We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a very nice time at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan..two pools...good food...accommodation was great. Bus stop outside hotel. Mainly time share but quite a few of us 'all in'. Lunch was super by the quieter pool...can recommend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: Our suite on the fifth floor was large and sunny. All rooms overlook one of the two pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshiregal516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    317
    118
    44
    30
See reviews for
612
360
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The is one of the nicest all inclusive resorts my family has been to. We stayed 1 wk beginning of April so very quiet. Staff went out of their way to accommodate any requests. Our ocean view 3rd floor jr suite was lovely. Beds had mattress toppers (I don't complain about the firmness of mattresses in Mexico after travelling to China-the floor is softer). Kitchenette just an added bonus-who needs to cook with all the great on site eateries. All food outlets were tasty (steak and shrimp night-YUM!!). If you want something just ask. The drinks tasted like drinks not bad alcohol and they were NOT weak-highly recommend "monkey bar". The pool areas were very clean with lots of lounge chairs and tables w/chairs, towels. The beach was clean with the finest sand. The Ocean had good sized waves for body surfing/boarding-NO rocks!! Really liked the location-close to the new Marina shopping and a good walk (buses stop right outside the resort) to some of our favourite haunts - The Saloon, Joe's. We didn't find the time to use the gym.The only negative comments are regarding the time share sales people. One rode on the bus from the airport to the "service stations corner". He started his sales pitch almost immediately. We were not given the room keys at the resort until we met with a time share sales person in the lobby. We stressed the fact we were not interested and were not bothered again. Also, Free WiFi (even in common areas) would be an added feature. Thank you for making our stay Wonderful!!

Room Tip: We got the room we requested but if you are not happy, ask to be changed. I'm sure they will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiky_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Fork, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As always Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan was fabulous. It has all th luxury with the feel of old Mexico. The facilities are great and the employees are our favorite anywhere we have traveled to. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean view, ground floor if small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

There are two hotels, one on the Gold Zone, the other at the north end of Mazatlan - both on the beach. We stayed at the later. A free shuttle between them runs hourly. Our complex is styled in faux Tuscan. It is very pretty, with huge rooms ( ours had two bathrooms for our one-bedroom place) Most have views of the ocean. The buildings are between two and four stories. About half have decks with chairs and tables, the others have a large, living-dining area with full refrigerator and two-burner stovetop and a microwave. Our resort had several swimming pools, large, crystal clean, and enough to accommodate everyone - even when the resort was totally booked. 9I swam laps every day - often as one of only a couple people in the pool near Cilantros restaurant.) There are two restaurants - a buffet and a sit-down (Cilantros). The food was excellent in both. We also tried the restaurants in the sister property. They were also excellent.

We stayed as all-inclusive. Many guests are time share owners or just pay for rooms. So there was never waiting for seating at restaurants. I thought the all-inclusive was worth the cost as it included everything, including drinks and the best wine we have had at any of the resorts we have stayed at in Mexico - except in room wi-fi. (There was free wi-fi in one area of the resort, or one could pay by the hour, day, or week for in-room connections.) Employees did appreciate tips, though they were included in the package. We brought a hundred dollars each and were able to tangibly appreciate the excellent service.

Unlike resorts on the east coast of Mexico that we have experienced, there were few evening shows and just a bar for music at night. This was fine with us, but I think that folks in their twenties and thirties with no kids would find the evenings rather dull.

As part of our stay was during Easter week, there were many families escaping the middle of Mexico with their kids. The pools in the middle of the resort seemed perfect for children.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 21. Two stories at the far end of the resort near Cilantros and a beautiful p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, DE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We really enjoyed this property. The pools are great and the beach is so close. Loved Cilantros restaurant for shrimp. Our only issue is that the mattress needed replacing badly and the rooms smelled musty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronda422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in December/January and had a wonderful time. The Room, is standard, ocean views are just wonderful. We had an issue at check-in that had me pretty nervous. We made paid for and made our reservations through Bookit.com, but when we tried to check in, they didn't have any record of us... ya... gulp! But after about a half hour, they got us a room and worked out the issue with Bookit... whew! Our main issue with the rooms is that they only come with two double beds, no options for 1 King size bed (but I knew that going in)... The beach is wonderful! I love bartering with vendors, so it's all good for me! When I want a break, just stay at the pool! We had the All-inclusive package, and I must say, it is absolutely the ONLY WAY TO GO when in Mexico. Wonderful service (especially at the small pool) Our main waiter was Mateo, and I've got to say, that I made a friend that vacation (I'd probably go back to PB, just to see him). Mateo is most deserving of extra special tips!!! In addition to our orders, he brought us fresh water in ice buckets without even having to ask! He was amazing! We ate at Cilantros a few nights, and breakfast buffets every morning usually ate poolside or on the beach under a palapa. Cilantros breakfast wasn't as comprehensive as the larger restaurant, but man... the view is more than worth it. Plus, not as crowded! All in all, I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful beach, swimming pools and the delicious breakfasts at the Palomas restaurant. As well as the incredible ocean view that you could appreciate from your room. We'll make sure to pass your recognition and positive comments to Mateo. Regarding your reservation, I will personally talk to the team to be more careful with all these details.
We truly value your comments and hope to welcome you anytime soon to your home away from home.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First off, this was the best beach we have stayed at to date. The sand is unbelievably soft and clean and perfect for the kids. The waves further out were excellent, and you could wake board or even take surfing lessons right at the resort. As well, with the all-inclusive package, you could order any drink or food to your spot on the beach without any charge. The only annoying part is that local vendors are allowed on the beach and continuously try to sell their products. They are very friendly though and do not harass, especially if you are polite to them. The pool and pool bar stay open until 8 or 9 pm as well, which is a welcome change from most resorts that close the pool at 5.

The food quality and service was fantastic all around. Enrique especially was an outstanding waiter; extremely patient with the kids and our large demanding family. Cilantros has excellent food and a view of the ocean that cannot be beat! As for restaurant selection, if you get bored of the options, you could always take the free shuttle (15min) to the sister hotel at Emerald Bay, and have a lot more selection there (at no cost with the all-inclusive). As well, just across the street to the hotel are endless options of restaurants and shops. Michael's gallery is a good place to get quality vanilla for a reasonable price. Lastly, we highly recommend going to the Emerald bay for Sunday morning champagne brunch. The food was unreal!

The rooms and decor at PB Mazatlan are somewhat dated but spacious and kept extremely clean. Beds are a little small and hard, but a minor complaint in the big picture. The wi-fi is an issue. Intermittent slow signal and costs $14/ day. If you attend the timeshare presentation, you can at least get the wi-fi for free.

While there are no bars open late at night in this resort, you can venture across the street and there are many options. Being integrated within the city was a nice change from being sequestered inside a remote resort. Many amenities within walking distance, including a highly recommended massage therapy spa. Lots to choose from and the further from the resort you get, the less expensive. We went to "Spa Marina" (3 min. away) every day for a massage for a fraction of the price as the hotel spa.

We took a nearby day trip with an eco-tourism company called "Onca" for whale watching and snorkeling with dolphins. This was truly an amazing experience!

Overall, we would highly recommend Pueblo Bonito. If you want a fantastic beach and excellent location, go with PB Mazatlan. If you want luxury and exquisite pools, go with PB Emerald Bay. Either way, you can take the free shuttle and enjoy both resorts!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pools/ ocean (vs. the front of the hotel which is a busy street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juba047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#52 of 78 in Mazatlan
899 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Property: Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing