We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Gear!”
Review of Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack - CLOSED

Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full service PADI Dive Center #20008 with 20 years in Manzanillo, offering diving and snorkeling tours, PADI courses from Discover Scuba to Divemaster Intern, retail sales and rental of scuba and snorkeling equipment, tank fills. We love the sports of diving and snorkeling, and try to show off Manzanillo's incredible underwater life to everyone who has a curiosity about the ocean. Diving and snorkeling is our life and we'd love to share it with you!
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old Gear!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We rented 9 sets of snorkeling gear and four were damaged. The owner did not seem to care when we returned the gear and he did not offer to compensate us in any way. We were disappointed...bring your own gear.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“seriously? is this a dive center”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The scuba shack is Manzanillos only PADI dive center. According to their website. We chose this dive operation because the dive instructor at our hotel the karmina palace had been overly generous with his "hands-on" approach to my 16 year old.

We should just have not gone diving. First of all all of the other negative reports are minimal to the reality. That is to say this dive center if it were a bowl of fruit would be rancid. Old equipment, old books, old building, old everything including the owners.

Who I believe are in their mid or late 60s and act their age. Cranky, rude and obnoxious. Fortunately they do not go diving but their employees are not much better.

Diving is off the beach and no boat is available unless you have at least 4 or 6 other divers. "Otherwise your S.O.L " the owners words not mine.

Its hard to believe a certifying agency like PADI would allow this dive center to use their logo. Message to PADI image is everything and this center is tarnishing yours.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Charly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had been working with Susan Dearing from Scuba Shack and were looking forward to our trip by cruiseship to Manzanillo. She had been great in corresponding with us as we finalized details. Unfortunately, Hurricane Jova changed the ship's plans and we had to skip Manzanillo. I was concerned as we had paid our trip in full. I emailed Susan and bingo, we had our Paypal refunded pronto. We were very impressed with the no questions asked refund!

Trust me, a trip back to Manzanillo will, without a doubt include a tour with Scuba Shack!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bonnington77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor planning met with flexibility and friendship!”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We made an impromptu stop in Manzanillo while backpacking from Guadalajara to Puerto Vallarta. We had the better part of 30 hours to make the most of our stop. We arrived at our hostel and we welcomed by some Canadian ex-pats; however, we given bad advice as to local tourism. At the 11th hour when we thought that we had squandered our time in Manzanillo, we made one last ditch effort to get in a tour in the mid-to-late afternoon by stopping in at the "Scuba Shack." Susan was more than willing to offer us a custom tour at the end of the day and our guide Jonathan and Captain Enrique were both eager to go out one last time that day on a snorkel tour.
The tour involved a boat ride out to the rugged cliff to the east side of Bahia Santiago and we made two stops to view the under water attractions. Along the way, Jonathan pointed out the interesting rock formations, blow-holes and some local fun-facts. We spend a good half hour at the end of the tour at the shallow wreck site near the beach in the bay harrassing the puffer fish and looking for interesting cephlopods hiding in the steel structure of the ship.

This made the stay in Manzanillo something to remember rather than to try and forget! The owners and staff at the Scuba Shack are awesome! Many thanks!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank jordanincalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very very bad!!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Hello together,
i went there for holhay diving and i am certified as Padi OWD, i have never had such a bad base!!!
Here are some points:

1) Air Quality – tasting like oil.
2) Being given a regulator with no pressure gauge.
3) Being given a BCD with a defective low pressure inflator.
4) The Divemaster who had “limitations” on where he was allowed to go.
5) Two computers with battery problems. This may not be as much of a safety issue if the diver has a watch and a depth gauge but still…

Thanks for attention!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank bowfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Underworld Scuba - Scuba Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing