We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mision Mazatlan(Mazatlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quijote Inn(Mazatlan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveller rating
1,106
358
130
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,106
358
130
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspueblo bonitoemerald bayluxury suitepb maztime shareactivities staffgolden zonesister resortsmaller poolgreat beachsecond hometimeshare presentationwater volleyballfree shuttleshrimpboogie boardingbeach vendors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at PBM the first week of a 2 week vacation in Mazatlan as an RCI exchange and were extremely pleased with this resort. The contributions to Trip Advisor helped make our vacation enjoyable (check out the forum, too!)

Here are a few comments and suggestions:

-E-mail a request about a week prior to your visit for your room choice. We stayed in a studio on 4th floor of older section and it was great. Preferred it over a Master Suite for just the 2 of us.

-After checking in, take a bus to Mega to stock up on snacks and beverages and then take a taxi back.

-We were fortunate to hook up with an American/Mexican taxi driver named Freddy! You can e-mail Freddy at [--] or call his cell at [--] to make prior arrangements. He was very dependable, honest and informative!

-As suggested by a previous contributor, rent a boogie board from one of the beach vendors. We rented 2 for 300 pesos for the entire week. It was so much fun!

-Do not be afraid of the timeshare presentation for PBEB. We were given a $150 credit for resort charges and it was not too much pressure once they realized we were not interested in purchasing.

-Speaking of timeshare pressure, once you are outside of EB, you will be bombarded by offers for free breakfasts and $$$ to take tours. If you are not interested, you can tell them you live in Mazatlan or are leaving tomorrow.

-If you do purchase a timeshare and regret it, head to profeco downtown within 5 business days to officially rescind your purchase. Read the forum regarding scams!

-Cilantro's, right at the resort, has one of the most amazing views of any restaurant at sunset---and good food, too! We also frequented the deli for pretty inexpensive meals and then dined on our balcony!

-There are many other restaurants within walking distance. One of the best and least expensive was Juanita's across the street and down a couple of blocks. Not fancy but authentic! Fat Fish a little farther down has great ribs! Walking the beach you will find Diegos, Locos Locos, Tony's and Chili Peppers.

-Happy Hour is 11-12 and 4-5, I think. There is also a drink of the day, 2 for 1 all day. You can discretely take your own drinks to the pool and beach also.

-WiFi in rooms if you bring your laptop or there is an internet cafe across from the deli.

-You can take the free shuttle to PBEB and enjoy the amazing pool there.

--Hope this helps and have a great time at a wonderful resort!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lakeshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This was our 2nd stay at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. The first was 9 years ago in November. The first time was crowded and hard to find a chair in the shade by the pool. This visit was apparently during the lowest of low season. We were often the only ones by the pool for an hour or more. The pool servers were extremely attentive and friendly.
We met one couple that spent the first week at PB in Mazatlan, their reservations for the 2nd week were out at PB Emerald Bay. After moving the 2nd week they took the free shuttle to PB Mazatlan everyday because they preferred the smaller more intimate resort and the personal service they got from the guys around the pool.
When we first checked in we were given room 408 a one bedroom one bath suite. It was okay and had an ocean and pool view. However, we quickly discovered mold in one area of the kitchen and in the bathroom. Not just one little spot, but floor to ceiling. Now, we know it is humid on the coast in the tropics and we're not surprised by a little mold. We decided to have dinner first at Cilantros (still one of my favs after 5 trips to Mazatlan), then went to talk to the front desk about the mold. We fully expected just a promise of cleaning or move to a similiar damp room. To our surprise we were courteously and immediately moved to room 402, an ocean front 1 bedroom 2 bath suite with a large balcony. The walls were clean with no hint of mold. Even more to our surprise, the very next day everytime we walked by our old room 408 we saw workers in there cleaning and painting.
Definitely not a highlight of the resort, but I do enjoy the Bath and Body Works lotions and soaps.
We did the timeshare presentation but not because we felt pressured to do so. We were tired when we first got there and talked briefly to Lisa at the desk where they sign you up to go visit Emerald Bay. We told her we would get back to her. She called the room once a couple days later to see if we had decided. We told we hadn't and would talk to her in the lobby later. We did. We went to Emerald Bay. It was low pressure and we left with just the $150 room credit. We didn't want any tours, blankets or tequila.
During our two week stay we did spend one day out at the sister resort, Emerald Bay. The grounds, buildings and pool are gorgeous but, just like the couple I referred to earlier, we enjoyed the feel of the smaller resort in town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The surroundings are beautiful. The resort is charming but the rooms need to be updated. There seems to be a lot of gimmicks, or specific rules to get the deal. We were constantly asked to participate in the time share presentation at Emerald Bay. 2 for 1 happy hour has to be the EXACT same drink and happy hour is at random times of the day. The concierge is not very helpful but the travel office is. I would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothanks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Really close to the centre, but not with all the noise!
Friendly staff, taking care of us and our luggage and always ready to help. Also with 24 hour room service which is a great thing :-)
Next to the beach where you can swim and with nice landscape and pools!
A nice restaurant next to the beach, with a nice view over the ocean! We dined there, but even better is the italian restaurant in the hotel on the street side...really cosy, great food, cheap and with great staff too!
A nice room with balcony and an amazing view over the sea!
The most amazing thing was an event at the beach where they set loose baby turtles...one turtle per guest, really great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tjh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My friend and I had originally booked the all inclusive RIU hotel in Emerald Bay, but after the extremely poor food, heavy crowd of locals and low quality of standard, we relocated to Pueblo Bonito in Emerald Bay. What a fantastic decision!

Not only is this hotel in a very choice location, within close proximity of nightlife, restaurants, and shopping, it's right on the beach! Our room was on the second floor and our balcony opened up to the beach and we were withing 50 ft from the shore!

The best part about Pueblo Bonito: It has a sister resort in Emerald Bay (Where the RIU was) that you can also go to by free shuttle by every hour. This is truly an amazing resort of epic proportions! A definite must see!! But by staying at the smaller, more quaint Mazatlan hotel, however, you get the best of both worlds: You can enjoy emerald bay's breathtaking views, pristine beach, and infinity pools during the day, but you're close to the nightlife and don't have to take a 20 minute taxi to get to the clubs and restaurants in the evening.

We also ate at PB Mazatlan's restaurant Cilantro's which was sooo delicious and offered fabulous views of the shore. The pool side cafe at PB Emerald Bay was also great!

I would highly highly recommend this hotel, but make sure to get an ocean front junior suite, European style. The view makes all the difference!

PB in Mazatlan also

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celobelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews