We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pepes is a wonderful place to stay”
Review of Pepes Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pepes Hideaway
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pepes is a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We came to Pepe's looking to relax and that is what we did. The Villa's were amazing and coffee was deilivered to your villa, which we enjoyed out on our deck every morning overlooking the pacific.

Pepe's is gorgeous and scenic. They have beautiful birds, 2 monkey's and 3 really cute dogs> Pepe's itself is right on the cliffside and each of the 7 huts has a great view of the ocean.

The Villa's are roomy with an oceanfront balcony. Bathroom area was clean. The service and food is excellent, Loved the bacon!!! You won't want to go out to eat, the food they serve is home cooking and they treat you very special. Speedy and his son, Juan were genuinely great people and great cooks. Pepe is a great person also and we had the pleasure of dining with him a few nights we were there. It truly was exactly the vacation we wanted and needed.

Spending the day on the private beach, equipped with the cooler they pack for you and later they bring lunch out to you...was really great> we were very impressed with all the staff did for us. The Margaritta's are the best is Mexico. We have decided we will be returning to Pepe's every year. If you stay at Pepe's expect to be spoiled because you will be>

Room Tip: we like villa's 2 & 3 but if you have trouble with stairs villa 4 is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
107
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

spectacular setting. Unfortunately, the bugs and mosquitoes ate us alive. the constant reverberating beat from the disco of a nearby hotel spoiled the atmosphere. Food was excellent and service very friendly. My wife and I were booked for 8 nights and left after three.

Room Tip: hard to beat room number #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepe3436, Owner at Pepes Hideaway, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
The excessive noise was due to "Spring Break" and "Easter Week" when everyone seems to pump up the volume until the wee hours in the morning.It happens once a year for about four days.We instruct all clients to put two floor fans in front of there bed to blow away the mosquitos if they feel they will have a problem. We rarely have problems with using this system.Out of 130 reviews, you never see the mosquito issues mentioned. I am happy to hear they liked the food and service! We are sorry, but unfortunately have no control of "Spring Break".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

some vacations are fun! Go, Go, Go. See and do. Other vacations are all about the relaxation. that was Pepe's.

We booked this trip a mere 2 weeks before we went. Found the place on Tripadvisor. I wasnt looking for a hotel, as i hate mega-hotels but this was anything but that. 7 palapas/huts on a cliffside overlooking the pacific.

It was everything we were looking for. the highlights
1. The location. Inside a gated community in Manzanilla. While the city itself was underwhelming, this little community called "la Punta" was gorgeous and scenic. Pepe's itself is right on the cliffside and each of the 7 huts affords a great view of the ocean.
2. the accomodations. Each palapa was lovely. its not modern and it hasnt been updated since it was built...but it works. A huge room with oceanfront balcony. Bathroom area was clean. If you want modern, this isnt Pepes.
3. the service and food. they treat you like special guests. Great food, friendly every step of the way. Speedy and his son, Juan were genuinely great people.
4. the experience. We wanted to be together as a family. We did this. It truly was exactly what we needed.

highlights
spending the day on the private beach club, equipped with the cooler they pack for you and then the lunch they bring out to you...felt like royalty

every morning, coffee and tea already waiting for us on the balcony

Meals were amazing. Loved the bacon!!!

not much more to stay...we like to go to different places but the kids (and my wife and I) have decided that we will be returning to Pepes sooner rather than later

Room Tip: ask for any of the 3 rooms on other side of pool If going with others...the 2 (or 3) rooms neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed for three nights just before new year, and it was amazing, they just spoiled you! all the time. I was pregnant by then and every morning, we found fresh coffee at the balcony (decaf for me and normal for my husband... yes, every morning!)... Speedy is the best! his homely cooking sooo good!.
It was unforgettable, you actually sleep listening to the waves the whole night! Do you like nature?? well, this is for you... If you are looking for a private, romantic, and quiet holidays, this is what you need!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idaniux1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have stayed at Pepe's three times now. Each visit has been terrific. It is the place to unwind, relax, and get pampered by Speedy and the staff. We will certainly return. Many thanks to Pepe and everyone who have made our trips so nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfCuchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Pepe's Hideaway is the place if you are planning your perfect vacation that is worth every penny.

My husband and I spent 5 days at Pepe's and it was our most relaxing vacation by far. This place is perfect if you want a vacation with family, friends, or if you are looking for a romantic get-away. It looks beautiful in photos but it is even better in person.

Highlights of our Trip: (1) Our Host Pepe - Pepe is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. He has a very colorful personality and is pleasant company that my husband and I really enjoyed over dinner each night.

(2) Ambiance - Every corner of this property is tastefully decorated. My husband and I stayed in an oceanfront villa that has a great view. We'd sit in the villa balcony for hours feeling the ocean breeze and watching the sun set. Even our bathroom had a nice view of the ocean.

(3) The Wedding/Thanksgiving Dinner - Pepe organized our wedding ceremony in the poolside garden area with bougainvillea on all sides and an ocean view in the backdrop. I couldn't ask for a more romantic setting. Thanksgiving dinner was several courses, great wine and interesting guests.

(4) Staff - The staff at Pepe's is called "Spoiling Staff" for a reason. They are at your service anytime, whether it is for salsa and fresh guacamole at the hot tub or mid-day snack at the private beach club. Speedy is an amazing cook! His son Juan was good company and showed us around whenever we requested.

(5) Food - Every morning we woke up to a nice cup of coffee in our balcony, followed by breakfast in the dinning area that was served with fresh fruits and juice. My favorite part was a healthy dinner and fresh coconut water whenever your want it.

In short, It was one of our best vacation in a long time. We'll definitely visit Pepe again, perhaps for our anniversary and would recommend this place to our family and friends.

Parul & Kedar

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I wanted an experience that was unique, intimate yet at the same time luxurious and couldn't have had a better time. Pepe is so inviting and sweet-- he made me and my girlfriend feel right at home. Speedy and Juan are so thoughtful and caring -- they brought us snacks and drinks while we were at the beach. The bungalows are sweet and have authentic charm and view is simply the best i've ever had. I want to return as soon as possible.

they care and you are not just a number but a guest .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.9 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mar Celeste
Mar Celeste
#5 of 53 in Manzanillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepes Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepes Hideaway

Property: Pepes Hideaway
Address: Privada Camino de Don Diego 67 | 67 LaPunta, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pepes Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pepes Hideaway ... a private nature reserve in Manzanillo, Mexico offering accommodations in luxury thatched-roof bungalows with spectacular views and awesome sunsets - all nestled in a tropical garden of giant coconut palm trees, towering cacti, brilliant bougainvillea, and producing banana tress. Pepe's believes in the adage that the land does not belong to us, we belong to the land. The accommodations are picture perfect palapas (thatched roof bungalows) with 20 foot ceilings, a sitting patio, native equipales (hand made chairs and tables) to take in the awesome sunsets, the nature show in sea in front of you, the magnificent coastline and distant mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pepes Hideaway Manzanillo
Pepes Hideaway Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing