We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back to Royal Villas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going Back to Royal Villas!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2008

we are heading back to the Royal Villas on Saturday, March 8th. We have been staying at the Royal Villas for the last three years now. We have a family with two teenagers, 12 and 15. We also take along another family with kids 6 and 12. The folks at Royal Villas have always treated us great. The rooms are always kept nice and clean for us (tip the maid, it helps!). We love the pool area and love having Jesus and the guys wait on us. They work very hard serving us as fast as possible. We always get the Palenque suite and have tons of room. We cook in the kitchen once in a while and then go out to get most other nights.
We feel right at home at this resort!!!!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank mazatlanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    88
    41
    27
    11
See reviews for
72
64
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Just returned from Royal Villas after a ten day stay. While there is very little WRONG with Royal Villas, there is very little GREAT either.Check in was fine, room was acceptable, yet at night the band at Gus Gus across the street plays loudly until 1:00a.m. so request a room on the lefy or ocean side. Bed was comfortable, housecleaning left something to be desired. A "hairball" remained on the floor , same place , for three days, until we disposed of it, indicating a lack of floorsweeping, towels plentiful, plenty of hot water. No safe in rooms and must use hotel safe room... a must in Mexico! Evening piano player near bar wonderful. Bar prices, even in happy hour, rather high for area. Pool area has many cushioned chaise loungers and good waite staff. Beach was GREAT for walking... miles and miles open to walks at low tide. Beach vendors are pesty, but walk in the shallow water and they do not bother you since they do not want to get their feet wet! Villa's one restraunt imaginative menu and limited but decent wine list. EXCELLENT sandwich shop to the left across the street.. MARY'S. Tours through VISTA professional and on time especially airport transfers.

  • Liked — beach view, great piano player at night near bar
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

My daughter-in-law works for RCI, and was able to get a week at Royal Villas. Six of us went and had a wonderful time, the people at Royal Villas were all wonderful, very friendly, helpful. We had the all inclusive plan, and we made the most of it. Would go back at any time. Jesus and all the staff were always ready to get us a drink or food.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirlOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

This was rated quite highly on trip advisor, so we were looking forward to a mommy break away. We were using a timeshare week we got through craigslist.

Sadly our visit was not very pleasant.

The rooms at the hotel were really icky - the first room they took us to smelled so badly of mold I started sneezing instantly. The second room smelled better, but when we looked around, it was filthy - the sheets on one bed were covered in stains - or actually looked more like they had never been washed and the bathtub was full of hair. There were ants crawling all over the kitchen and a spider in one of the beds. Plus the door to the balcony did not lock and that balcony was easily reached from the back stairway. We were told there were no other rooms available (since it was low season I dont believe that for a minute) and the "manager" had already left for the day. Plus we were exhausted from getting up at 3am to fly down there so we just tried to get some sleep but that was nigh impossible with our bags jammed against the sliding door all night and jumping at every noise.

The next day they kept telling us that the manager would be available in half an hour so while we were waiting they badgered us until we agreed to take an "information update". At this, they showed us a lovely room and tried to convince us that we had to buy a timeshare. I was really unhappy. I asked to pay to upgrade our room and was told that we couldn't do that, we'd have to buy a timeshare. At this point, we felt like we would be better off leaving and going to another hotel. When I politely explained that, the timeshare salesperson got the manager on the phone and she let us upgrade for $70 per night to an updated one bedroom. This room was better but we still had problems with sewer backing up and smells waking us in the night, the air con going off all the time (and since it was very hot and humid this was a bit of a deal), and mold in the bathroom. These were not the only problems, but you get the idea!

The rooms could have been quite nice if they were clean - they had nice limestone and granite, but the appliances were rusty and they were simply grimy. The couch in our room was covered in stains so I put down a towel before sitting on it!

Then, when we went to check out, they tried to overcharge us by over US$300 for the room upgrade and were just ghastly to deal with - even after they admitted their mistake on the upgrade and corrected that, they tried to leave the taxes the same - we spent an hour trying to get it sorted out. Finally after an hour the accounts manager came out and corrected it and apologized but by then we were so fed up it was too little too late.

I am not a yeller - I think you get more flies with honey than vinegar - and we are two moms, so maybe we were encountering some sexism, because frankly I was pretty shocked by how rudely we were treated.

I have to say I was really disappointed. We were looking for a resort where we could hang out by the pool, get some sun, a few margaritas, and relax. This was not relaxing at all. We couldnt even relax by the pool without being harassed by vendors, and the service was really bad. So after the first day, we gave up on relaxing and went shopping and did some tours.

We made the most of our trip and did the parasailing outside the hotel, rented jetskis, did the tequila tour and the city tour. Actually the only person at Royal Villas who was helpful was Anna at the activities desk. We still had fun, but it was despite the hotel, not because of it.

I am not a pampered princess, but I do need things to be clean and staff to be helpful and pleasant. So. to make a long story short, I couldn't in good faith recommend this place.

  • Disliked — dirty, rude staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiCowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

This was our 4th trip to Mazatlan. We have always stayed at Costa de Oro with no issues but we decided it was time to try something different so we turned to our “old friend” tripadvisor.com and found the Royal Villas hotel very highly rated.

The best part of Royal Villas are the beds! They were new Sealy Posturepedics! We found the room spacious and clean. In addition, the room had a microwave, fridge and 2 burner stove top and everything worked. We had a nice ocean view room from the north/west side of the hotel.

The first night we were booked in a room that shared the balcony with 2 other rooms, rooms “x”17-”x”22 are like this on both sides of the hotel. I think these rooms would be great if you are with other couples and want to party together out on the balcony. We didn't like the fact that people we didn't know could walk right past our big glass door and look inside, we always had to keep the drapes closed. We requested and were moved to a different room the next day but only after we demanded to speak to the Manager because the front desk clerk told us there were no available rooms. We could tell the hotel was not that busy and knew that there must be other rooms available.

Problems continued with the staff...friends from Culiacan Mexico called the hotel and asked for us, they were told we were not staying at the hotel so they did not come down for the two days that they were planning on.

The Bar wait staff out by the pool was virtually nonexistent. We sat out by the pool for HOURS without anyone asking us if we wanted a drink. We could not accept the inattentive wait staff any more and spent our afternoons around the Costa de Oro pool area. They need to take lessons from Lucy next door at Costa de Oro – Lucy would never let you get dry. If only Costa de Oro had Royal Villas beds....

We ate breakfast there the first morning, it was OK but had to ask for a menu because they try to push you to the $11.50 buffet. The next morning we could not even get someone to wait on us so we walked across the street to GUS GUS. Breakfast there was 2 eggs, hash browns, 3 slices of toast, juice, 4 slices of bacon $6.50!! Great breakfast, great bargain, great service with a great price.

I should also mention that this hotel is in the “Golden Zone” so there will be music blaring until after midnight. It did not bother us but it may bother you. If you want less noise, go out by the Marina but you will need to use the taxi's a lot to get back to town.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The service from the wait staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Seadog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Ok, it's not a 5 star by any means, and reading all these complaints, give me a break! The rooms have two balconies and are little over 1100 sqft. Room service operates from 11am -11pm. That's it, so no breakfast delivery you must go to downstairs to the restaurant NO BIG DEAL, that's why you are here. Time share issue....none. We advised them upfront not interested and I spoke with the Manager the first day and asked no to be bothered, needless to say it stopped.

The nice part about vacationing in October was the fact of space by the pool; drinks and food were extremely quick. Jesus and Francisco were always prompt and courteous. Management went out of there way for us by getting us cabs, which they picked up the tab for us twice for no reason. The food is what you expect in Mexico, so please stop writing reviews about what they don't have or stay at home!

To all who complain maybe that’s your hobby, for myself and Wife we enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank qflihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

We stay in an ocean front Tajin, the room is spacious and has the most beautiful views from our THREE terraces, one on the ocean, one ocean view off living room and one ocean view off the master suite. We can either sunbathe on our terrace, which is funished with lounges, or go to the pool. The kitcheetes have a full size fridge for our beverages, and plenty of room for camerones we buy and snack on at our personal happy hour watching the sunset from our terrace chairs and table. We have had our run-ins with the timeshare staff, we politely tell them no and not ask us again, we are here to relax and enjoy our vacation. We agree the hotel restaurant needs improving, but with so many choice restaurants in Maz who wants to eat at their hotel? The staff here are professional and really try to make your stay great. Our rooms are beautiful with flat screen tv's and at least five to seven english speaking stations. Personally we bring our downloaded shows with us ..evening fav's like Leno to watch after coming home from dinner. We have stayed in many wonderful hotels around the world, Four Seasons, London & Maui, Grand Wailea Maui, Ritz Calton etc.., when traveling on business and pleasure. But the value here is excellent and centrally located with easy access to the bus routes, and other transportation. I love staying here its a wonderful hotel and very comfortable. Whenever we have had any type of problems, they were immediately fixed to our satisfaction. Its just a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank UFFDA1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#21 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#26 of 79 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#53 of 79 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#27 of 79 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#49 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Property: Royal Villas Resort
Address: Calzada Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing