We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty.”
Review of Dolphin Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Cove Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel was more than what I expected! The hotel staff was very accomadating and friendly. The food at the restaurant was oh so yummy, woke up daily to fresh coffee, sweet plate of fruit and a variety of selections to eat. It was centrally located to local markets as well as three grocery stores, that you buy and have simple snacks for young ones. The suite had a fridge and microwave and stove with all the kitchen necessary needs. Daily cleaning of the room and the entire facility was clean and well kept!
We can't wait to return there very soon

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZunnyZanDiegoMariA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of Dolphin Cove Inn! We love your wonderful feedback and appreciate your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I absolutely loved the look of the hotel and grounds. Flowers everywhere - a gorgeous contrast to the less-adorned hotels on either side. The buildings and walkways are pure white - apparently painted three times a year to keep it pristine, again in contrast with the dirtier, peeling hotels around it. Several sailboats anchored in front of the Dolphin Cove Inn during our stay, no doubt because it's easily the prettiest sea-to-shore view in the entire bay.

There are a lot of stairs to get anywhere but I am out of shape and didn't suffer; just needed to stop occasionally. If you are more physically limited or have small children to carry, this will be a challenge for you. No doubt, any of the immediate area's hotels will have too many stairs.

The room wasn't great. As mentioned in many reviews, the bedding was worn-looking and not as colourful as it should be. The bathroom facility, while adequate, wasn't as nice as one in a less-expensive hotel we've used previously. The kitchenette was again just adequate and nothing to mention in a postcard. There is a mosquito problem, despite being a breezy seaside location, and the balcony door screen had several holes. We were kept up through the night swatting mosquitos despite closing the glass door shortly after bedtime. Ants are also a problem in Mexico and this facility is no different.

Although the hotel itself is very quiet, we could hear a "disco" that overlooks the bay at least 2 kms away. The music blared and thumped until the early morning hours, which was intrusive. I'm not sure if it's a nightly occurence but I'm guessing so since our one-night visit was a Tuesday, not a weekend.

The restaurant is a pretty covered balcony overlooking the water, pool area, and grounds. The meals were tasty and well-priced, and the staff was very nice. There is a very small store near the office that offers a few pool/beach toys, Manzanillo souvenirs, and a limited amount of groceries. Again, adequate but not great.

The beach area is quite rocky and pretty much unusable during high tide, however, there are "beach balconies", complete with sand, loungers, tables, chairs, and umbrellas if you feel like wiggling your toes in the sand during these hours. A really great idea. They're tended regularly and very tidy.

My overall opinion is that if the rooms were spruced up, this would be an ideal hotel for anyone who can manage the stairs. The balconies are gorgeous, the grounds are fabulous, and the staff is wonderful. Thanks to the Dolphin Cove Inn for everything. See you next time!

Room Tip: Facing the bay (rather than the pool) ensures a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnTraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for your review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We appreciate your time and effort. We understand the stairs can be an issue. We have some golf carts available to help guests get from their rooms down to the beach and pool/restaurant area. We also have some rooms lower down and closer to the beach to minimize the stairs. Hopefully this will help. We are also working on upgrading our bedding. Thank you for your feedback. We take your comments seriously and want to work to constantly improve our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Checked in to some construction going on which I was not informed about when I made the reservations. Got to the room and power went out so no internet and more important no
a/c. Called the office and got the run around. Power was out for about 8 hours, due to the
construction I suspect. The staff made no attempt to make up for the inconvenience and
in fact were cavalier about the whole thing. If you have a room at the top of the hill you have
to walk down so many steps to get breakfast and go to the beach that I thought I was climbing
the pyramids going back to the room. I would never stay here again. Wish I could say
something good about this hotel since I'm a glass half-full kind of guy, alas I can't.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for your review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We apologize the power was out when you arrived. We also understand the stairs can be an issue. We have some golf carts available to help guests get from their rooms down to the beach and pool/restaurant area. We also have some rooms lower down and closer to the beach to minimize the stairs. Thank you for your feedback. We take your comments seriously and want to work to constantly improve our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went back to the Dolphin Cove Inn after a bit more than one year and was quite disappointed. After having had an amazing stay the first time, this time we could not wait to leave. The hotel is run down! Rooms do not seem to be maintained, the quality of the furniture, AC, kitchen and bathroom was very bad and is in urgent need of replacement.

The food quality at the restaurant has gone down, the sunloungers are broken and the whole property seems dirty and nasty.

It is sad to see that the hotel is not as nice anymore and that the owners do not invest money to keep up the quality level. We will not come back and opt for one of the more expensive hotels in the city next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We take your comments very seriously and we worked hard during the slow season to upgrade and fix up our rooms. Please come by and check out our improvements next time you are in Manzanillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I had to give the motel a low rating because of poor service. They are very slow to respond to special requests, if at all. The first night I asked for two extra towels, never recieved them, also at the pool they hand out towels, they told my 11 year old to come back in 10 minutes two times and he never recieved them. Finally 2 hours later I went over and they told me they were out for the rest of the night. I got upset and demanded a towel and 30 minutes finally recived one. Not good service for the amount you pay. I also requested maid service for the room while we were out shopping, not done after 3 hours. They also advertise free wi-fi, did not work for the 3 days we were there and the computer in the office was out for 2 days. They did not seem to care about it, just oh well, we have problems all the time. The outside grounds are beautiful & the view is great, but that doesn't make up for the poor service or the very dated rooms. We also had the shower back up and flood half of one room, not good. I will find a different place to stay the next time I'm there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We found the Dophin Cove Inn a pleasant surprise. It is on the side of a hill in a secluded Bay and the steps can be a challenge. The staff were very accomodating and relocated us to a lower room that was easier for us to reach. The pool and area was kept clean with lots of chairs for sunning and the restaurant and bar are close by. We found our room to be very clean, and serviced daily, although some things need to be updated, especially linens and towels. The view is stunning and each room faces the Bay and has a balcony. The Beach area is small but clean and we walked along it and in the surf daily. Swimming would only be for those accomplished as there were strong waves and rocks visible. But we did see some folks snorkelling, and heard that there were fish to view amongst the rocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you don't negotiate stairs very well or are uneasy using them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 39Sam43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We really appreciate the time and effort and love to get feedback! We understand the stairs are a challenge - but this hillside location affords us our gorgeous views. We have a several golf cars available to pick you up and take guest to the beach/pool and restaurant. Hopefully that will help solve the issues with the stairs. We hope you will come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Once again, we spent our winter vacation time at Dolphin Cove Inn. This has been our fifth time to this small Mexican boutique hotel in Manzanillo. It is not a 5 start resort with all inclusive meals. You do not need to get up at the crack of dawn to save a chair by the pool, nor do you need to get in a line-up to make reservations for dinner. There will be no blaring music by the pool or a person wanting you to play bingo. This hotel is about peace and quiet. It is about getting away from the people and just relaxing. The landscaping surrounding this facility is stunning and the head gardener works tirelessly manicuring and pruning the many tropical plants scattered throughout the facility.

There is a restaurant on site (Paradise Restaurant) which overlooks the bay. Again, the view is absolutely stunning as are the views from your balcony/terrace. The restaurant food is very good and well priced. I don’t think I was ever disappointed with any of my meals from this restaurant. Over the course of the years that we have been traveling to this destination, much improvement has been noted with the restaurant staff. They are friendly, helpful, efficient and really caring. What a wonderful asset these people are for this Hotel.

I would star rate this hotel, by Canadian standards, at a 2.5 rating. I rate this at this level more because it is somewhat dated (having been built in the 70’s) and needing some room repairs (eg. Taps need replacing, floors have cracks in them). The rooms are, however, very clean and have kitchenettes for cooking – fridge, counter top burners, microwave, coffee pot, blender and toaster. As well as a few pots, plates, cutlery, etc. The towels are a bit worn and could be replaced.

I think we enjoy going to this resort because it is small, beautifully landscaped and the service provided by its staff is EXCEPTIONAL. I just know if we were staying in a 5 star resort, and had a room problem, it would be our problem for days. At this resort, if a problem arises & staff are notified, it is fixed within the day – sometimes within minutes. Again, these staff are such an asset to this hotel and to providing outstanding customer service.

All in all, we continue to return to this facility because it is an “easy, safe & restful vacation”. While we do want to travel to other places, for some reason, when it comes time to book our vacation eaach year, we continue to return to this resort.

To note: if you are not able to climb up and down stairs and ramps, this place is not for you. It is built into the side of huge hill and to get any where you must climb, climb, climb!

One other note, the WIFI never works properly. One day it works, the next day it doesn’t. We sure hope that this can be fixed as “staying in touch” with family is important when traveling to Mexico.

Again, a big thank you to the staff at the Dolphin Cove Inn. You are to be commended on your service!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbutterflyd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCHColorado, Manager at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

By the way, we are working on getting a new WIFI system with stronger signals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#12 of 52 in Manzanillo
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#24 of 52 in Manzanillo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
6.6 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#11 of 52 in Manzanillo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Cove Inn

Address: Avenida Vista Hermosa s/n Peninsula de Santiago | Aun Costado Del Hotel Las Hadas, dentro del condominio Playasol, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Cove Inn offers affordable and ideal Manzanillo hotel vacation lodging accommodations and is the perfect Manzanillo Mexico vacation destination for your Mexican Riviera vacation. Manzanillo is ideally located in the Mexican state of Colima just between Puerto Vallarta and Acapulco on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Manzanillo vacations have become very popular in recent years as this Mexico Riviera vacation spot is now one of the most important tourist resorts in all of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Cove Hotel Manzanillo
Dolphin Cove Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing