We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Luxury”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited Mazatlan and had a great time this Jan. We spent 2 1/2 weeks at 3 different resorts. They were all great, but Pueblo Bonito was the nicest. It's been over 20 years since we last were here and we forgot how fun it is. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JRStewartMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    324
    118
    46
    31
See reviews for
624
365
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

To start, we booked via the resort, flight and all inclusive for 10 days, week before revarified low and behold NO record of us, but charge is on our card!! Long story short cleared up, trip went without a problem, grabbed a cab upon arrival. Checking fine...but then grabbed by the time share women before getting assigned our room, firmly said NO walked away weren't bothered by them again.
Room is fine prefer king bed as hubby is 6ft 4", but it worked, coffee pot, not even samples of coffee to get started, fridge nice perk. Could us some updating but suited us fine, all rooms great ocean/pool views.
Breakfast buffet was good, lunch foods at pool bar, dinner at cilantro restaurant, also very good. The resort has many guest levels, owners, non inclusive, and 2 inclusive levels, you had to read the evening buffet fine print as our level was charged extra for evening buffet, better to eat off menu at Cilantros restaurant.
2 bars, beach bar closed at 6 pm, the other "the cave" we called it closed at 1030pm, early if you're on vacation if you ask us, and were all in our late 50's, that's my bedtime on work nights! Also NO music at the bars, would have been more fun to hear some good beach music to realize you're on vacation.
Stores across the street came in handy, try Luna's for an hour $25 massage, great. Hotel charges $14 a day for wifi, walk beach to Luna Hotel I got a connection, or a drink across the street at Ponchos free wifi good food.
Hired pulominia for city tour $20 an hour guys spoke great English and were wonderful to deal with. Went in tequila tour as well, very nice.
Hotel had best exchange rate but were always out of cash, hard to spend and help rebuild their tourism if they can't exchange cash, our bank card charges so we avoided banks.
Earlier I said they have different levels of hotel patrons, that said any thing you order food or drink, they always need your room number and to sign your sales slip even though being AI our balance always zero, just a pain for us and waiters, never ran into this before in all our travels.
We had a good time, heck it was vacation you make the best of it, but doubt we'd go back, kept comparing everything to Puerta Vallarta.
Thank you Mazatlan for wonderful weather, friendly waiters, and a nice vacation, some improvements needed though. Ps. Nice lady on the beach massage $20 an hour. We visited Feb 5-15

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jill2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I would like to share with you, whoever you are and have in mind to spent any time in Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan that you will find yourself in a big lie where you are promised a lot for a service that will cost you an arm and a leg, tip everywhere and watching how at every corner the personal is waiting for a tip. It is disgusting. Beside that the resort gives you the impression of luxurious. But at a closer look you will see how everything comes apart. The food and service is under expectation, paying a to high price for what you get. Overall, it is a fake where you can easily fall in the trap of Mexican illusion. Never going back. Had such a bad experience. And one important thing, If you go there on an all inclusive and not are a shares member the will hunt you down to buy the package and if you change your mind they will never return your money, a view thousand dollars. just be aware. Honey with poison. Very tricky..

Room Tip: Just don't go and fall in a trap
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Dana,

We appreciate your comments which are very helpful to us, we will try to work on each and every one of them that you mentioned above, we are sorry you had that impression about our hotel, we are remodeling the main areas of the hotel, we will improve the quality of our food and beverages, and we really hope to welcome you anytime soon so we can treat you the way you deserve.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, GA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a room on the ground floor with a lovely fenced patio by the pool. The patio was the best part of the room. The place is very dated and needs some serious refurbishing. Kitchen area was cramped, beds so so for comfort, and bathroom was small. The countertop around the sink was chipping away and the faucets leaked. There was no free internet, so we went across the street to Pancho's to eat and use their free internet. After 4 days I noticed people sitting in the designated smoking area near room 1015 using the internet. Low and behold there was free internet there, but no employee of PB would acknowledge this fact. I saw an employee using the internet! We did not eat at the resort because we had heard the food was not as good as in the past, due to the big push to get guests to go all inclusive. We did not opt for all inclusive because of all the great places to eat in Mazatlan.Our favorite places for breakfast are Pancho's,Panama Bakery, and Macaws. For dinner we like La Playa Bruja, Topolos,el Presidio, Macaws, Copa de Leche and Fish.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We might stay again, but I would look at other places before deciding.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are pleased to hear you liked the location and view of your room, also the warmth of our staff and knowing that you will consider us for a future visit. It is very important to visit the local restaurants and to enjoy the richness of Mexican cuisine, we invite you to try the benefits of our food at our inside restaurants which has been improved to the satisfaction of our guests. Regarding our internet services the area that you found has free service, or you can also have the option to pay and have the comfort of your room. We would also like to inform you that we are already planning major changes in the furniture for your own comfort. Again we welcome your feedback and invite you to visit us in the near future.

Best Regards,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for years and still go back. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and quiet for the most part although they do have "activities" during the day that can be kind of loud (bingo, water volleyball, etc). They try to push the "all inclusive" deal for the restaurants but there are way too many great restaurants in Mazatlan to check out to be restricted to this hotel which are just okay... The grounds are beautiful. The biggest draw back (which you can avoid) is they now charge $14 a day for internet but that can be waived if you are bribed into going on the tour of their Emerald Bay location (they will also offer a City Tour (not the normal tour the guides get kickbacks for taking you to certain shops) and $150 room credit so I guess it's worth it if you are looking to save some money.It takes a couple hours and the "tour guides" make you feel uncomfortable if you don't buy a timeshare.

Room Tip: The rooms above the south pool are much quieter as they don't have activities over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My trip to Mazatlan was very good. We have been there many times and will return again next year. I love Pueblo Bonito as we have been there many times and have told others to go there. I was disappointed with this trip. The staff were very nice and the facility was nice. The rooms need a major renovation. It has become very expensive for what you get. Do not waist your money on getting internet in the room. We tried that and it was VERY slow. It is easier to pay to use the computors downstairs. For the money one spends you would expect good internet. I know it is Mexico but the room was not Mexican prices !!!!! The beach was nicer this year . I think they brought in sand for the beach; no really I think they did. As far as saftey I walked every morning by myself and I always have....no problem. A couple of nights the army was sitting in some places like they were doing survailance but they spoke to us and was friendly.The next time I think we will see what are some differant options. Have a nice trip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JTC1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Pueblo Bonito is the best option in Mazatlan. It is conveniently located downtown, near to all the restaurants, nightlife, shopping and activity centers. Also, you have a free shuttle to Emerald Bay hotel, the most gorgeous hotel in the city. The service was great, the staff were kind and they made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank e8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#46 of 78 in Mazatlan
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Property: Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing