We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very run-down and an exchange rate ripoff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Mazatlan
La Paz, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very run-down and an exchange rate ripoff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We were so disappointed in our stay at PB Mazatlan. We had been there nearly 10 years ago and had a lovely time. This hotel has had zero updates since it opened. Furnishings were old and worn, beds uncomfortable. We noticed a nasty mildew odor throughout all the buildings. The grounds are beautiful but PB: it's time for some major updating. The hotel uses an exchange rate extremely favorable to them and also refused to refund the $15 that was charged to our room for a movie we did not order, nor did we see. It was Toy Story and we're in our 60's and obviously not interested in a children's movie. We were not happy with the accounting of the bill, nor the services at the front desk. Next trip to Mazatlan we will be sure to stay at the Emerald Bay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubyslyppr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    303
    112
    42
    30
See reviews for
593
349
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

Had a very nice week at Pueblo Bonita Mazatlan located at the north end of the main hotel strip in Mazatlan. Very nice pool and grounds, room was nice and we thought spacious with a nice seating area. Wish there was the option for a large bed instead of 2 double beds (which cannot be pushed together). Kitchenette tiny, but functional. Staff were friendly and professional. We really enjoyed the colonial style, which sets it apart from most of the other hotels in area

Hotel was very quiet and relaxing, perhaps too quiet for those looking for hotel-based fun. Didn't matter to us as we were more interested in spending the evenings in old Mazatlan which is only 10 or 15 minutes by taxi or an easy bus ride.

Our one turn-off was that after checking in, we had to endure a pitch to sign up for a timeshare information session at the Puebla Bonita Emerald Bay. This was before we were shown our room and given the keys. They were pleasant about it (though pushed a bit when we said no), just not what we wanted to hear after a day of traveling.

I would stay again if booking the same type of vacation. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffonBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

I love the fact that when we arrive everyone is happy to see us returning. Hugs when we arrive and hugs and sad farewells when we leave. It is always super clean. We always have a night cap at Cilantros so we know the waiters there the best and we think they are the BEST. They really are like old friends and family. We must mention Angel the bar tender because he is outstanding. The location is the best.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarlaSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Just got back from a week stay in PB Mazatlan. Still can't believe that the hotel lived up to its high rating here on Trip Advisor. I'ts a beautiful hacienda / colonial style hotel that made us feel that we were truly in Mexico. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful if needed. My only complaint is the smoking in the non smoking rooms. People would go on their balconies to smoke. While I was up early enjoying the morning view, I had to breathe in the smoke that wafted down from the balcony above. When I complained to the front desk, they shrugged and said that the smoking wasn't really in the room. To add to this discomfort, a room two doors down smoked cigars on their balcony in the evening. Just what I want to smell! There are designated smoking areas around the hotel and pool and that is where the smokers need to go. Non- smoking rooms should extend to the balconies because smoke still goes into the room and the rooms around them. Lots of great restaurants, Panchos, Chili Peppers, Tonys, within a two block walk. Be sure to try some shrimp since Maz shimpers supply shrimp to most of North America! Have to go downtown and see the Malecon and the Cathedral which has a very interesting history behind it. Take the city tour - it's only about 2 1/2 hours long and cheap and shows you a little of everything. Sister hotel PB Emerald bay has recipricating privledges and you should hop on the shuttle and spend a day there. My husband and I truly fell in love with this hotel and Maz in general. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lidia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

With sister resort Emerald Bay that you can also use, its like getting two resorts for one. They had a good menu for food and drinks around the pool, drink of the day special 2 for 1 and also happy hour from 4pm to 5pm. They heve a market/deli where you can purchase ready made salads/sandwiches and with the kitchens in the room you can also make something there. There are quite a few new resturants with in walking distance or you can hop on the bus to the golden zone for even more options. Loved the fact that there were not as many vendors to bother you on the beach here and NONE at Emaralld Bay :) .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtravacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

This hotel is really going down hill. For the price, a little better attitude would be helpful. The front desk wouldn't even help me call their sister hotel at Emerald Bay to help us transition from P.B. Mazatlan to Emerald Bay. Karina told me to go back to my room and call myself, and of course there would be a charge. If it hadn't been for the concierge, I would have had quite a phone bill trying to work out the logistics.
Our "luxury" room had the bedroom window right off the main drag. Lots of noise! Thank goodness we're at Emerald Bay now because there is a world of difference.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savvytravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed here for two weeks. The view was superb, the rooms were spacious and clean, beds comfortable. Staff were great and the 3 internal restaurants were excellent. Many employees have been there for many years (as have many of the guests). The kitchenette is a great way to save a few dollars by preparing your own breakfasts and lunch, if you so desire. There were some of the tiny sugar ants present, but they weren't a problem. I also recommend this hotel location for its sandy beaches and also many excellent and inexpensive restaurants and entertainment nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yukoner98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#64 of 81 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Property: Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing