We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style Mexico with great personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I've read a few reviews and was a little concerned on arriving that the hotel was on a main road. After checking in, it was off to the room. Room 2020 is a corner junior suite with 2 double beds, a kitchenette, bathroom, lounge, huge wraparound balcony which overlooks the beach and the sea. What a fantastic room location. On entering, the room smelt a littly musty - however it is clearly due to the humidity in the area and after 2 hours of fresh air the smell was gone. The aircon was already switched on and the room was nice and cool.

Off to the restaurant Cilantros for lunch. The menu was a little pricey for the food (although the desserts are well priced and very very tasty).

There are two swimming pools and 1 jacuzzi. The towel service was great and is open from 8am - 8pm.

Went up to the sister hotel, Pueblo Emerald Bay and were able to use the Mazatlan Room number for all of our orders for food and drink. The champagne brunch at Emerald Bay on a Sunday morning is clearly an event and has only the freshest tastiest food around.

Back at Pueblo Mazatlan, every member of staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, right down to a well stocked deli (you can cater for yourself if you want - there are kitchenettes in each room)

Having only been to Cabo and Mazatlan, I would say that Mazatlan is not really the spot for the social single - more for couples, families and people who don't necessarily want to party the night away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
There are newer reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

This hotel was beatifully decorated with oldy style mexican walls, paintings, and landscaping. We had a one bedroom suite. Our view was of the pool and ocean.

We walked out on this long walkway thing that is right outside our hotel. You can see a nice view of the other islands along the coast which they call wolf island, bird island and also a nice view of the shoreline.

There were caged iguanas outside by the pool. There were 2 large pools which both had snack/drink bars on the side. One of the bars were located under a swim up waterfall with underwater stools.

We had the giant seafood platter for dinner in the restaurant fronting the beach and watched the sunset. There are many street peddlers on the beach. Just ignore them if you don't want to get your meal disturbed.

We had dinner at the italian restaurant fronting the street. They had live music which was a man singing and also the piano playing. It was really romantic.

The staff was very super friendly and made the trip very enjoyable.

We worked out in the gym. It wasn't so awesome. The treadmill was not up-to-date. There is a skinny winding staircase to get to the tiny second floor area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed from May 2 to May 9 at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan on an RCI bonus week. We had just come from a week at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset in Cabo. What a difference! The Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is small and charming compared to the sprawling grounds at the Sunset. The view from our balcony was awesome and everything is right there within walking distance. The rooms were done in traditional Mexican flair and they were so cozy! The food at Cilantro's was really good as well as the pool food. The activities were all fun and everyone was so helpful and nice!

The hotel was pretty empty due to the swine flu so I cannot comment on the pool chairs. There were plenty to go around when we were there. You have to have a towel card and they take the serial numbers from the towels they issue and write them down!

The beach was nice and has huts to sit under. My husband was out there when the towel desk opened at 7AM the second day we were there and was able to get a hut on the beach. After that day (it was Sunday) there was always an open hut in the morning. There are alot of beach vendors but just say no and (hopefully) they will go on their way. I think the beach vendors were extra pushy when we were there due to the lack of tourists.

The Las Palomas Restaurant was only open for breakfast and also Mariachi Night on Wednesday. I am not sure if this was due to the flu or not. There are several restaurants nearby. We ate at Chili's Pepper down the street, we started out going to Tony's but upon exiting the taxi a guy came at us and talked us into going to Chili's Pepper. Again I am not sure if they were being this forceful because the flu has tourism down or if it is always like this. We had a platter of shrimp & lobster for 2--it was around 43.00 and included salad and a beer or margarita.

There is a small area across the street where you can buy souveniers. They are pretty reasonable. There is also a small spa there and I had a one hour massage for 28.00! It was not a fancy spa but it was well worth the 28.00! They also do facials and manicure or pedicure.

We had a great time! We are owners at the Sunset Beach in Cabo but we really like how small and charming the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan was. We are going to stay at Emerald Bay in October and we will visit the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan again for the day!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRESA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I was there 9 nights in March 2009. 7 of those was thru a RCI exchange and 2 thru doing the Time Share presentation. I thought it was an excellent place with a great beach and pool. The activities were some of the best I've seen at a timeshare place. The service to the pools and beach was great. The food was good. Couple of drawbacks was you had to get up early to save a chair on the beach under a hut. Otherwise you were sitting on your towell with out any shade. When I mean early, i mean like 7 am. Also, I thought the maid service did not do the best job of cleaning. Just things like the bath tub were not cleaned that well and the floor always looked dirty. But, if you had a different maid, different experience I guess. Also, we kept the doors open to our balcony all night and listened to the ocean waves as we fell asleep. Very peaceful and the view was gorgeous. I would recommend this place again especially if you can get it on an exchange.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraderRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Just returned from a wonderful week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. Our group of four couples - "50 somethings" that like to have fun.
The hotel....is very charming, rooms w/ a mexican flair. Room 323 has an exquisite view of the sunset through the palm trees. The rooms were clean, staff was helpful and the beds were not the horribly hard uncomfortable things we've experienced in the past. Much time was spent joking with our waiters at the pool as they brought us buckets of refreshments. Although we did not eat at the restaurants on site, we enjoyed poolside sandwiches and snacks which were excellent.
Our first day - we went to the 90 minute timeshare presentation at the P. B. Emerald Bay....warning in advance we would not be purchasing any timeshare. They adhered to the 90 minutes and we were rewarded for our efforts with certificates allowing us to enjoy many cocktails at the pool during the week.
We have been to Mazatlan many times, staying at other resorts including the Hotel Playa Mazatlan......we enjoyed this one MUCH more and would definitely return.
The kitchenettes were used...we purchased fresh shrimp on the beach - 1 kilo for about $13 USD......There are 2 brothers that sell shrimp right on the beach each morning.
Munchkins across the street was a fun place. We dined at the Purple Onion and would not return. Just down the beach is "Chilie's pepper".....great breakfast, overlooking the ocean, fun staff.
Shopping: our favorite place is the Designers Bazaar, which is located down near the Hotel Playa in the golden zone. They have lovely things (decorative things for the home), not the cheap touristy type of items. Also have nice resort wear. We've purchased many items from them for years and are very happy they are still there.

Of all our stays in Mazatlan, we enjoyed this resort the most. The Pueble Bonito Emerald Bay is definitely a more luxury resort, but we enjoyed the charm, hospitality and location of this one much more. This staff was the best.

As a note about the Mexican people.....we left our camera in a plumonia riding from the MEGA to the hotel......we returned to the mega (supermarket). Our driver was not there, we talked w/ the other drivers and also the concierge at the Pueblo Bonito. Of course we could not expect to see it again, but it didn't hurt to make the effort. Two days later - the concierge called the room, the driver would be there between 8-9 AM to return the camera.
He was there........
and very appreciative of our show of gratitude!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

This has been our family spot for about 15 years. We always go back around the same time (between late March and mid-April) for 1 week and the weather is always great! Pueblo Bonito is great because the rooms are spacious, clean and they have a large area which includes two pools, spas and restaurants. It's great for families. The also have a lot of activities during the day such as pool volleyball, bingo and other games. We find that the beach is usually great to swim in, and there are several big palapas for shade. They even offer a happy hour in the afternoon. The food is pretty good as well, but there is a lot of fabulous restaurants in town and for a much better value. The location is a little bit outside of downtown but not nearly as far as Emerald Bay. It's a quick taxi or bus ride. We love going every year!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NWTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We spent a week at Pueblo Bonito after 3 days at the Marina El Cid. We liked the Marina better because of the layout and room size but Pueblo Bonito was charming. We were able to avoid the time share presentation and glad we did. Although walking anywhere you have to do the same. In the historic district you are free from this insanity.

The grounds of PB are very nice, workers very friendly. Mateo at the pools is particularly friendly and gives you a good warning when happy hour starts. Happy hour could be longer.

The Deli is superb. Tried to avoid it at first but once tried the peanut butter cookies was hooked. Good sandwiches-but pricey. There is a carmel looking candy with nuts called a Gloria which was incredible.

The spa was funky-not very clean and not very warm. Avoid it unless they get new filtration system.

The internet cafe was priced a bit high-both for Mexico and for those of us staying there. It would be nice to have a break on the price if you are staying at the hotel.

Getting around from the hotel is easy. Busses are 8 pesos and can take you everywhere. A great place for a massages is next to Mary's Cafe (think it's called Mayo) which is diagonally across and south of the El Cid ask for Maaree or Jackie. Both do great deap tissue massages. Good training and only $30 for an hour.

There are a lot of wonderful resteraunts-two of the best is Topolo in the historic district ( 620 Constitution) and Aree lui lui's (behind the Shrimp Factory near Panchos). The latter has very fresh an inexpensive Lobster. The only negative is at night the hostess does a low key time share sell.

Overall, Mazatlan is a nice place to visit. Reminds me of older Mexico when people were nice and friendly and resteraunts were inexpensive.

Oh a good place for breakfast about a block or two south of PB is Loco Locos. It's right on the beach and breakfast is $3.99. And great coffee Rico's Cafe-near Mary's I mentioned above.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Adra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 79 in Mazatlan
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#46 of 79 in Mazatlan
913 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: £140 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing