We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Manzanillo
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Pineville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I was sent to Manzanilla, Mexico on a business trip and all of my arrangements were made by my office so I did not know what to expect. Upon arrival I did notice as per an earlier review stated that there really arn't signs pointing to the location, thank goodness that the taxi driver knew where to go. Wow, what a nice place to stay,the staff is so courteous and the hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. The 2 bedroom rooms are awesome and have great views of the pacific ocean. The kitchens are not fully functional but with the great resturant on site who needs to cook? If you need anything all you have to do is call the front desk and it will be done. I will go back to Manzanilla again and I will stay at the Camino Real again, that is a promise.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    39
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
51
21
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

I was denied a 4 night stay because of my service animal.......they did not even know what a service animal is and that they are absolutely neccesary for the person. Very discriminating and horrible treatment. SHAME ON CAMINO REAL!!!

Room Tip: Best western in las brisas
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

This is the place to go for a 2 bed room but be aware the kitchen is not functional. A full size fridge works though and I only paid 85 us through Last Minute Travel. Waterfront hotel with ocean views from all rooms. Good food in the restaurants and almost next door to Walmart for cheap liquor and supplies. Close to Starbucks, fast foods 2 malls and good restaurants. Nice beach to walk on but they say it has a dangerous undertow. Nice pool. We had our camera go missing from a lounge chair while swimming and hotel staff located it the next day. Good for a 2- 3 day stay to experience Manzanillo in comfort. We had problems connecting to the internet in the room which were never resolved.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and it was amazing! We had been planning to renew our vows here and the staff did an wonderful job with the event! This hotel has excellent service and beautiful rooms. The rooms are fantastic b/c they have two or more bedrooms and two or more baths at a very reasonable price. We will definitely come here again. This hotel has it all!

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blucy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

We have stayed at many luxury hotels around the world and were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Camino Real Manzanillo! We booked a 2 bedroom suite but were able to upgrade to a 3 bedroom suite upon check-in. We were even more surprised to find the 3 bedroom suite had three and a half baths - very, very nice. The balcony included 2 fully reclining lounge chairs and a full patio table with seating for four. The view from the balcony from 2 of the 3 bedrooms was lovely - Manzanillo Bay. The rooms were kept very clean. We ate several of our meals at the hotel restaurant. The waitstaff and the food was wonderful. We really appreciated the attention they paid to us and our kids. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and pleasant. My only complaint would be the couple of cockroaches we found in our room on one of days. It's the beach and a tropical climate so bugs are a fact of life but the entire experience would have been FLAWLESS if the bugs had stayed away.

  • Liked — The entire situation worked for us - location, pleasant staff, great food, price
  • Disliked — the spiral staircase was very narrow and might be difficult for elderly travelers or very young kids
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chendricks0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2008

Saw this property as a discount on a website I've used before, luxurylink.com. Price was great for a 2BR ocean view room. Took a gamble while wondering what the "catch" was. Couldn't find many reviews on the property. Didn't even have many reviews on this, my "go to", site!! Had a great time travelling with wife, 3 kids (ages 10-16) & friends with even younger kids.

Upon arrival (hard to find.....very poor signage) upgraded, for a reasonable price, to a terrific 3BR suite. Dining room table that sits 8, huge adjacent sitting area, kitchen that had appliances that were shut off (dishwasher, stovetop). Large stocked fridge & freezer. Spiral staircase up to 2 of the bedrooms. $ TV's (no DVD player). Huge balcony with a table & 4 chairs. Hotel is apparently a converted 2BR & 3BR condo buiilding that Camino Real took over (per the bellhop's story) in a somewhat residential looking neighborhood. No worries, everything is easily accessible by car.

Hotel sits on a not-so-hot beach (poor swimming secondary to rough surf & rough sand) & has 2 nice medium size unheated ordinary pools w a kids pool attached. Plenty of good quality lounge chairs & umbrellas (it is, after all a Camino Real) that the helpful & attentive poolstaff will eagerly arrange for you. restaurant has an outdoor seating area adjacent to the pool.

Staff could not have been nicer, more attentive or helpful. i am not an inexperienced traveller, have been to many luxury (& some not so luxury hotels). The desk & bell staff here may not be as refined or as well trained as 4 seasons or European concierge but their willingness to help with any matter, no matter how mundane or out of the ordinary is exemplary, Carlos will run to the nearby Walmart for you (actually quite convenient, despite not helping you "escape" from home) at the drop of a hat.

Wish I could say the same for the housekeepers. Quality of work was adequate, but they serviced our rooms at 6PM. We asked for earlier service but it never materialized. That would be our largest hesitancy with recommending his property.

Breakfast was very good, but a bit expensive. Drink sevice poolside was, like the entire experience here very good but not great. Drinks were not cheap. The server was accurate with the orders & the bill at the end of the day (seemingly, always a concern in other places in Mexico). He was just occasionally hard to find because he also worked at the outdoor restaurant next to the pool. Once we got his attention, though, he would drop what he was doing & come ove to us right away.

The place is small but quite efficiently run & quite convivial. Parking is free & just off the lobby. They could charge people to park or make them walk a long distance, as a deterrent to self-park. They don't. That's the atmosphere & attitude of this homey, low key place.

We were just about the only Americans staying here during the 2 week Xmas break. Only other primary english speakers were expatriate Americans or Canadians who had the inside info to this nice hotel.

If you are looking for luxury, pampering or top notch amenities (massage poolside, game room, a "happening" swim up bar, coordinated activities like conga lines after dinner) this is not the place for you. They have a swim up bar, never saw anyone use it. The spa offers excellent massages, in a small but clean & modern facility. i was never asked to conga, not once! All the basic amenities, expected by discerning travellers, are there...Just not in a sparkling polished package.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly & affordable
  • Disliked — Poor Beach
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ml6724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

Very nice hotel.
We walked in after moving from Club Maeva which is a miner disaster and they had a room which was perfect for our 2 adults and 2 children. The room wouldn't be ready for a couple of hours but we were free to use the spa for changing and they checked our bags and we used the pool until the room was ready. We heard the front desk staff ask the housekeeping staff to rush the first 2 bedroom suite and they had a room ready within 45 minutes and this was at about 10AM. There was a large training session from some company that was ending that day and one family checked out early.
We found the staff to be extremely friendly and Courteous. One night we wanted to go out late and asked if they could find a babysitter as the kids are 7 and 2. This wasn't until after 10PM and when they couldn't find anyone they offered to have one of the kitchen staff stay in the room. she was great and security checked it out every 30 minutes or so.

The hotel is not a mega complex and only has about 50-60 rooms, so if your looking for a full on resort type place this isn't it.
Its right on the beach and has 2 pools. The beach is very peacefull with very few to no hawkers selling stuff.
But it is a newer very well maintained facility on a level with any I've been to in Mexico. The room we had was large with a livingroom with 36" TV, couch dining table for 4, balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The master bedroom had a kingsize bed with big fluffy pillows and full bath and cable TV and inroom electronic safe.

We could have gotten a better price if booked in advance over the net but still it was well worth our move.

  • Liked — Very clean and good service
  • Disliked — The surf in front is a little rough for children
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aceswild1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Hadas By Brisas
Las Hadas By Brisas
#4 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Manzanillo

Property: Camino Real Manzanillo
Address: Calle Paraiso 11 | Col. Residencial Salahua, Manzanillo 28809, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#7 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Manzanillo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is strategically located at the residential area of Salahua, in one of the most beautiful beaches of the impressive Mexican Pacific Ocean, 25 minutes from the Playa de Oro International airport and 5 minutes from Las Hadas, the 18 holes par 72 golf course. LA HUERTA CAFE Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this restaurant offers a la carte service with an international menu. Open daily from 06:00 am to 23:00 hrs. LA VELA RESTAURANT This arbor offers local and international sea food specialties for lunch. Open daily from 13:00 hrs to 23:00 hrs. LOBBY BAR With the most refreshing drinks and cocktails. Open daily from 11:00am to 01:00am Beach front, 02 pools, 2 jacuzzis, gym, sauna and spa service, tabacco shop, 24hrs. Room service, Children activities "Club Travesuras" on Holidays, sports and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Camino Real Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing