We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel the 1st week of March 2014. This was our 9th stay with Riu in 3 different locations in Mexico & 1 in Jamaica. This chain has it dialed in. We have never had a bad experience at any of them & Riu Emerald Bay was no exception. We upgraded to a Honeymoon room on the ninth floor in the SW corner & the larger balcony made it well worth it. South end of balcony gave you city/ocean view & north end was nothing but ocean. It also provided some afternoon shade which the regular balconies don't. Perfect weather & gorgeous sunsets every evening. Lots of dolphins & few whales out front each day. Bring your binoculars. Far & away the best hotel beach in Mazatlan. Plenty of space; didn't have to get out early to reserve a lounger. Food was good; we mostly ate at the buffet. Drink service was best ever at a Riu in spite of a full house due to the Carnival celebration in town. Staff was excellent; all requests handled in a timely manner & to our satisfaction. Tipping is not required & did not affect the level of service, though we always leave these hard working professionals a few dollars. There are also some very reasonably priced restaurants a short walk down the beach to the north if you want some good seafood. Enjoyed Mazatlan so much we'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: Large hotel with only 6 elevators with a capacity of 8 persons each which get heavy use during peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 3,240 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The resort is beautiful the staff is very friendly the food was excellent..this was our second time going here we love this place. The beach is beautiful and at the end of the beach is a restaurant Playa Bruja a must try..there's a market there as well totally recommend it..We went quading plus toured old town Mazatlan totally recommend doing that as well..the rooms are all ocean view..the only down fall was the elevators were slow but over all I recommend Riu Emerald Bay

Room Tip: Any room is good as you can see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy19601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I must say right off that this is the cleanest hotel I have ever seen. My husband said he would eat off the public bathroom's floors he was so impressed. They were constantly cleaning and moping up around us, but not to the point of being intrusive.
That being said, there were a few things I wasn't impressed with, first being the pools. They are broken up into several smaller pools, with the swim up bar being the smallest. That pool gets very crowded and funny thing is that while there is so much drinking there, very few have to go to the bathroom, so the result at the end of the day is worse than any kiddy pee pool I have seen. The bartender will come around to the other pools eventually and mix you drinks, and there is always the self serve beer and pop stations.. There is also beer and pop delivered to your room every 2nd day as well as the booze stations in your room.
If you don't like a lot of kids around, this is the wrong place for you, as there were tons of kids when we were there, mostly Mexican.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The beds comfortable. And the fridge is great to have, as well as the free safe. Beware that they make inspections and if you have jewelry, lap tops, or any valuables out in the open, they will take them to the office and leave you a little note to bring ID and collect them at the desk.
The food was very good, especially the bbq on the beach. Lots of variety and well cooked. When we were there (Jan) the restaurants were mostly closed as there was only 50% occupancy, so we had to have the buffet most times. Was not impressed that they expected you to line up early morning to book the one restaurant they had open that night. They rotated which was open, but you had to book early, not cool, and you couldn't phone for the reservation. The restaurants were buffet again, so not great, except for the Mexican was served.
Staff was great, entertainment was just OK as every second night, they had an audience participation event. When they had dancers, they were great, especially Momma Mia, Games in the day were only in the center pool and lame. Prizes were diplomas presented at the show at night. A tee shirt would have been nice. At the bar pool, the games were sexy dance, over and over again. Boring after the first time.
All in all was a great stay, great food, great staff, with just a few wrinkles.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I read all the reviews before arriving at our destination. The price was great & our flight was direct..what else could u ask for?? Little did I know that starting the Easter long weekend was also a Mexican holiday for 2 weeks. Man...there were so many Mexican tourists & each family had at least 3 kids! The resort was soo busy the weekend we arrived. I've stayed at a Riu but in Los Cabos & that one was way nicer. The rooms were very typical & so was the food. Having been told by the tour guide that Mazatlan was famous for their shrimps, I sure didnt see a lot of that this week. The restaurants that you had to make reso's for were not a la carte, they were also buffets. By the end of our stay, I was really buffeted out! I mainly stuck with salads & fish/ seafood...hey..isn't there supposed to be an abundance of it in Mazatlan?? We went to a place called Roy's bc I read great reviews about it...ya...they ran out of lobsters & coronas by 8pm...out of coronas?? is that possible?? We went to the sports bar next door ( The Last Drop) Not disappointed at all! They had lobsters & coronas! They also had hockey playoffs on the big screen TV! Service was awesome. I'd choose this
place over Roy's any day!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karetaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My daughter and I took long awaited holiday together and wanted to go first class. The Riu Emerald Bay was perfect. The hotel is only 45 minutes from the airport. The check in was easy and quick. We were on the beach within an hour of arriving at the hotel. All rooms face the ocean. The rooms are large and beautiful. This was the first resort I have stayed at that took the "all inclusive" to another level. There were large bottles of alcohol mounted in the room and a fully stocked fridge that were complimentary as well. The pools are large and weave though much of the grounds. You are never more than a few feet from the pool edge. There are lots of covered areas to sit, as well as lots of areas for sun worshipers. The bars are never far away. The food is amazing! The a la carte's are good as well, with the Asian one being the best - in our opinion. The service was exceptional and the staff very friendly and helpful.

The reason I give it an average rating for location is because it is quite a way from the shopping and historical parts of Mazatlan. It was too far to walk, but the taxi was cheap - negotiate the price before getting in. Also, it is set back from the ocean quite a bit. In order to get to the water we had to walk past all the vendors. There were no lounge chairs even near the water.

Take the Deer Island catamaran tour. It was a great way to spend a day!
Try the Imperial Shrimp - HUGE shrimp stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon - yummy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PydaGilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This resort has it all. Friendly, kind,helpful staff and a great selection of food. Upon arrival you are greeted on the bus and wrists bands are put on. Off the bus, offered a drink and led into the resort where you are offered cold beer and or a shot. Line up, give your name and you are handed your envelope with room key, towel cards, map of resort and stickers to place on your luggage. Our room was on the 14 floor and the view was fantastic. Staff are great and very friendly. Loved walking the beach every morning and night. We didn't try any a la cartes as the buffet was more than enough for us. Fridge was stocked daily and room cleaned before noon every day. We took an open air taxi into Mazatlan - 3 hours, cost was 60.00 can. Great trip. Pool was great, service excellent-can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had14floor, fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a family trip for us. Just 5 in the family. The family suite wasn't really sweet - it was a king bed and a super single...but we didn't feel there was room for a cot as well so we put the 3 kids in the king and me & hubby snuggled...good thing the kids are 8 & under - or they wouldn't have fit together. The food was great, the service was fantastic, the views wonderful. The entertainment was great. The pools and site was clean and well kept. The room needed the air conditioner on but that froze half of our family, but additional blankets were available and that was just what we needed. Boogie boards were available for free and the water was wonderful. Even the 6 year olds were out there with no problems with the rip tide. The beach was clean & the vendors were not too pushy.

Room Tip: If your kids are older, the family suite won't work - perhaps they have larger suites that we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swatab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#11 of 80 in Mazatlan
694 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,849 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,576 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £107 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing