We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“minnesota cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solamar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solamar Inn
Ranked #30 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
mazatland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“minnesota cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

cafe very good food fair prices and very friendly staff.2 for 1 specials ribs or fish or chicken.George are waiter is very nice and funny..The pub next door is a good place to watch some sport or play a game of pool.Rooms are comfortable and clean.We were there for 4 weeks and found the staff friendly and very helpfull.We would come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigchinook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks in January and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff was excellent and I got to practical my limited Spanish with them. Close to all amenities. I enjoyed it enough that I am taking my husband back in January. My only complaint is the hard beds, otherwise I would have given an excellent (5 *) rating

Room Tip: Check the beds. Some are wonderful, others, not so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great lakes
Level Contributor
102 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have never stayed at the solamar inn. Allthough they are usually very full. I do have breakfast there because they specials that are a little different for a fair price. You can get 2 eggs, bacon, toast, pancakes, coffee and potatos for $ 70 pecos. Its worth a stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horizanadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Through the years my family and friends have enjoyed time at the Solamar Inn, Sombrero Suites and in Nasha´s private homes and have enjoyed many great meals in their Minnesota Cafe Restaurant and Bar. They have a great pool area with a great atmosphere and they are all located just across the street from the Ocean ... perfect location ... We highly recommend all Nasha´s accommodations. Enjoy ::))

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarefreeMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukon, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We very much enjoy our stay at the Solamar Inn. The staff are all excellent and very friendly. Their wish to assure us of our safety and to make our vacation enjoyable. The happy hours are the best in town and food prices are also. Rooms are comfortable and thoroughly cleaned daily. Solamar Inn is the best! You leave feeling you have found a new home and many new friends!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harleyhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Our first trip to a tropical climate. Coming from Canada it was a bit of a culture shock, but in no time we adjusted and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were so friendly and welcoming! Allowing for the fact that it's an old hotel, it's very well maintained. There was some traffic noise, but it didn't interrupt our sleep, beds were hard, and took a couple of nights to adjust. The location was perfect. It was close to everything, a 2 min. walk to the ocean, beach, shopping, buses, etc. and the restaurant and bar were great! A good tip, leave 10 pesos( $1.00) for the maid each morning. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newbie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Yukon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

We just returned from our latest and third trip to Mazatlan. This was our first time staying at the Solamar but it will not be our last! We loved the strategic location - across the street is a bank and it is so close to so many wonderful night clubs and restaurants. It has the best happy hour in Mazatlan and believe me being "Newfies" we are very experienced in drinking. The staff have to be the friendlieset most incredible staff I have ever come across. From the moment we arrived, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. From the front desk staff, to Tony the Promoter (who by the way knows everything about Mazatlan), to Horiad and his counterparts in the restaurant/bar and i can't forget Nasha and Dora who went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a pleasurable experience. I have been travelling for 40 years all over the world and it by far was the best hotel I have every stayed at. Iwould strongly recommend this fantastic inn to anybody who is travelling to Mazatlan.

Jocelyn Costello & Kevin Brewer (Arrived Dec 18 and departed Jan 25, 2010).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#46 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#11 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aguamarina Hotel
Aguamarina Hotel
#41 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Mazatlan
Mision Mazatlan
#32 of 81 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solamar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solamar Inn

Property: Solamar Inn
Address: 1942 Blvd. Sabalo, Mazatlan, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solamar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solamar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solamar Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing