owner told us that he does not go out diving unless there is 6 person in the boat. So far we are only two. He had the nerve to ask us to find four more. I told him we were on holiday and we did not know people around there. We were also walking around the store. An old compressor that we are not sure if it works properly and he told us that the parts are hard to get in Mexico. We were looking at the books. Old, very old books. He told us they use them to teach. I am diving since 20 years and the books change often. He answered it is always the same diving theory. We left the store almost happy we did not dive with them. We found a new store not far from there and we could dive even if we were only two. It was Aquatic sports I beleive, Go there instead for professionalism.

Helpful?
6 Thank jeanpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great diving in Manzanillo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

My wife and I went diving in April 2010 and had a great time. We saw a lot of fish and other sea creatures. We just returned in Aug 2010 with the kids and my 10 year old son did the Discover dive and the PADI Jr. Open Water certification. The instructor, Fernando, was very patient and my son had a great time. I'm looking forward to more dives with my family and Fernando and Susan at Scuba Shack.

Manzanillo is a great place to dive and vacation esp. if you want to experience a more authentic Mexico.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin_from_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack also viewed

 

Been to Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing