We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation-superb Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation-superb Hosts”
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We booked to stay at Villas Los Angeles from 19th-27th Dec 2008.
On our arrival we were shown to our room overlooking the pool area- we love the evening sun and this room had sun during the day,so no effort was spared by Michel and Patricia to relocate us to a Penthouse room overlooking the beautiful bay ,with glorious evening sun and amazing sunsets.
The accommodation was very spacious,clean and well arranged and drinking water supplied.
Everything was very comfortable and when you are 60+ you need comfort!
Michel marked our card for local restaurants and food shops- one is just down the hill and well stocked and larger supermarkets are on the main street.
It is a 10 minute walk to local restaurants-our favourite was La Cantina.The owner spoke good english and the food was excellent and very reasonable.There are excellent restaurants to suit all pockets inc L Recife set on a cliff top which is a must.
If you are a non fitty you may need a taxi to come back up the hill which only costs 20-30 pesos.Taxis are very reasonable.

We cannot say enough in favour of Michel and Patricia,as if we were staying with family-wonderful people.
Cocktail hour overlooking the bay and watching the sunset with other guests was fun.
We did have a hire car,which we would recommend as it helped with the shopping and we were able to visit other towns such as Colima (the old capital) which was very interesting.
The temperature in late December was lovely and wonderful to laze around the pool which was supplied with comfortable sun beds,tables and chairs and the essential parasols.
The pool is beautifully kept and the plants delightful.
The property is not on the beach-it requires a shortwalk of 5-10 minutes-however with such a lovely pool who needs a beach.
Hotel Los Angeles was just what we needed,excellent spacious accommodation,lovely situation in a quiet area so we could relax.
We now have great friends in Mexico-thank you so much Michel and Patricia.
Phillip & Susan Cambridge UK

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — Climbing back up the hill
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
51
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

This was our second visit to Hotel Villas Los Angeles that is situated on top of Santiago Peninsula providing spectacular views of two bays. One of the most distinctive characteristics of this boutique hotel is the hands-on management of the owners, Michel and Patricia LaPointe! They provide personal service to their guests. Not only are they friendly and responsive, but when a crisis arises, they are immediately there to guide and assist you through the situation, This was demonstrated to us the first day. While shopping, my wallet was stolen. They confirmed the steps we needed to take and immediately drove us to the police department to file a theft report. This was critical since we drove our car on this trip and my driver's license was taken with the credit cards, etc. Patriciia assisted us to obtain the proper poiice documentation we needed to drive. Her service was invaluable to us. Besides being a well run small hotel, their personal service sets Hotel Villas Los Angeles far above the competition.

Pete and Vicki, Kansas - USA

  • Liked — View,personal service, friendliness, and accommodations
  • Disliked — Proximity to shores/shops/beaches - not within easy walking distance
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VPTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed the Villas Los Angeles during the December holidays. We were looking for a suite-type unit in a friendly, not too large facility and we found it! We had a suite with kitchen, patio, 3 BRs that met all our family's needs. The setting is lovely on top of the Santiago Peninsula with 360 views and sunsets to die for. It is 10 minutes walk to the beach.
Michel and Patricia are great hosts and even put on a New Year's Eve party for guests and friends around the pool--including a live band. They are full of suggestions for outings and will help make arrangements, if needed.
We highly recommend this accomodation, and will return if possible.

  • Liked — location, view and friendliness
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hoffpersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We just returned from a spending a week at Villas Los Angeles in Manzanillo. First you must know that we have been reluctant to vacation in Mexico because of all the reports of drug related violence and crime. We were pleasantly surprised by what we found in Manzanillo. The community itself is relatively small compared to other vacation destinations. The people are helpful and friendly but ultimately, the Hotel was far better than we would have hoped for. Don't go if you are looking for the all-inclusive experience. The property does not have a bar or restaurant but the kitchenettes and outdoor BBQ are more than enough for cooking on your own. You can provision at a major grocery outlet within walking distance and there are also restaurants within walking distance as well. No need to worry about walking to and from after dark either.
Bottom line: We had a wonderful experience and the owner's and staff are very attentive to their guests. It has changed our opinion of Mexico as a vacation destination.

  • Liked — Location, peaceful, pool, view, great living space
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank akh2oguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We were looking for a quiet place, close to local amenites but away from crowds, where we could relax and explore the area. Hotel Villas Los Angeles provided us with all of this and much more. We were immediately impressed with the beauty of the hotel perched high on the hill overlooking Santiago Bay and Manzanillo Bay. The grounds were manicured, and our suite was well appointed and very comfortable, providing us with amazing views and a sense of privacy. The hotel pool is a great place to relax and gave us the chance to meet fellow guests.

We had no trouble accessing the local supermarket for supplies and ate many meals in our suite. There are several very good restaurants nearby - some high-end establishments but also many good casual places to enjoy a relaxing meal.

The beaches are not far away - Audencia beach is a terrific place to relax and swim and is only a 5 to 10 minute walk away. We took a tour of the bay from a tour operator on the beach and had a great time (bring your own mask and snorkel if you can). Miramar is a very interesting 15 minute bus ride away and is the classic Pacific coast beach stretching for kilometers. The restaurants on the beach will allow you to spend an afternoon at a table where you can grab a bite, enjoy refreshments and swim as you wish.

The hotel owners, Michel and Patricia, are remarkable people who have an incredible staff working with them. Everyone helped us to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Patricia complains that her English is not good but she is much better at English than we are at Spanish, and we had no trouble communicating. Michel is fully fluent in Spanish, French and English. Both of them were extremely helpful as concierges, directing us to restauraunts and areas of interest. They were careful to let us know about any activities around the hotel (workers on site, etc.). They treat their guests as they would their own family members.

I am reluctant to tell anyone that we stayed in suite 210 because I don't want to risk it not being available when we go back. We will certainly be returning to this wonderful place

  • Liked — The beautiful setting
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Our expectations were met and exceeded at Villas Los Angeles! Michel, Patricia and staff were so welcoming. We loved our accommodations and enjoyed our perch from the balconies. We love to cook--so thoroughly appreciated the bbq and our kitchen...but when we choose to dine out...Michel's recommendations for restaurants were right on! The grounds were immaculate and the pool superb! Gracias! Te deseo lo mejor...siempre.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarerspress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Hotel Villas Los Angeles is a great hotel located in the "hotel district" in Manzanillo. We stayed in one of the penthouses for a great rate (they have specials for many months of the year) and it was just what we needed. The room was big, clean, had a kitchen and a great area for hanging out including a big balcony overlooking a stunning view of the ocean and surrounding mountains. It was more like a condo or an apartment. We ate most of our meals (which we cooked, there is a supermarket very close by) on the balcony. I would recommend having a car, only to go to the supermarket or to other restaurants and nearby areas of town. There is no onsite food other than a vending machine, but since most rooms have their own kitchen this wasn't a problem if you plan ahead a little. There is also a Kiosko within a 5 minute or so walk. The hotel provided a huge bottle of filtered water in the room.

The owners, Michel and Patricia, were both excellent hosts. They really make sure each guest has all of the info they need, and were available to answer any questions we had. One night I wasn't feeling well and they made sure to let us know that they would arrange for a doctor if I needed.

As for the proximity to the beach, it is not right on the beach - that's true. It's about a 5 to maybe 10 minute walk down a pretty easy hill to the beach. We found the Hotel Villas Los Angeles to be quiet and relaxing because it was away from the crowds and resorts on the beach. It was also not a surprise to us, because it's right there on their website that these are "cliff-side villas". Most of the hotels in this area in fact are on hills above the beach, providing spectacular 360 degree views of the beach and mountains to the east.

The pool was great, there is an abandoned swim up bar, so those looking for the typical resort with bartender will not find that here. It was fine by us, I'd rather bring our own Modelo's!

This hotel is a mellow hotel for those looking for a place to relax and avoid the regular "tourist traps".

If we return to Manzanillo, which we likely will, I will definitely stay here again. Thanks again Michel and Patricia!

  • Liked — The rooms, the pool, having our own kitchen, the owners and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amylou718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#18 of 53 in Manzanillo
116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Los Angeles

Property: Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Address: Calle La Cima S/N | Peninsula De Santiago, Manzanillo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Los Angeles, the only hotel on the Peninsula of Santiago with a panoramic view of the Sierra Madres and the Ocean, see spectacular sunrises; see the incredible sunsets from our unique vantage point. All 26 villas and hotel suites have terraces except for one, to take advantage of the spectacular vistas and tropical breezes. Includes fully equipped kitchens, hi speed internet in every room, one of the most beautiful pools in Manzanillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villas Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing