We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve on the Double Trouble II” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Trouble Sport Fishing

Double Trouble Sport Fishing
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“New Years Eve on the Double Trouble II”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were in Manzanillo for New Years 2014 and, thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor, headed straight to the Marina to find the Double Trouble II to book our fishing trip. We had never been deep sea fishing before but were told that this area was the place to try it. We found the boat near the front of the marina, near the ice cream stand.

The captain, Freddie, is very friendly and approachable. We were invited to come onboard and check out the boat, and all of our questions were answered. The boat books up fairly quickly, likely because they are one of the best. We paid $500.00 US for our trip, with 6 of us on board (4 adults, two teenagers). Included in the price are a dozen beer, 6 water and 6 soft drinks. You bring your own lunch and snacks.

Freddie is accommodating and will let you choose what time you want to start out, but recommends leaving at 7:00 a.m. so you can be on the water at sunrise. We took his advice and enjoyed a beautiful sunrise on our way out. The crew had hooks in the water very quickly, and we started catching very soon. We first caught some smaller fish, that we released, but that were still fun to reel in (especially for the ladies). We caught a yellow fin tuna, and two good sized Dorado, but the highlight of the day was the marlin. The fishing had slowed down for about an hour and the water became quite rough, so we were getting a bit discouraged (and the kids were turning green), but Freddie and crew were regularly changing the lures and making adjustments. Before long we had a marlin on. My husband began reeling him in, guided by the expertise of Freddie and David. At point point they fitted him with a vest that made it easier for him to reel in the marlin. In the end, it took him only 35 minutes to reel in what we were told was a 300 lb marlin. Freddie, David and their young helper showed their expertise in getting the huge fish onto the deck of the boat.

When we returned to the marina, the crew hung the marlin for photos. A marlin attracts a lot of attention at the marina, as it was pouring rain when we came in but we had a crowd of people who came by to say congratulations and to have their picture taken with our marlin. Freddie then took it to the far end of the marina where he has a person who filleted all of the fish for us, including the marlin. At one point I think we had 4 separate people helping with the fish. We took a few "roasts" off of the marlin and let Freddie and the crew take the rest.

The boat is first class, clean, spacious with a bathroom and place to sit down below deck. Unfortunately for our teenagers, they were quite ill due to the rough seas, and Freddie was very kind to them, and gave them wrist bands to help with the sea sickness. If there is one thing I would have done differently, I would have had the kids start taking gravol the day before the trip.

This operation has a great reputation for a reason. It is a first class operation and you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Double Trouble II!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you're heading to Manzanillo, do NOT miss out on a Double Trouble II adventure! Whether sport fishing or taking in a sunset cruise, you will not find a cleaner, more efficiently run boat in all of Manzanillo. The skipper, Freddie, speaks excellent English and takes special care to make sure everyone is comfortable and well taken care of. On our first fishing expedition we were very lucky and caught a nice sized (7', 120#) marlin. Without the skill of the crew of the Double Trouble, this fish would have gotten away - no doubt about it. This was our first trip to beautiful Manzanillo but we quickly learned that those who frequently visit here always choose Double Trouble for their sport fishing/sunset cruising. You will not be disappointed with this extremely clean, well kept boat and caring, experienced crew. Lock them in before you come - the word is out and they are in demand. Good luck!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gilligan's Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We didn't have the time for a day's fishing and decided to try to find a "sunset cruise" instead. There are a couple of very large boats which take a full load of folks, 20 to 50, around Santiago Bay from the Las Hadas marina but that didn't appeal to us. We found Double Trouble. The boat was perfect for the 6 of us and would easily and comfortably accommodate a few more. We booked her for a 2 hour sunset tour around La Punta, Santiago Bay and then north on up the coast to look at the beautiful coastline. The weather was very nice, some high clouds and a calm sea. As we went outside of the Santiago Bay the clouds started to grow. We got a couple of great almost sunset pictures of the sun peeking through the clouds when Freddy, the skipper, turned on his radar and suggested that we come in from the aft deck. Within 5 minutes it was POURING rain like someone turned on a fire hose. Fueled with the provisions that we had brought, we all broke into the theme song from Gilligan's Island.

You couldn't see the bow it was raining so hard. There was nothing to worry about, Freddy had it well in hand. The skipper set a course for home and we continued to consume our supplies. They tell us that we came back around the La Punta peninsula and found the entrance to Las Hadas marina but I didn't see any of it. What a downpour !!!

All in all it was a great experience made all the better by a confident Captain and an experienced crew.

Well worth the cost!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Paladin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How do you say Awesome in Spanish?? Double Trouble!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We recently were in Manzanillo on holiday with friends and we got a crazy idea to try our hand at sport fishing, mainly due to the fact that in a few weeks Manzanillo is hosting one of the largest sail fishing tournaments in the world, so we were told and hoped that our chances of catching one was good.
We asked several businesses as well as local's and basically received the same response, that they had a friend or relative and would take us out on their boat. (BTW - we found out that everyone in Manzanillo is an entrepreneur). However, the boats they were going to take us in were small and narrow with a single motor with a maximum of one or two simultaneous trolling lines.

As fate would have it, we found a trusted source at a small, but fantastic restaurant called Schooners II (highly recommend this place as the food is excellent, and the husband/wife team that own and operate it are very unbiased on the community businesses, and coming from the U.S. with little experience of our area, they were a valuable resource to us). The owner, Manny, recommended Double Trouble to us and sold us on the professionalism of their crew, the size and quality of their boat as well as the integrity of the boat's owner. He did mention that it would be more than the others, but what it added in cost, we'll make up in the experience.

He was right. We absolutely loved our experience on the boat. Although we were looking for sailfish, we simply didn't see any. What we didn't realize is that sailfish are basically surface fish and that if they were in the area, we'd spot them. We didn't see any and we went out a long way from shore. The boat could handle the waves of the ocean extremely well. There is a deck on top of the boat to view your surroundings and/or help with sea sickness if being below became too much to handle.

After a few hours on the boat, catching fish became a by-product for us as we simply felt like kings (I'm sure the courtesy Modelo's contributed to that feeling). The crew of Fredy and David were an absolute joy and their knowledge of the area, the fish, ocean currents, etc. were impressive. The boat could handle up to 8 simultaneous trolling lines in the water. At one point, we ran through a school of Dorado's and hooked four of them at the same time. What a rush!

Fredy and David easily handled our adrenaline rush and successfully assisted us in bringing each one into the boat. They absolutely knew the surroundings of the boat, the location of each pole and line and ensured there was no interference with everyone on board. It was incredible and I don't know how they managed that, but my friend and I successfully hauled each fighting Dorado in one by one. What a rush! My adrenaline still kicks in each time I recall that moment. All in all, we caught 8 Dorado's and had the time of our lives.
Although it's a bit more than the others, the money spent was well worth it. You get what you pay for and I received an incredible memory for my money.

Thanks DTII.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rznboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Trouble Sport Fishing also viewed

 

Been to Double Trouble Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing