We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the one”

The Saloon Sport Bar
Ranked #61 of 414 Restaurants in Mazatlan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still the one”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Every time I hit Mazatlan I drive my wife crazy we have to go the the Saloon for the Coco shrimp and the potato wraps. IT IS A MUST FOR ME. The wife likes the potato skins. and in the few years that we have been going there they have never disapointed us. The service is a tad bit on the slow side but the food is well worth the wait. Just gives me more time to watch the game and down a few cold ones. Keep it up guy's, I'll be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of Canada in Mexico”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Good margaritas hand made and not from a mix. Daily dining specials, such as liver and onions and fish & chips make for a change from the Mexican specialties elsewhere. Friendly barstaff and free use of a Magic Jack phone for phone calls home complete the picture. Where else can you watch live curling on TV in Mazatlan?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Taste of home”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I ate here a year ago and enjoyed it - tastes like eating in Canada.

We tried it on our trip this year. the food was good, again, tasted like we were eating at home. Sometimes that is a treat after days of eating Mexican food.

The service was prompt and friendly. The prices are good and they have entertainment several times a week.

There is free phone service to the US and Canada for short calls. We did not use this service but it is certainly helpful for many.

There are always sports, especially hockey, on one of the TV's so if you need that Canuck Fix, this is your place. You will almost always be sitting by someone else from the US and Canada, not a lot of Mexicans frequent this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Canuck Country”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stopped by because we wanted to keep apprised of the Olympics. Spent many hours there eating, drinking, and experiencing the fabulous customer service. Called home for free...easy peasy...Owners are hands on and you can tell! Please try a Ceasar...for breakfast, with your omlette, the vey best!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judyjudyjudy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A little sports bar in the Golden zone that is owned by a couple of Canadians. Go in have a beer and phone home for free.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saloon Sport Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Saloon Sport Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing