We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Dolphin Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Cove Inn
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at the Dolphin Cove Inn with another couple in early March 2011, taking advantage of their $199 special, which includes breakfast. What a deal! The hotel is in excellent condition (it has been three years since our previous visit), rooms are spacious and clean. The restaurant is excellent, making it unnecessary to leave the premises. The two downsides we encounteredwere the noise created by the PA system at Barceloa Karmina Palace and the new policy in place at Las Hadas that assesses a $400p fee for what used to be free to use the facilities (plus more $ to rent a cabana or lounge chair). It was nice to go over for a change of pace however and the money paid can be exchanged for food/drink once paid. It is possible to have the concierge at Dolphin Cove make a dinner reservation for you and the access is free and Delfino's restaurant is excellent. BTW, the concierge(s) is a nice touch. Everything was great from the reservation sytem with Miriam to Humbert's help with our luggage on both ends of our stay.
Linda and Bob Smith
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda499405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate the great feedback! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    85
    28
    20
    8
See reviews for
83
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We have now been to Manzanillo, Mexico four times in five years and have stayed at the Dolphin Cove Inn when we visit Manzanillo. This resort during the week is very quiet with mostly Canadian snowbirds staying there. Come Friday afternoons until mid Monday afternoon, the resort fills up with people from the surrounding area. It can be quite noisey around the pool area with lots of excited children, balls, toys, etc. As well, the Paraisio Restaurant in the mornings for breakfast can be really busy but this is the second year that the restaurant on the weekends has served a buffet which is great -- it is fast, very efficient and not disappointing with a good assortment of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, yogourt and various hot Mexican dishes. I recommend trying the blackberry juice -- it is superb! One really big improvement that we noticed in the Restaurant is the service -- it is friendly & efficient and just excellent. Special thanks to Secora and Marcelino -- our daily servers! In previous visits, we found the servers not to be very motivated, lacked personality and really did not want to engage with people who didn't speak Spanish.

This year we opted for a different room as we found our previous room which was located in Building #3 to be quiet noisey on the weekends -- with the Mexican families and children banging doors, dragging chairs, etc. We were located in building 7 and it was perfecto -- quiet both during the week and on weekends. Our one neighbour (who owned their condo) did have a dog that barked occasionally but for the most part was quite well behaved. The air conditioner that was in our room worked well. As well, there was a nice sized ceiling fan for cooling purposes which also worked well. A coffee pot, blender, toaster, microwave, and bar fridge are located in most of the rooms ---- again all our accessories worked well. The mattress on the bed was comfortable -- not the typical hard mattress that you find in Mexico --- it was a Sealy mattress. The room was cleaned daily. It never smelled of mold or mildew and we always had fresh towels no later than 2:00 p.m. The view from Building 7 is spectacular -- you overlook the Bay and Hadas Marina. The internet connection, which my partner worked on to try and fix, was hit and miss on the terrace/balconies of the rooms -- usually really slow or not connection; however, there was always a good connection in the restaurant and in the lobby. Here's hoping that the connection to the rooms improves next year; certainly an upgrade is needed to the antennas to better pick up the signal.

The landscaping for this resort is absolutely the best in Manzanillo. I dare anyone to find a better manicured place with such an assortment of tropical plants -- too many to name. It is truly a tropical paradise -- I think a special thank you is in order to Fransisco who works tirelessly all day long manicuring, watering, spraying, fertilizing, weeding, etc.....

All in all, we really enjoy going to the Dolphin Cove Inn. No this is not a 5 stair resort but it provides us with clean/comfortable amenities. We feel safe and secure at night. The staff, including the General Manager, Cynthia, are so personable, friendly and always wanting to make your stay the best. A big thank you to each member of Dolphin Cove Hotel staff -- another year another great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Wow! Thank you for your glowing review! We love our paradise at Dolphin Cove and are so happy that you loved it too. We hope to welcome you back again soon. The weather is perfect down here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Like others said, lots of stairs and walking. That said, very nice grounds, not busy, great service, restaurant was inexpensive but good. My complaint? Internet service sucked!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CanadaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review of Dolphin Cove Inn. I'm sorry the internet connection wasn't good for you. We are constantly working on improving it and we are currently installing a new WiFi system that we hope will greatly improve the signal. You will have to come back soon to check it out for yourself!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We recently traveled to Manzanillo and stayed at the Dolphin Cove Inn. The hotel is just like the pictures, beautiful views, tons of flowers, clean rooms and spacious balconies. Breakfast was included and it was also good. There were lot of stairs as mentioned in other reviews, but we were aware of that and had no problems with that either. I must say when chosing a hotel to stay at I do a lot of research to make sure it has what we want in a hotel. The one thing I will tell people, because I must have missed it somewhere, is the fact that DC is located on a hillside that is probably 1 1/2 to 2 miles uphill from the main road. Thankfully there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. I am in pretty good shape and workout regularly, my husband on the other hand has been having issues with his breathing over the last year - he could in no way have walked that hill and I admit I never tried it. We do spend time walking, but with the hill we had to take the bus (only 60 pesos) just to get to the main road. For that reason alone, we would probably chose to stay at a different hotel if we ever return. Again this is nothing against the hotel, it is everything and more than what we want/need in a hotel. Loved the kitchenette, we had coffee in the room every morning and even went to the Santiago market for dorado and shrimp for dinner one night.

Manzanillo area is very spread out. You can do plenty of walking. From the main road we would walk to Santiago and explore the town and the market on Saturday. From there we would walk to Playa Miramar. Take the bus to explore Manzanillo and have a Cervesa at Bar Social. This is a good trip for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
What a wonderful review of our lovely Dolphin Cove Inn. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the lovely views. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Our stay was great. Very quiet, peaceful, amazing view from our balcony. You can see the sunrise each morning since it faces south/S.E. There are a lot of steps to the beach because it is built on a hillside (80 steps from our room to the ocean.) Private cabanas and we snorkeled right at the rocks at the hotel. There was a little singing/music late one night from the next door hotel but nothing my earplugs couldn't handle. Beautiful flowers everywhere! The bus is 6 pesos at the front door of the hotel into town. Beds are Mexican-hard, but that's the way most are in Mexico!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucilleSpringfieldOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
You are wonderful to take the time to write such a nice review of our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and seem to love our little paradise as much as we do. Please come back again soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This hotel is a great deal. We paid something like $130 a night over the Christmas holiday and got a huge one bedroom suite. It had a living room/kitchen in one room, and a big bedroom. Both rooms have a giant balcony (they connect) overlooking a spectacular view of the bay. The whole layout of the hotel is lovely. It is perched on hill, beautifully landscaped. Looks like Greece or something out of the mediterranean. The restaurant overlooks the ocean as well, with a big palapa roof. Breakfast was included as well - and there was a lot to choose from. Dinner was fine. Can't complain. The location is great - you can walk to Las Hadas on your right, or Karmina Palace on your left. We couldn't get into the restaurant at Karmina Palace because it was booked for "guests only." You should check that place out - it is so amazing looking. Anyway, there are plenty of restaurants at Las Hadas and on the marina next to Las Hadas, so not to worry. Decent snorkling right off the beach of the hotel. The decor of the rooms is nothing to write home about. Glaring white flourescent bulbs, tatty couch, everything painted white, but it is still fine. We never went to the City of Manzanillo (keep in mind this hotel is about 7-8 miles from the main city) but I'm not sure we missed anything!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Dolphin Cove was not what we expected from the reviews. The rooms were run down although clean. The room was not ready when we arrived well over the check in time. We were told to wait a half hour with no apologies from the staff. Loud music penetrates the room until 1:30 am each morning from a neighboring hotels nightclub so if you plan to go to sleep before that forget about it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveleroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
I am so sorry you were not disappointed in your stay with us. Regarding the late check in and the noise, the time between Christmas and New Years is the busiest time of year in Manzanillo with people checking in and out and the discos stay open later than usual. Again, we apologize and we appreciate your business and hope that will consider us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
118 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Cove Inn

Property: Dolphin Cove Inn
Address: Avenida Vista Hermosa s/n | Aun Costado Del Hotel Las Hadas, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Cove Inn offers affordable and ideal Manzanillo hotel vacation lodging accommodations and is the perfect Manzanillo Mexico vacation destination for your Mexican Riviera vacation. Manzanillo is ideally located in the Mexican state of Colima just between Puerto Vallarta and Acapulco on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Manzanillo vacations have become very popular in recent years as this Mexico Riviera vacation spot is now one of the most important tourist resorts in all of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Cove Hotel Manzanillo
Dolphin Cove Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing