We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place - terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real Manzanillo
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place - terrible stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I moved to Mexico a year ago and this was the 2nd place I took a trip to. Had I flown here and not just drove a few hours I would have been irate. We visited in February 2013 with my kids and parents. We got the 2br ste after reading it came with a King Bed and 2 doubles...more than enough for our group and Orbitz said it sleeped 6. NOT TRUE. The double beds weren't just singles, they were the smallest singles I'd seen. Just big enough for our young kids. We immediatley moved to the 3br as there was no way to make the sleeping work.

Now the room...they claim a kitchenette...not even close. They have cupboards that are screwed shut, a non-working stove top and no dishes/cups. There was a small fridge. That being said, not like you need a stove of cupboards, but it simply was not what they said...and it would be nice to have a glass or a little bowl for the kids when they want a snack.

When we got to our new room...it was filthy, very and we had ants!! lots of them. we told the front desk immediately and they sent someone to take care of it. They were all in the kitchen on the walls and in the bathrooms all over the sink and eventually around our toiletries. It took them 3 trips, inconveniences and sprays to not fix the problem Granted they tried...but c'mon, this is supposed to be a relaxing vacation.

The service was ok, the food was not bad...for a short trip. We left for dinners to go to the strip which is much more ideal to experience the surroundings.

At the end of the day, we just had some real bad luck that with everything combined making it extremely frustrating. If all the problems were handled better...I'd be ok with it, but it was all an effort. Initially we were going to have to pay for our room change...it took the whole trip to find a manager and finally they agreed to honor our initial price since it was false advertising. I've recently checked months later only to find Orbitz did not do the only thing i asked and that was to change their description of the room. I'd hate to see another family travel thinking they have a king and 2 doubles only to find that is far from the case.

Orbitz did reimburse a small bit for the problem caused, but it was never about that...sometimes a little principle goes a long way.

I'll finish by saying our friends that were in other rooms very much enjoyed their stay. I really think we just hit some bad luck. I'll be trying out other placed before rushing back.

Room Tip: the double beds are actually small single bed...very small. the larger rooms are much nicer if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    40
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
55
22
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived in the midst of a hurricane, and had young children with us that were tired and needed to sleep. The front desk staff was not very helpful in getting us a decent room rate for the 12 hours we needed, despite me showing them much lower prices online. Further, they would not give me the internet access code so that I could book the lower rate online.

The rooms are huge, even though they are worn and decorated in sort of a 1970's looks. But the air was so loud we had to turn it off just to sleep through the night.

In the morning we ate at the hotel since 2 of the meals were included with our stay. The food was terrible, the service was poor. I couldn't wait to get back on the road and away from this place.

On our return trip we selected a different hotel which was cheaper, nicer and had free wi-fi!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeraldMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

As all mexican hotels, the staff is always there for you. Rooms need a little bit of improvement and, in my case, bathrooms are ridiculously small. Food quality is good and will taylor to your every need. Pool area and beach are excellent. Very well located if you go on business or vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Recommend staying.... But overpriced menus...

Kitchen in rooms are fake, but regardless, great stay.

A/C works great

Service awesome.

And the hotel pools ate clean... Did not had a chance to tryout the bar at the.pool.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EQ1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

At first we thought this hotel very nice, the beach and pool areas are excellent and deserted. After staying for awhile the rooms became very uncomfortable. The couches are very hard and hurt the body. The lighting is extremely poor, we could only read if we stood in the kitchen and the second bedroom didn't have enough light to find clothes at night. The kitchen is closed except for the fridge which is full of junk food. They need to do some maintenance, doors don't close, etc., and the place was full of ants. On the other hand, the staff was very friendly and helpful and food fairly good.

Room Tip: The waves pounded against the beach and literally shook the hotel so don't come here in the wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The El Camino was a fantastic hotel to stay in after Christmas. The staff where very accommodating even putting up umbrellas and chairs where ever we wanted in the sand with fluffy white towels. The view from the room was the best. The room was very clean, 2 bedroom suite, balcony overlooking the ocean, under $200!!. The location was perfect with small local restaurants walking distance. Hooked up with Jeff in the boutique for a fun snorkel/dive trip. .

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor have the best views, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connimusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I went to the Camino Real just after New Years and the end of the big rush. The beach and hotel were almost deserted which was great for relaxation. The hotel only has 50 rooms and all of them are very clean and seem brand new. All have balconies overlooking the ocean. The only negative I saw was that the restaurant was a little expensive so I choose to eat in some of the fast food and small local joints near by. For the golfer it is close to two nice courses. I recommend the place.

Room Tip: I think the top floor rooms have the best view and are furthest away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
243 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#8 of 53 in Manzanillo
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#14 of 53 in Manzanillo
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Manzanillo

Property: Camino Real Manzanillo
Address: Calle Paraiso 11 | Col. Residencial Salahua, Manzanillo 28809, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#7 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Manzanillo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is strategically located at the residential area of Salahua, in one of the most beautiful beaches of the impressive Mexican Pacific Ocean, 25 minutes from the Playa de Oro International airport and 5 minutes from Las Hadas, the 18 holes par 72 golf course. LA HUERTA CAFE Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this restaurant offers a la carte service with an international menu. Open daily from 06:00 am to 23:00 hrs. LA VELA RESTAURANT This arbor offers local and international sea food specialties for lunch. Open daily from 13:00 hrs to 23:00 hrs. LOBBY BAR With the most refreshing drinks and cocktails. Open daily from 11:00am to 01:00am Beach front, 02 pools, 2 jacuzzis, gym, sauna and spa service, tabacco shop, 24hrs. Room service, Children activities "Club Travesuras" on Holidays, sports and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Camino Real Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing