We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views.......inconvenient location if not travelling by car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great views.......inconvenient location if not travelling by car”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

a 10-15min walk to one small beach ("audiencia") dominated by an all-inclusive hotel.but drive,bus ,or taxi to restaurants,stores and other beaches. nice management, but this place is 20 years old, tired, and in nee..d of a major upgrade.... R@K ...canada

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron42154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
51
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed her in early April and had never been to Manzanillo prior to this trip. We looked at a few different properties and decided on Villa Los Angeles after seeing a lot of other positive reviews and having very timely and responsive email correspondence in our decision process.

The hotel sits up on a hill offering amazing views on two sides of the water. Although not right on the beach, there is a great breeze that keeps things comfortable and the pool was in great shape our entire trip. The one challenge about the location is there isn't a lot of food options in the immediate vicinity, however a reasonable walk or a quick and cheap cab ride were easy enough to take care of our food options. The room we stayed in had a full kitchen so we were also able to eat a few meals in our villa. You should also know this isn't a big fancy resort with all that comes with that, it is small, good for families, and not overly crowded.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the managers were there to answer any questions and make our trip as comfortable as possible. Having never been to Manzanillo before, I had a ton of questions, and they never seem put out by me always asking about different food options, different recreation options, shopping, etc... The hotel was also good about trying to send us to places where the staff spoke English. Although I speak some Spanish, my girlfriend was comfortable going to places where she could also speak with the waiters.

Story: I had the misfortune of getting what I later found out to be bronchitis basically the first day I got to Mexico, likely something that I had just contracted right before leaving the states and hitting me within the first 24 hours of my vacation. I had a fever of ~103F the 2nd night and thought I would have to go home. It took me a little while to realize I was sick as I was and when I finally figured out I needed some help and likely some medication, I realized how lucky I was to be staying at Villa Los Angeles. When I told Michel (the manager) what was going on and that I needed some advice on a pharmacy or otherwise, he said he could get me in to see a doctor, at 7pm at night. Well, he actually drove me to the doctor in his car, waited for me to get in, drove me to the pharmacia to get a prescription and brought me back to the hotel, almost 2.5 hours of his precious time! He saved my vacation. To top it off, I bought a huge word carving later in the week and he helped me package it up for the plane ride home. By the end of the vacation I felt like I had a new friend in Mexico.

Bottom line, if you don't need a 5-star resort (and be careful because some of these are over-rated) and you want a smaller hotel, with a friendly staff, don't mind walking 15-20 minutes here or there, Villa Los Angeles can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altabird75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Great hotel, clean, the personnel is very friendly and helpful. The view is awesome. If you're going for a real break this is the place, quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicatcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The hotel is very clean and the staff are amazing. They will help you in anyway (restaurant recommendations, car rental agencies). The hotel owners speak english, french and spanish!

The hotel rooms are very clean, great showers, daily towel service, provide you with bottled water and the views are breathtaking. The pool is very clean and is great for small children.

The hotel is located at the top of a mountain, 10min walk to a local beach, close to downtown Manzanillo.

The cost is reasonable. You cannot go wrong with staying at Hotel Villas Los Angeles.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devils30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
collingwood
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at Villas Los Angeles for the month and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is just the right size so you feel more at home than with a larger one. The accomodation is bright , cheery and well maintained and the staff are the best, bar none. The owners, Michel and Patricia are very accomodating and go out of their way to make things perfect. The central location was ideal for us and we walked everywhere although a taxi up the hill with groceries was welcome. We are planning to return for Jan and Feb of 2011. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evergreen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My teenaged daughter and I stayed for a week. Each day we were there we loved the hotel more. Returning to the hotel each day after our activities was always a breath of fresh air. It's clean, nice architectural details, very friendly owners, beautiful setting without being ostentatious. The hotel sits high up on a hill and has gorgeous views.
Tips: easy and cheap to taxi everywhere, remember the hotel doesn't serve food, but has kitchens or kitchenettes - you'll want to get some snacks/water/coffee/breakfast food when you first get there. There are bar-b-q's by the pool so find some fish and cook a simple meal at the hotel. Enjoy the sunset while you eat!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KeriGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We found Villa Los Angeles from great online reviews and were completely satisfied by our research; it is a fabulous place. It is an amazing hotel with fabulous views, a beautiful pool, great service and wonderful hosts. Manzanillo is our favorite place in Mexico to explore and when we return we will stay at Villas Los Angeles again to relax between exploring wonderful beaches and historical geography. The hotel is on a hill above Santiago Bay and the changing light from the view will take your breath away at any time of day, especially the amazing sunsets. Thank you to our wonderful hosts Michel & Patricia.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballard234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#15 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#17 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Los Angeles

Property: Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Address: Calle La Cima S/N | Peninsula De Santiago, Manzanillo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Los Angeles, the only hotel on the Peninsula of Santiago with a panoramic view of the Sierra Madres and the Ocean, see spectacular sunrises; see the incredible sunsets from our unique vantage point. All 26 villas and hotel suites have terraces except for one, to take advantage of the spectacular vistas and tropical breezes. Includes fully equipped kitchens, hi speed internet in every room, one of the most beautiful pools in Manzanillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villas Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing