We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Villas Resort is not worth 4/5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Ardrossan, AB
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Royal Villas Resort is not worth 4/5”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We emailed the following letter to the Royal Villas Resort shortly after our return to Canada. We also mailed a copy to Sunwing which forwarded another copy to R.V.R. We did not receive a response and decided to post our letter here:

Dear Sir or Madam,

Re: Our stay as all inclusive guests at the Royal Villas Resort, Mazatlan from Nov. 12 – Nov. 19, 2010
We would like to bring the following to the attention of the hotel management.

1. Housecleaning Staff: Ana Mar was very attentive to our needs and did a great job of keeping our room clean. She should be commended.

2. Brunches: We were happy with the brunches served and the waiters on staff during the morning shift. (However, there should be more of an attempt to ensure that the pancakes are kept hot.)

3. Evening meals and service: We were generally disappointed with the evening service at the a la carte restaurant . What follows are two or three of our two main complaints. (We took our last three dinners elsewhere).

On Monday, Nov. 15th we ordered two glasses of red wine with dinner. My husband then asked for a second glass of wine. We were told there wasn’t any red wine left. My husband then said he would settle for a glass of white wine. We reminded the waiters a few times. Finally, when we were done with our meal, the oldest of the three waiters on staff brought a glass of white wine. However we had observed that it was not poured from a bottle or a jar; but rather, it was poured from a container where the dirty dishes were being placed.

During this same meal the lady seated behind us broke a glass. None of the waiters cleaned up the broken glass while we were there. Instead they walked around the mess to do their chores. There was glass right next to our table but nobody cleaned it up. Other patrons looked on in bewilderment, or, amusement at best.

It took a good twenty minutes to get our bill that evening. My wife left early as she couldn’t wait any longer. I waited in the entrance way (to signal the urgency) until the bill finally came.

To put it bluntly, the waiters that evening, the older one in particular, were incompetent in our opinion.

4. Signing for drinks and food:

On Tuesday, Nov. 16th when I was signing off on the bills I decided to check the items I was signing for, only to find that one of the liquor bills wasn’t ours.

Then on Wednesday, Nov. 17th when I was signing for breakfast once again I checked through the bills and noticed that there was a bill for 2 omelettes. We never had omelettes at the hotel and I questioned the validity of the bill. The waiter just kept saying, “It’s okay because you don’t have to pay.”

5. Information regarding tour to Deer Island:

I had made arrangements with Robin at the tour desk to go to Deer Island on Wednesday morning as we were told this was part of our all inclusive package. When we went down to the boat we were told the all inclusive tour was only available on Fridays (which for many travellers like us, is both our arrival and departure day) and that if we went on Wednesdays we would have to pay. When we went back to Robin for an explanation she said she just found out the night before that the all inclusive trip was on Fridays.

6. Other services: We requested a safety deposit box (because the safe in our room wasn’t working) and were told (first by Ruth and then by Cindy) that there weren’t any available at that time; however, we would be put on a list and should check with the front desk again on Sunday. When we checked with the front desk on Sunday we were told that Cindy’s list wasn’t there anymore. We eventually did get a safety deposit box; however, this required our persistence.
This was also true for the hair dryer. I spoke to the ladies at the front desk 3 times before they replaced the broken hair dryer from our room.

7. On the day of our departure (Nov. 19) we requested to be allowed to stay in our room longer than the usual 10 a.m. check out. One of the front desk ladies offered an extension to 12.30. As our Sunwing bus didn’t pick us up until 4:45 pm that day we had to stay in the lobby area for four hours. David Barron (sp?) the manager of reservations let us know that a further extension beyond 12:30 was unacceptable as new arrivals had to be checked in (even though we offered to pay for the inconvenience to the resort). While we were waiting in the lobby we only noticed two arrivals between 12:30 and 4:45. Both occurred at about 4:30 pm. In other words we could have stayed in our room until, at least, 4:30.

The above factors contributed to a less than satisfactory experience during our stay at the Royal Villas Resort. Although we think that Royal Villas has the potential it does not deserve a 4-star rating at this point.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    90
    43
    27
    12
See reviews for
79
65
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Booked in for one week at Royal Villas Resort. Seemed to have trouble booking in, I think they didn't know we were coming. Service from staff were excellent. Pool and lounge chairs were great. A few things I would like to see improved are: 1. A low wall exists between room balconies- wrought iron grating need to be installed to prevent people from accessing neighboring rooms. 2. No ceiling fans in rooms- would make for great circulation at night when the balcony doors could be left open and the ocean breeze could cool off the room. 3. Would be nice to have a in room safe- they have some but are deactivated( too much theft maybe?)- they do have security boxes at reception desk. though. 4. We did have all inclusive. We found the meals to be monotonous. The poorest quality meal was the supper( 6pm) meal. Chicken breast was way overcooked, dried out, tough. We had filet mignon twice- not sure what it was but definitely the poorest cut of steak I have had for awhile. These meals were all at the restaurant, since the buffet only operated on weekends for breakfast. Meals could also be ordered from the bar but basically a small menu though sometimes we were able to order off menu. Tortilla soup and shrimp cocktail were great, we had this for lunch most days. Restaurant was mostly empty - likely due to the fact meals costs were expensive and quality was poor at times. I know I would never pay their outrageous prices they had posted on the menus for the meals they were serving. Information desk girl, named Robin( with the red frizzy hair) is from Canada, she was very helpful when we had questions, though everyone else bent over backwards to help you out. Got a free Deer island tour( we did tip though) with umbrella, chairs, box lunch, kayak. They only have it every Friday but since we arrived and were leaving on Friday they organized one for us on a Wed or Thurs. Rooms were large, kitchenettes, microwave, blender, coffeemaker, stove , fridge and dishes were all included. Stocked up everyday with free water, beer, chocolate bars, chips and juice. With some improvements this place could feel like a five star resort. I would recommend this place to others if you can get a deal on a package. Last year we stayed at El cid Marina and found the rooms, meals and resort somewhat better than here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prairieboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We recently had our Wedding Reception at Royal Villas and it was an absolute nightmare! As the Bride a Groom and Professional Chef we had certain expections for this place, to begin Sacha the "Event Coordinator" to begin with threw lost the box to our picture frame(guest book), threw away my centerpeices that I spent 3 months working on!, lost my glue gun, scissors, then there was no heat under the Chafing dishes so the food was barely luke warm. The Queso Fundido was more like a watery soup then the melted cheese that it is supposed to be, the Caprese salad was not made with Mozzarella cheese, there was no salad dressing for the garden salad,the Poblano soup was really watery and did not have enough peppers and no cheese. The Chicken Mole just flat out SUCKED! There were no soup spoons either on the buffet or the tables and when we went and asked for some the server proceeded to argue with my husband (groom), We had to track down salt and pepper for the tables, not once did a server ask our table(bride & groom & parents) if we needed a drink. We had to track Sacha (events coordinator) down every time we needed something..... Father daughter dance, first dance, cutting of the cake, toasts,plates for the cake, someone to cut the cake, my mom started to cut the cake herself (bride), my sisters served the cake (bride), hadd to track her down again to wrap the leftover cake up, and before we left we told her what to save and make sure to keep the box! The next day we went back to pick up stuff and she looked for the box for 45 min, finally she told us that she would find a box and bring it to us at our hotel..... a week later and the day before we left we went back and she still didn't have a box... So we went back to our hotel( Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay) and they wrapped up the guest book for us when they did not have too!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank des_hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had a suite room - not sure if all the rooms have kitchenettes but very handy. Dining out in Mazatlan is fairly expensive so it was good to have the option to make a few meals in our room and save some pesos. Great to have a blender too - made a few slushy drinks for ourselves and guests.
Staff is very nice. I didn't rate this hotel above average since I don't know any of the other hotels. I paid $117 per night which is probably okay but I was expecting better values from Mexico. We were a group of 30 so I didn't have a choice of hotel/location.
It's close to Senor Frogs and in the main part of town so fairly convenient. Watch out for the cops....9 of us were robbed by the police on 4 separate occasions.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DraftedbytheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I stayed at the Royal Villas Nov 29 to December 6 2010. There were 3 of us girls, and we had a great time
We went there all inclusive and it wasnt like normal all inclusive where theres buffets for every meal. They had the buffet for breakfast but that was it. All other meals were ordered off menus. They had a snack menu you could order off all day/night that had typical sandwhiches, burgers, fries...etc that were awesome. Then for dinner there was one restaurant that had a menu to order off of. It was the same menu so it did get a little boring by the end of the trip

Rooms were great, we had two balconies one looking onto the ocean and one looking onto the street. It was great.

The staff definatly made the stay, they were all amazing...we could sit by the pool all day and our drinks would never go dry without being asked if we wanted another. The people on the resort were very friendly as well.

We went off the resort almost every night and didnt feel unsafe once. i would definatly go back.

I would definatly go back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer121415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We spent a week at the Villas the first week of Nov 2010. We had a package with West jet vacations which was a direct flight and the all inclusive plan.
The room we had was wonderful, number 917. It had two balconies so we had an entire city view as well as an ocean view. It was truly amazing, could see the sunrise and the sunset. The room was large and had pillow top beds with 4 pillows each, 2 soft and 2 firm. Very comfy. The room also had a kitchenette and we made coffee each morning( to drink while we watched the sunrise), and had a bar fridge with beer, sodas, water, juices. We also had snacks of potato chips, peanuts,and chocolate bars left by the maid service. The room was always clean and fresh smelling, with towels and soaps, etc.
The all inclusive plan was well above our expectations. We thought it would be a small buffet with boring, repetitive food; we got restaurant service from a set menu for almost every meal. And if you wanted something not on the menu you just had to ask and they would accommodate your request. We found the food to be very good and always had lots to eat and more than enough choice. As well as several choices of beer, soft drinks, types of water and hard liquor. We never were in need of anything!
The staff were also very accommodating whether it was at the front desk, bar, pool, or lobby area. It was truly a relaxing vacation.
The pool area was nice, with enough room for everyone that wanted a padded lounger with or without an umbrella. The pool was refreshing and clean with a slide, and yes it would have been better if there had been a bit of heat turned on to take the chill off. Seems the owner won't turn the heat on until 15 of Nov. There was also a hot tub that at times was too hot, but by late afternoon was just right to sit in and watch the sunset with a beer or 2.
The beach and ocean were really great. The sand was soft and no rocks or stones! No water shoes needed!! You could walk for 20-30 minutes in either direction and a lot of people did morning and evening. We missed not having palapas on the beach, but very few places had them.
One week was too short in paradise.We look forward to returning to this gem in the golden zone, and Mazatlan is still a lovely city, just as we remembered it from years ago.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catsanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I stayed there for business the week of November 7, 2010 and the service, location, and food was great. I would come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgerivera23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#27 of 78 in Mazatlan
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 78 in Mazatlan
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#59 of 78 in Mazatlan
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#45 of 78 in Mazatlan
904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 78 in Mazatlan
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Property: Royal Villas Resort
Address: Calzada Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing