We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very good home, we had been comin for 16 years, two times a year, the people at the resort are very friendly, we had a lot of fun with samuel and Cindy at the activities, the food and beverage are always good,

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is an older hotel with some nice Mexican charm and possibly the best food we have ever had over an entire weekly stay. Service was exceptional, grounds are spotless, and the beach was fantastic. We went with our kids who were on spring break so we had 2 suites for the seven of us. Our only complaints were our beds which were just full size beds in the suites with most of my family over 6 feet tall and our feet stuck out beyond the end of the bed(Need to move up to queen size at least) and we were all inclusive there but you still needed to sign for all drinks and food before leaving which I thought was odd. If you ate lobster or ordered top shelf liquor they would add charges. I would rather see them charge $50 more per person and not have any extra charges for any type of food or drink. We always tip good service but did also have some tips added to bill when we forgot to cross off the tip expenses.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top two floors have the best views. We were on third floor and had a terrific view. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Steven,

We would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us, it is great to hear you and your family had such a nice time during your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments and feedback and will make sure to take them into consideration for your next visit.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The property is aging, but is clean and comfortable. That is the good part, now the bad. They claim to have wireless and charge $170 pesos a day to use it. Don't believe it. It is non existent. After you pay, they tell you it only works in the public areas, on the decks of the rooms and in the living rooms of the rooms. It doesn't even work there. If this is not important to you, go for it. But, for those of us who actually need to take care of business while we are traveling, this property is not for you. Next, I had $100 USD and who knows how many pesos stolen from my room by the maintenance guys who stroll around the property looking busy, but are really waiting for you to leave your room so they can go trough your stuff. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RKStrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A wonderful week began with our choice of three available rooms. Although the room we chose had a 4th floor drop dead view of the pool, ocean and island beyond, it just missed the view of the gorgeous sunsets that Mazatlan enjoys. The resort is older but superbly maintained and beautiful old world decor helps to hide the age as well. The resort was the perfect size; a short walk to pools, beach, restaurants and the much used hot tub was just down the elevator and out the door. The rooms are nicely decorated but could use new furnishings. Beds are hard but maintenance will gladly bring pads. Our studio unit was stocked well enough to support the cooking and eating in that we did during our week. The resort had a nice list of daily activities that were attended by many guests including this one who won $40 in bingo. The beach at Pueblo Bonito and most in Mazatlan are the best that we have seen in Mexico. There is shopping along the streets outside the resort and evening strolls and bartering with vendors is enjoyable most nights. We visited the week of Carnival which made the city too congested for us but we will keep Pueblo Bonito on our list of resorts to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at or above 3 floor should provide a view of pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Nadine,

We feel flattered after reading such a nice review, it is great to hear you had a very fun and relaxing time during your stay with us, we hope to see you anytime in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Even though the resort/hotel is showing its age its ambiance is ageless. The jr. rm we had was clean, and if there were any repairs such as the screen doors they were there to fix it. Always a good stay there. Pool towels are plentiful and large. Pool service is excellent. Disappointed that wi-fi is so expensive $14usd/day unless you listen to the Emerald Bay presentation. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms only on the balcony and outside or in the lobby. This could be addressed.

The TVs are still old tube versions but they did add American Networks which pleased us since they didn't even show the subtitles on some networks. The pillows are lumpy, the rooms are tired looking and need updating in the bathrooms but it was more than suitable. The food standards have remained about the same over the years but its starting to slip a little. I got something and had a miserable last few days with pain and since I ate and drank that day poolside there was no where else to pick some virus/bug up. I didn't use the gym only the sauna and that worked well. Low on towel supply there it seemed. I used the last 2 I could find. We stay here because of the community that works and comes here. The staff we've come to know and recognize and we like that.

Room Tip: We enjoy the old section centre area top floor because we live in the prairies and travel a great di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thelazy2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We truly appreciate your comments and observations about our resort, we are constantly working hard on maintenance to keep our hotel in the best conditions possible. We feel very happy to hear you enjoy yourself every time you come to visit us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent last week here and absolutely loved it! An older resort, but definitely has the taste of old Mexico, which we thought was just great. Such a difference from the other newer modern Mexico resorts we've stayed in. The service is unbelievable! Ramon at the pool bar, Cascades, is awesome! The food here is the best we've had in Mexico, not a bad meal all week. Though the resort is a bit worn, everything was spotlessly clean. Our grown kids traveled with us and they had a great time as well. I just have a few constructive criticisms: The 7 of us shared 2 rooms, each with 2 double beds, which could be improved on, since we're used to queen beds. We went all inclusive, which we love in Mexico, but at this resort, we had to sign for drinks and meals anyway. Kind of annoying. But it will not keep us from returning to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán! We took the shuttle to Emerald Bay. This resort is new and very large and sprawling. We liked PB Maz better because of its small size. We definitely loved PB and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursemary10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Mary,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and for your feedback, we can't wait to have you back either!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I spent one glorious week at the PB in Mazatlan after one week at 'An Other Place in Emerald Bay. We just returned last night (March 15) Let me start by saying NO COMPARISON between the two. The service at PB is exceptional. The food at Cilantro's was delicious! The room, though older, was spotlessly clean. The grounds and resident wildlife were beautiful. The pools were warm and clean and NOT CROWDED!!

Don't get me wrong, the OP was nice to and I am so glad we were there for the first week in stead of the scond because we would have missed the PB if we went there first. The PB has a very laid back, not rushed feel to it which is exactly what we wanted and needed. The OP, totally the opposite. We had to get away and walk the beach there (very beautiful btw) in order to escape the busyness and craziness. Full elevators with people waiting for the door to open and not letting you get off while they try to crowd on ..... Full Restaurants where you are rushed in, rushed and pushed through the buffet, and rushed to eat and get out ...... Not once did we just take our time to enjoy dinner the way we did at the Pueblo Bonito.

Anyway I want to say all these wonderful things I can about the PB ...
.
Steak at Cilantro's ...... excellent, as is the service. The waiters all knew our names and drinks after the first evening. The pasta was great too and the after dinner special coffees came with flaming entertainment! Nice touch.

The pool bar was so great too ... the waiters all were smiling and genuinely happy to get whatever you wanted. The drink was usually there before you had to even ask.

The pool was so refreshing and relaxing. I never went in the pool once at the OP because there were so many little kids all the way up to unsupervised older kids that were eating and drinking in the pool and throwing food at each other and leaving it in the water .. YUK.

The room were older with two double beds but kept clean and still were comfortable. We were moved from the further side after the first day because it was so far from the elevators and on the fifth floor. This side is great if you like a bit quieter and don't mind being a little further from all the restaurants, etc.

The whole time we were there we never took the elevator up with anyone else - no crowds, yay! There were lots of ppl there but not big families and definately an older crowd - YAY. We are in our early fifties so this was great.

Beautiful weather, beautiful beach.

We avoided the time shares as much as possible. We had to keep saying no. We did meet many ppl there who owned timeshare and they loved it. If you are interested then ask for Trent at the PB Emerald Bay - great guy and fellow Canadian.

Loved the breakfast and lunch restaurant where the service was great and the piano player played all my fav's and made my vacation just that much better.

I painted three times while I was there - a big sun, a little vase and a small bowl. It is so relaxing and fun and after it is glazed it looks beautiful no matter what ..... thanks for that my friend!

Internet was very fast and not expensive compared to the OP. Talk about slow! Talk about expensive!! Rip off!

Ok, I could go on but I now worry that my review will send everyone there. Let me finish by saying that if you are a couple who needs to be treated right, need to relax, need to feel young again.... this is the place. Enjoy.

R and M from Vernon, BC

Room Tip: We were on the third floor 20 steps from the elevator - it was great. All the rooms will have an am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rnmvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#46 of 80 in Mazatlan
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £130 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing