We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mazatlan Tours

Mazatlan Tours
Ranked #10 of 47 Tours in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mazatlan's #1 tours and excursions company. Stone Island tours, Snorkeling trips, sightseeing tours, whale watching, airport transfers, cruise shore excursions and more. Featuring a popular no-port, no-pay policy for cruise passengers and Mazatlan's only discount card free with every reservation, Mazatlan Tours is your home for fun things to do on your vacation. Let us show you the wonders of Mazatlan.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
376 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“City Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a great tour offered by Tours by Johann and Sandra. We booked this tour before we went on our cruise and it was so much cheaper that on the ship and the group are much smaller.
The small tour bus picked up at the cruise terminal and they took us to all the highlights that Mazatlan had to offer. We visited the cliff divers, local churchs, local markets and scenic views overlooking the city and also the usual stops of a jewelry store and Tequila sampling. This is a 4-5 hour tour so you should bring snacks and something to drink.
This was the first cruise ship into the port in three years and the people of Mazatlan were very welcoming.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gjsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    4
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jungle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

When my husband and I went on the Jungle Tour in Mazatlan, Mexico, it was very laid back and relaxing. We caught a boat in the harbor and the guide, who was excellent, took us across the bay where we saw factories and many other interesting things. The pelicans road on the front of our boat most of the way and were very entertaining. We then went up the river into the jungle and docked at a farm. WE were fed a delicious meal then went by tractor to the sea shore and collected shells and silver dollars. Everything was just beautiful. The beach was gorgeous. On the return trip, our guide was just as nice and informative as on the way there. All in all, it was, out of all the tours there, the best one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mlgc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sunset cruise Kolonahe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We just got back to our hotel (El Cid El Moro tower) from our cruise on the Kolonahe Catamaran. I want to put our trip into words before I lose the moment.
Today was my wife's 50th birthday, a momentous occasion in our 30 year relationship. I'm hoping for 30 more....We booked a “Sunset cruise” this afternoon, and we had a 3 hour tour (shades of Gilligan's Island...).
We were picked up on time at our hotel, transported to El Cid Marina port, and after a half hour wait with some paperwork involved, we boarded the Kolonahe ship and set sail. We had great weather with some waves that were enjoyable and tolerable.
There was a young couple with an infant and a little man of around age 3 who weren't enjoying the motion of the boat, but the baby eventually passed out, and the little man smiled at me at the end of the trip, so he adapted. We were asked by Rudopho the English speaking "guide" what we thought would be the sunset time (8 PM was my guess, and part way through the cruise he told me he'd be home by 8 o'clock!). They served beverages, and we started with “Sex On The Boat”. The drinks, I mean.
The ship was a fairly large boat with a head, which was needed when serving drinks. The youngest crew member made rounds asking for drink orders and continued his role throughout the cruise, so there was ample opportunity to quench one's thirst. They served beer and a nice assortment of mixed cocktails. They also offered several snacks, and they brought them around so we didn't have to stagger around on a moving ship to reload. The drinks weren't too strong, but they were well mixed, very good tasting, and had ample alcohol.
Rudolpho visited with most groups, and we found him an engaging and impressive friend. Married, three kids, and devoted husband and father. We appreciated the time he spent with us. He instinctively looks for some commonality with others to bond with them. All of the crew were top shelf types, and the cruise company did well in hiring them. There were also two brothers, probably in their 50s, who piloted the ship.
I read a cruise review that scared me before we booked where someone complained about the crew's appearance and behavior. Not these guys, they were great.

If you visit Mazatlan, take the sunset cruise Aries Fleet Kolonahe Catamaran with Mazatlan Tours sailing from El Cid Marina. Enjoy the wonderful view of Mazatlan from sea, meet the crew, have some beverages and snacks, and tip the crew well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deer Island tour just a booze cruise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were really disappointed with this tour which was advertised as a multi activity tour. The main activity was drinking and if this is what you wanted you would have no complaints the staff on board were continuously offering refills. We cruised the bay then arrived on Deer Island. The activities were stated as - banana boat ride, kayaking and snorkelling. We arrived at the beach and there were only 3 kayaks, it was suggested/pushed that we should all do the banana boat rides (which lasted about 5 minutes) as they could easily cater for all of us. We opted for kayaking, after 10 minutes in the kayak we were frantically called back in as that was all the time we were allowed due to the ratio of people on the cruise to kayaks. As far as the snorkelling was concerned we were pointed to the 1 side of the beach as being the best spot. For the first of us out there, there were a few fish but these were quickly scared off as it was such a small area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Mazatlan Tours, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Hi Claire,

I've reviewed our description of the tour but from what your review is it sounds like it's described pretty accurately as a nice boat tour to Deer Island with one of the prominent features being the all-day, all-you-can-drink open bar. We feature that all through our website description of the tour, so it shouldn't be surprising that is a highlight of the tour.

We advertise also as you say, kayaking, snorkeling and banana boat as being available to you if you wish to use them during your time at the beach. It sounds like you participated in all of those activities, so that was also as advertised. I'm sorry that the fish swam away when you got close to them, but we really have no control over what the fish do. Banana boat rides are about 5 minutes each, but you can go on them as many times as you wish. Many people do not want to ride a banana boat for more than 5 minutes at a time, so this way those who want to participate longer can, but those who don't can do something else after the inevitable "dunk".

I don't know what to say really, it sounds like everything was exactly as we had advertised, but that you were expecting something else like an ecotour maybe, which from the description is definitely not what we advertise this tour as. We are confident in the quality of this tour as we get many good reviews on it, you can see some here on this page. It just depends what type of activity you personally enjoy I suppose, you would have been perhaps better suited to a more "ecotour kayaking" type of activity but there really aren't any of those anymore in Mazatlan since the cruise ships left.

Thank you for choosing Mazatlan Tours, and hopefully next time we will have the opportunity to recommend a tour to you that is more suited to your interests. Be sure to ask, we're here to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Deer Island Catamaran Tour - great time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is our 2nd time using this company (first was an airport transfer in Cabo)) and they delivered again. We booked the catamaran ahead of time online and had great weather that day. The certificate said that we would be picked up in the lobby of our hotel (the El Cid Castilla) at 9am. I showed a bellhop our voucher after we got down there and he promptly ran us to the marina (where there sister property is located). I'm not sure if that's exactly how it's supposed to work, but we're very laid back on vacation (especially in Mexico) and have learned to roll with the punches!

The wait at the marina after checking in was a tad bit long, but that seems to be the norm on the other catamarans we've done also (in Cabo and Hawaii). You can also grab a snack or beverage at the little store there for a reasonable price.

After setting sail, we were treated to great service by a gentleman who explained things in both English and Spanish. They showed us a couple islands and served great cold drinks until we arrived at Deer Island. Upon arrival you can choose to ride the banana boat, snorkel or kayak. We were in chill mode...so we decided to skip most activities and just hit the volleyball around for a little bit. I also scooted around on the kayak for a bit and had fun doing that. I'm no snorkel expert, but I'm guessing it's not an ideal location for hard core snorkel fans (don't think anyone in our group tried it either).

Lunch was so-so (you could make some type of fajita with a little fruit and lettuce on the side). We ate plenty at our resort and weren't too concerned about the food. They kept the bar open on the beach and you could also buy this good drink coconut drink and some pork rind looking things nearby if you so desired.

Staff were very friendly and the Captain was a smooth looking, suave character right out of a movie. Only complaint was the bathrooms on the boat were a little rough with no washrooms or hand sanitizer (there was a large jug of hand sanitizer brought on the island for lunch though). All in all, a good time if you're not overly picky!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJames24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mazatlan Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mazatlan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing